Galway dump Dubs in Ladies All-Ireland

2002 Junior champions Galway have taken the All-Ireland Ladies senior title in front of 20,706 at Croke Park today, as second half goals from captain Annette Clarke and substitute Edel Concannon helped them to a 3-8 to 0-11 success over Dublin.

DUBLIN 0-11 GALWAY 3-8, Croke Park, 3.15pm

2002 Junior champions Galway have taken the All-Ireland Ladies senior title in front of 20,706 at Croke Park today, as second half goals from captain Annette Clarke and substitute Edel Concannon helped them to a 3-8 to 0-11 success over Dublin.

Clarke lifted the county's first Brendan Martin Cup in their first final since 1975, as PJ Fahy's side came back after Dublin had hit the game's opening five points.

For the second time in 12 months, the Dubs have fallen to the Connacht champions, following last year's agonising loss to Mayo.

John O'Leary's side began the brighter as they went 0-5 to no score in front after 11 minutes. Corner forward Mary Nevin kickstarted the three-time Leinster champions with a second minute free.

Seven-year veteran Angie McNally (0-2), Ashling McCormack and 15-year-old Lyndsay Davey added the others as they hit the ground running.

Michelle Delaney, who took Concannon's starting place, drilled over Galway's first point in the twelfth minute. Nevin then set up McCormack only to see the St Marks forward crash her goal shot against Una Carroll's crossbar.

Niamh Duggan, whose influence saw the Tribeswomen send Mayo packing in the semi-final replay, was wayward with two frees as Finlay and Nevin (free) stretched the Dubs' lead to 0-7 to 0-1.

Crucially Duggan, 19, quickly made amends as in a 26th minute move began by Lisa Cohill, she buried the ball low to the back of the Dublin net from the corner of the square. Clarke put Fahy's charges within two at the break, 1-2 to 0-7 down, with a late point.

Trainee garda Clarke was on hand four minutes after the restart to level the game. Following a Fiona Corcoran point, Galway raced down the field for Clarke's 34th minute goal. Impressive substitute Gillian Joyce handpassed Kilkerrin's Clarke in for a cool right-footed finish, and a 2-2 to 0-8 scoreline.

Joyce took her point when a goal seemed on two minutes later, and watched her 39th minute goal chance rebound back off the Dublin crossbar from an acute angle.

Nevin (free) and McNally put Dublin back in front with quick scores, but from then on in it was all Galway.

Soccer international Cohill right-footed over for 2-4 to 0-10, then Joyce put Galway back in front with thirteen minutes remaining.

Dublin back Gemma Fay produced a great silding block on Geraldine Conneally but Galway got their third goal on 52 minutes when Concannon eluded goalkeeper Cliodhna O'Connor to score.

Clarke hit Galway's fourth score (1-3) without reply, Joyce laid off for Cohill to notch her second point before Dublin substitute Karen Hopkins stopped the rot.

With two minutes remaining, midfielder Patricica Gleeson breached the cover to chip neatly over and with that, the win was Galway's.

Dublin: C O'Connor; S Farrelly, N Comyn, M Kavanagh; N McEvoy, L Keegan, G Fay; M Farrell (Capt), F Corcoran; E Kelly, B Finlay, L Davey; A McCormack, A McNally, M Nevin.

Subs used: L Kelly for Kavanagh (42 mins), S Ahern for E Kelly (46), S McGrath for Farrelly (48), K Hopkins for Davey (54), O Colreavy for Farrell (58)

Galway: U Carroll; M O'Connell, R Stephens, AM McDonagh; A Daly, A Gilmore, E Flaherty; A Clarke (Capt), P Gleeson; L Cohill, N Fahey, N Duggan; G Conneally, L Joyce, M Delaney.

Subs used: E Concannon for Gilmore (22 mins), G Joyce for Delaney (ht), M Burke for O’Conell (52), F Wynne for Conneally (59)

Referee: E O’Hare (Down)

Scorers: Dublin: M Nevin (3f), A McNally 0-3 each, A McCormack, L Davey, B Finlay, F Corcoran, K Hopkins 0-1 each

Galway: A Clarke 1-2, N Duggan (1f), E Concannon 1-0 each, G Joyce, L Cohill 0-2 each, M Delaney, P Gleeson 0-1 each

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: croke parkplace: galwayplace: dublinperson: annette clarkeperson: edel concannonperson: clarkeperson: pj fahyperson: john o'learyperson: mary nevinperson: angie mcnallyperson: ashling mccormackperson: lyndsay daveyperson: michelle delaneyperson: concannonperson: nevinperson: mccormackperson: una carrollperson: niamh dugganperson: finlayperson: dugganperson: lisa cohillperson: fahyperson: fiona corcoranperson: gillian joyceperson: kilkerrinperson: joyceperson: mcnallyperson: cohillperson: gemma fayperson: geraldine conneallyperson: cliodhna o'connorperson: karen hopkinsperson: patricica gleesonperson: c o'connorperson: s farrellyperson: n comynperson: m kavanaghperson: n mcevoyperson: l keeganperson: g fayperson: m farrellperson: f corcoranperson: e kellyperson: b finlayperson: l daveyperson: a mccormackperson: a mcnallyperson: m nevinperson: l kellyperson: kavanaghperson: s ahernperson: s mcgrathperson: farrellyperson: k hopkinsperson: daveyperson: o colreavyperson: farrellperson: u carrollperson: m o'connellperson: r stephensperson: am mcdonaghperson: a dalyperson: a gilmoreperson: e flahertyperson: a clarkeperson: p gleesonperson: l cohillperson: n faheyperson: n dugganperson: g conneallyperson: l joyceperson: m delaneyperson: e concannonperson: gilmoreperson: g joyceperson: delaneyperson: m burkeperson: o’conellperson: f wynneperson: conneallyperson: e o’hareevent: all-ireland 2002 juniorevent: all-ireland ladiesevent: brendanorganisation: galwayorganisation: dubsorganisation: dublinorganisation: mayoorganisation: leinsterorganisation: st marksorganisation: dubs'

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.