Carrickshock power proves too much for Galway outfit

AIB All-Ireland Club IHC final

Carrickshock power proves too much for Galway outfit

Ahascragh-Fohenagh’s bid to become the first Galway club to win the title was blown away in a furious tide of power hurling from the star-studded Leinster champions.

In control from the start, when Richie Power fired over a couple of points, they played within themselves throughout the opening half, and it was only a penalty, netted by goalkeeper Jamie Power on 23 minutes, that gave them a measure of comfort at the break, by which time they led 1-6 to 0-2.

Cathal Mannion ploughed a lone furrow up front for Ahascragh-Fohenagh, and finished with all but one of their scores.

Damien Walsh rounded goalkeeper Donal Kelly to slide home a second goal soon after the restart, and Power laid on an exhibition of long-range finishing.

It could have been a greater defeat for the Galway men had Kelly not pulled off a superb save from Darragh Brennan.

Scorers for Carrickshock: D Walsh (1-1), J Power (1-0, pen), R Power (0-6, 1free), K Farrell (2 frees), J Power (0-2 each), D Brennan, M O’Dwyer, M Rice, P Tennyson (0-1 each).

Scorers for Ahascragh-Fohenagh: C Mannion (0-5, 3 frees), L Cosgrove (0-1).

AHASCRAGH-FOHENAGH: D Kelly; B Kilroy, J Kelly, P Gavin; JP Egan, P Mannion, J Finnerty; S Kelly, L Tully; L Cosgrove, E Delaney, F Donnellan; C Mannion, R Kelly, M Kelly.

Subs: S Connelly for Donnellan (h-t), E O Ceallaigh for M Kelly (42), C Cosgrove for Delaney (50), S Smyth for R Kelly (54).

CARRICKSHOCK: J Power; D Franks, J Dalton, J Grace; J Cahill, J Tennyson, N Tennyson; B O’Donovan, M Rice; J Power, R Power, D Walsh; K Farrell, D Brennan, M O’Dwyer.

Subs: J Butler for O’Donovan (38), S Power for Brennan (53), P Tennyson for Cahill (58), J Murphy for Grace (59), M Rohan for O’Dwyer (59).

Referee: G McGrath (Wexford).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.241 s