Division 1B NFL: preview

There are four matches down for decision in Division 1B of the National Football League today.

There are four matches down for decision in Division 1B of the National Football League today.

Galway host Kildare in Pearse Stadium and are without their talisman Padraig Joyce, who has opted to miss the opening rounds of the league to take a break from football.

The forward make a quick return following a groin operation to assist his club Killererin in their run to the county championship title.

After travelling to Hong Kong with the All Stars, Joyce has heeded medical advice to slow down.

Today's game is the first serious outing for new manager Peter Ford and his back room team of Frank Broderick, Ja Fallon and Ciaran O’Fatharta.

The Tribesmen are without the services of Michael Donnellan, who has not yet returned to training, and will rely on ace attacker Michael Meehan to provide scores.

Meanwhile, David Hughes has been recalled to the Kildare team for today's tie. The Allenwood club man was involved under former manager Mick O'Dwyer and makes his return at full-back.

His club colleague, team captain John Doyle, partners Killian Brennan at midfield, with Ross Glavin leading the attack.

Laois boss Mick O'Dwyer has made three changes to his O'Byrne Cup-winning side as the O'Moore men host Munster finalists Limerick in Portlaoise.

Centre-back Paul McDonald returns from injury, while Padraig Clancy partners Noel Garvan in midfield. Chris Bergin returns at wing-forward.

Shane Cooke, Peter O'Leary and Donie Brennan are the players to miss out.

Limerick boss Liam Kearns takes a depleted squad on the road following last weekend's McGrath Cup final win over Cork IT.

The Kerry native's latest casualty is Eoin Keating, who broke a collar bone while playing for UL in the Sigerson Cup last week.

Keating will be out for almost two months and joins John Galvin, Jason Stokes, Seamus O'Donnell, Brian Begley and Tommy Stack on the sidelines due to injury, while forward Conor Fitzgerald is on holiday.

Down netminder Michael McVeigh will miss today's clash with Sligo at Newcastle after sustaining a wrist injury.

McVeigh picked up the injury during training on Friday night and will have an X-ray in Belfast tomorrow. Brendan McVeigh, who is no relation, is expected to start in his place.

Dan Gordon has recovered from a hip injury to take his place in the full-forward line.

Dom Corrigan takes charge of Sligo in the league for the first time today, but has to plan without a number of high-profile players.

Paul Durcan and Paul Taylor have retired, Kieran Quinn and Neil Carew haved opted to take time out and Philip Gallagher and Michael McNamara are contracted to Sligo Rovers and will play no part in today's clash.

However, Corrigan will use today's game to blood young newcomers such as Ballmote's Michael Monds, who starts at left wing-forward.

In the final game in the division, Ulster champions Armagh travel to Wexford to take on Pat Roe's side.

Orchard County boss Joe Kernan has selected U21 star Gareth Swift in an unusual half-forward line, completed by Paul McGrane and Paul Keenan.

Armagh are still without their Crossmaglen contingent, who have their upcoming All-Ireland club semi-final on their minds, and Ciaran McKinney goes between the sticks in place of Paul Hearty.

Kieran McGeeney is named in the centre of defence, while Ronan Clarke returns at full-forward. Steven McDonnell also makes his return at right corner-forward after picking up an injury during October's International Rules tests.

Defender Shane Cullen will make his senior debut for Wexford as the Slaneysiders hope to get their campaign under way with a home win.

Cullen, who plays his club football for Gusserance, has been named at left wing-back.

Paddy Colfer has been named in midfield after shrugging off an injury and full-forward John Hudson will skipper the side.

2004's GPA Player of the Year and Wexford's first All Star Matty Forde takes up his usual corner-forward berth.

KILDARE (SF v Galway): E Murphy; E Callaghan, D Hughes, A McLoughlin; A Rainbow, M Foley, D Lyons; K Brennan, J Doyle; K Ennis, R Glavin, D McCormack; T Fennin, R Sweeney, J O'Donoghue.

LAOIS (SF v Limerick): F Byron; N Donoher, C Begley, T McDonald; K Kelly, P McDonald, F McMahon; P Clancy, N Garvan; R Munnelly, C Conway, C Bergin; G Kavanagh, S Kelly, M Dunne.

LIMERICK (SF v Laois): S Kiely; M O'Riordan, D Sheehy, J McCarthy; P Browne, S Lavin, C Mullane; J Quane, J O'Donovan; S Buckley, J Murphy, M O'Brien; M Ahern, P Fitzgerald, M Reidy.

DOWN (SF v Sligo): AN Other; D Rafferty, A Scullion, S Farrell; J Clarke, B Grant, A Brannigan; A Molloy, A Rodgers; L Doyle, S Ward, C McCrickard; R Sexton, D Gordon, R Murtagh.

SLIGO (SF v Down): P Greene; C Harrison, P Naughton, B Phillips; D Durkin, N McGuire, J Davey; S Davey, E O'Hara; B Curran, B Egan, M Monds; A Marran, D Sloyan, G McGowan.

WEXFORD (SF v Armagh): J Cooper; C Morris, P Wallace, N Murphy; D Breen, D Murphy, S Cullen; J D'Arcy, P Colfer; D Fogarty, S Kinsella, J Hegarty; D Moran, J Hudson, M Forde.

ARMAGH (SF v Wexford): C McKinney; A Mallon, J McNulty, P McCormack; C McKeever, K McGeeney, A McCann; J Toal, P Loughran; G Swift, P McGrane, P Keenan; S McDonnell, R Clarke, B Mallon.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHeathrowPlace: Pearse StadiumPlace: Hong KongPlace: PortlaoisePlace: BelfastPlace: WexfordPerson: Padraig JoycePerson: JoycePerson: Peter FordPerson: Frank BroderickPerson: Ja FallonPerson: Ciaran O’FathartaPerson: Michael DonnellanPerson: Michael MeehanPerson: David HughesPerson: Mick O'DwyerPerson: John DoylePerson: Killian BrennanPerson: Ross GlavinPerson: O'MoorePerson: Paul McDonaldPerson: Padraig ClancyPerson: Noel GarvanPerson: Chris BerginPerson: Shane CookePerson: Peter O'LearyPerson: Donie BrennanPerson: Liam KearnsPerson: Eoin KeatingPerson: KeatingPerson: John GalvinPerson: Jason StokesPerson: Seamus O'DonnellPerson: Brian BegleyPerson: Tommy StackPerson: Conor FitzgeraldPerson: Michael McVeighPerson: McVeighPerson: Brendan McVeighPerson: Dan GordonPerson: Dom CorriganPerson: Paul DurcanPerson: Paul TaylorPerson: Kieran QuinnPerson: Neil CarewPerson: Philip GallagherPerson: Michael McNamaraPerson: CorriganPerson: Michael MondsPerson: Pat RoePerson: Joe KernanPerson: Gareth SwiftPerson: Paul McGranePerson: Paul KeenanPerson: Ciaran McKinneyPerson: Paul HeartyPerson: Kieran McGeeneyPerson: Ronan ClarkePerson: Steven McDonnellPerson: Shane CullenPerson: CullenPerson: Paddy ColferPerson: John HudsonPerson: Matty FordePerson: E MurphyPerson: E CallaghanPerson: D HughesPerson: A McLoughlinPerson: A RainbowPerson: M FoleyPerson: D LyonsPerson: K BrennanPerson: J DoylePerson: K EnnisPerson: R GlavinPerson: D McCormackPerson: T FenninPerson: R SweeneyPerson: J O'DonoghuePerson: LAOISPerson: F ByronPerson: N DonoherPerson: C BegleyPerson: T McDonaldPerson: K KellyPerson: P McDonaldPerson: F McMahonPerson: P ClancyPerson: N GarvanPerson: R MunnellyPerson: C ConwayPerson: C BerginPerson: G KavanaghPerson: S KellyPerson: M DunnePerson: LimerickPerson: S KielyPerson: M O'RiordanPerson: D SheehyPerson: J McCarthyPerson: P BrownePerson: S LavinPerson: C MullanePerson: J QuanePerson: J O'DonovaEvent: O'Byrne CupEvent: McGrath CupEvent: Sigerson CupEvent: All-Ireland ClubEvent: International RulesOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: TribesmenOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: Cork ITOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: NewcastleOrganisation: Sligo RoversOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: Orchard CountyOrganisation: CrossmaglenOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: SlaneysidersOrganisation: SF
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.199 s