Séamus Harnedy stars as Imokilly power on

Imokilly 3-20 UCC 1-11: Séamus Harnedy starred as Imokilly put together a fine all-round performance to better UCC at Riverstown in the opening round of the Cork SHC last night.

Séamus Harnedy stars as Imokilly power on

The Cork attacker finished with 2-6 in total, his two second-half goals helping the East Cork division to pull away after Paudie O’Sullivan’s green flag just before half-time had helped them to a seven-point interval lead.

O’Sullivan scored 1-3 while Michael Russell was solid at centre-back and Dillon Cahill, William Leahy and Billy Dunne had their moments in an attack where the absence of Brian Lawton wasn’t felt.

UCC missed Cork’s Cormac Murphy and Waterford pair DJ Foran and Mark O’Brien from their named team and, though sub Daire McCarthy gave them hope with a goal soon after his arrival, Declan Dalton in the Imokilly goal repelled other efforts.

The first half didn’t always give a clear indication of what lay in store. The first six points were shared evenly before Harnedy began to impose himself as Imokilly moved 0-7 to 0-3 clear and it took a Dylan Desmond save to deny Cahill a goal.

Three points in two minutes from Billy McCarthy (two) and Cillian O’Gorman suggested that UCC weren’t allowing the game away from them but Imokilly responded through O’Sullivan and Harnedy and Niall Motherway’s point made it 0-11 to 0-7 on 21.

Seán Hayes had a nice UCC point, but then O’Sullivan’s goal, from Cahill’s pass, created some daylight.

Cahill added two more points on the resumption, but McCarthy’s goal for UCC suggested that there were still some twists. O’Sullivan could have had another goal immediately after but Desmond stood up well to his shot.

Imokilly sub Ryan Denny did add a point, but UCC were creating goal chances and Shane Hegarty’s good delivery allowed Jack Barry an opportunity to reduce the deficit to four points. Dalton denied him though and within two minutes Harnedy rounded off good work by Cahill and Dunne to leave 10 points between the teams.

The effect of the goal on the scoreboard was eradicated with UCC points from O’Shea, Chris O’Leary and Barra O’Connell, but the damage had been inflicted and Imokilly powered on with an unanswered 1-5 in the final quarter.

Harnedy’s second goal on 56, from full-back Podge Butler’s clearance, was the exclamation mark on his and the team’s performance and round 2A opponents Douglas will certainly have been given something to think about. For UCC, Killeagh await in round 2B.

In the Rochestown Park FL Division 1, Castlehaven returned to the top of the table with a 2-12 to 0-12 win away to Douglas yesterday.

Elsewhere, county champions Nemo Rangers were 1-15 to 1-9 winners away to Newcestown, moving them up to fourth.

Scorers for Imokilly:

S. Harnedy 2-6; P. O’Sullivan 1-3 (1 free); D. Cahill 0-3; B. Dunne, W. Leahy, D. Dalton (frees) 0-2 each; N. Motherway, R. Denny 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCC:

R. O’Shea 0-3 (1 free); D. McCarthy 1-0; B. McCarthy, S. Hayes, C O’Leary 0-2 each; C. O’Gorman, B. O’Connell 0-1 each.


D. Dalton (Fr O’Neills); T. Carroll (Castlelyons), P. Butler (Fr O’Neills), B. Ó Tuama (Castlemartyr); N. Motherway (Dungourney), M. Russell (Aghada), D. Mangan (St Catherine’s); C. O’Brien (St Ita’s), S. O’Callaghan (Watergrasshill); D. Cahill (Cloyne), W. Leahy (Aghada), Barry Lawton (Castlemartyr); B. Dunne (Fr O’Neills), S. Harnedy (St Ita’s), P. O’Sullivan (Cloyne).


R. Denny (Dungourney) for O’Brien (half-time), A. O’Sullivan (Castlelyons) for Lawton (52), S. O’Regan (Watergrasshill) for Harnedy (57), C. Spriggs (Cobh) for Dunne (59).

UCC (Cork clubs unless stated):

D. Desmond (Éire Óg); J. Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane, Tipperary), D. O’Brien (St Ita’s), D. Lynch (Passage East, Waterford); S. Hegarty (Dungourney), S. Linehan (Ballyhooly), P. O’Sullivan (Cloyne); B. McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary), C. O’Gorman (Milford); R. O’Shea (Carrigaline), C. O’Leary (Valley Rovers), B. O’Connell (Blarney); J. Barry (Castlelyons), S. Hayes (Mallow), J. O’Sullivan (Ballygiblin).


D. McCarthy (Éire Óg) for O’Sullivan (half-time), A. Murphy (Cloughduv) for Barry (40), K. O’Flynn (Passage) for O’Gorman (48), C. O’Neill for O’Connell (56), J. Moynihan (Cloughduv) for O’Sullivan (58).


M. Maher (St Finbarr’s).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingCork SHCPlace: RiverstownPlace: Rochestown ParkPlace: TipperaryPerson: Seamus HarnedyPerson: ImokillyPerson: amus HarnedyPerson: Paudie O’SullivanPerson: O’SullivanPerson: Michael RussellPerson: Dillon CahillPerson: William LeahyPerson: Billy DunnePerson: Brian LawtonPerson: Cormac MurphyPerson: DJ ForanPerson: Mark O’BrienPerson: Daire McCarthyPerson: Declan DaltonPerson: HarnedyPerson: Dylan DesmondPerson: CahillPerson: Billy McCarthyPerson: Cillian O’GormanPerson: Niall MotherwayPerson: Sean HayesPerson: McCarthyPerson: DesmondPerson: Ryan DennyPerson: Shane HegartyPerson: Jack BarryPerson: DaltonPerson: DunnePerson: O’SheaPerson: Chris O’LearyPerson: Barra O’ConnellPerson: Podge ButlerPerson: KilleaghPerson: S. HarnedyPerson: P. O’SullivanPerson: D. CahillPerson: B. DunnePerson: W. LeahyPerson: D. DaltonPerson: R. DennyPerson: R. O’SheaPerson: D. McCarthyPerson: B. McCarthyPerson: S. HayesPerson: C O’LearyPerson: C. O’GormanPerson: B. O’ConnellPerson: T. CarrollPerson: P. ButlerPerson: B. O TuamaPerson: M. RussellPerson: AghadaPerson: D. ManganPerson: C. O’BrienPerson: S. O’CallaghanPerson: CloynePerson: Barry LawtonPerson: O’BrienPerson: A. O’SullivanPerson: LawtonPerson: S. O’ReganPerson: C. SpriggsPerson: D. DesmondPerson: J. RyanPerson: D. O’BrienPerson: D. LynchPerson: S. HegartyPerson: S. LinehanPerson: C. O’LearyPerson: J. BarryPerson: J. O’SullivanPerson: ÓgPerson: A. MurphyPerson: BarryPerson: K. O’FlynnPerson: O’GormanPerson: C. O’NeillPerson: O’ConnellPerson: J. MoynihanPerson: CloughduvPerson: M. MaherOrganisation: ImokillyOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: East CorkOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: N. MotherwayOrganisation: CastlelyonsOrganisation: CastlemartyrOrganisation: St Catherine’sOrganisation: St Ita’sOrganisation: WatergrasshillOrganisation: Fr O’NeillsOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: Éire ÓgOrganisation: Upperchurch-DrombaneOrganisation: Passage EastOrganisation: DungourneyOrganisation: BallyhoolyOrganisation: CloyneOrganisation: Thurles SarsfieldsOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: MilfordOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: BlarneyOrganisation: BallygiblinOrganisation: ÉireOrganisation: PassageOrganisation: St Finbarr
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.248 s