Dream start sets up Kenmare for victory

Kenmare Shamrocks (Kerry) 3-11 Kilfenora (Clare) 0-7: Kenmare Shamrocks qualified for their second Munster Club final in five years with a 13 point win over Clare champions Kilfenora in Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney yesterday.
Dream start sets up Kenmare for victory

The Kerry outfit had a dream start: Paul O’Connor set up All-Ireland winning Kerry minor captain Seanie O’Shea for their first goal inside the opening minute.

Despite that early blow Kilfenora refused to crumble with skipper Cian O’Dea and Killian Malone leading their charge Indeed Kenmare can thank goalkeeper Kieran Fitzgibbon and full back Tommy O’Sullivan for denying the visitors goals in a fast-paced first half.

O’Connor was again the provider for Kenmare’s second goal through Stephen O’Brien, a strike which handed them a 2-6 to 0-5 lead at half-time. However, they were guilty of overplaying the ball at times instead of taking the simpler option when it came to scores. Despite the high profile of the Kenmare full- forward line it was some of their less heralded figures like midfielder David Hallissey along with Shane and Kevin O’Sullivan who impressed most in this victory.

O’Connor scored the game’s third goal two minutes after the restart to end the game as a contest at 3-6 to 0-5.

Both Malone and James Keane were the Clare side’s only scorers from play on the day as O’Dea slotted over two impressive ‘45’s’ as part of a three-point total. Kenmare now look to do the Munster Club IFC and JFC double when they face Adare.

Scorers for Kenmare Shamrocks:

P O’Connor (1-5, 4f), S O’Brien (1-2), Sean O’Shea (1-1), K O’Sullivan (0-2) and S O’Leary (0-1)

Kilfenora scorers:

C O’Dea (0-3, 2 ‘45’s, 1f), K Malone (0-3, 2f) and J Keane (0- 1)


K Fitzgibbon; Stephen O’Shea, T O’Sullivan, D Crowley; S O’Sullivan, D O’Shea, M Crowley; JM Foley, D Hallissey; P O’Shea, S O’Leary, K O’Sullivan; Sean O’Shea, P O’Connor, S O’Brien.


D O’Connor for Sean O’Shea and D Cronin for Stephen O’Shea (both 40); S Dalton for Foley and C O’Sullivan for D O’Shea (both 45); B O’Sullivan for O’Leary (49) and K Price for P O’Shea (54);


L Keane; S Long, P Carkill, C Howley; M Egan, P Connole, D Egan; J O’Dea, C O’Dea; A Long, M Duffy, P Ireland; K Malone, D McCormack, J Keane.


J O’Gorman for Keane (51); D Flanagan for Long (57); D McMahon for McCormack and MJ Malone for Ireland (both 59);


R Moloney (Limerick)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up