Aidan McCormack leads Tipperary charge in rout of Cork intermediates

Tipperary 3-20 Cork 1-15: Aidan McCormack put Cork to the sword as he bagged 14 points for Tipperary in yesterday’s Munster IHC quarter-final at Semple Stadium.
Aidan McCormack leads Tipperary charge in rout of Cork intermediates

There was also a significant contribution from full-forward Mark Russell, who won a second-half penalty before nabbing two goals in as many minutes.

Russell is a son of former inter-county football referee Paddy and he provided a real fulcrum for Tipp on the edge of the Cork square.

Tipp, managed by 2012 All-Ireland minor winning boss William Maher, were too good for holders Cork as their bid to win three-in-a-row floundered.

McCormack, a member of Tipp’s extended senior squad, punished Cork indiscretions with 12 pointed frees. At half-time, the hosts led by 0-11 to 0-7 before the game turned firmly in their favour.

Tipp goalkeeper Brian Hogan and his opposite number Declan Dalton traded penalty goals before Russell stamped his mark on proceedings.

Cork were hanging on grimly and just four points down, 1-12 to 1-16, before Russell bagged his first goal from close range in the 49th minute. He was at it again soon after, charging through for a fine solo effort to make the game safe.

Maher reflected: “In fairness to the boys, we worked on shape an awful lot, that’s all we could work on for the last while, what way we were going to play. They worked on what we wanted to do and it really worked.”

Tipperary will play Limerick in the Munster semi-final in Thurles on June 19.

Scorers for Tipperary:

A McCormack 0-14 (12f), M Russell 2-0, B Hogan 1-0 pen, B McCarthy 0-3, S Ryan, L McGrath & D Fitzell 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork:

N McNamara 0-5f, D Dalton 1-1 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), P O’Rourke 0-3, K Kavanagh, B Murray, K O’Neill, D Brosnan, E O’Sullivan & E Brosnan 0-1 each.


B Hogan; G Fennelly, J Peters, P Maher; A Coffey, T Fox, S Ryan; B McCarthy, J Shelly; L McGrath, A McCormack, T Nolan; W Connors, M Russell, C Kenny.


D Fitzell for Shelly (46), T Gallagher for McGrath (47), C Lanigan for Nolan (57), S Quirke for Ryan (57), D Sweeney for Fennelly (58).


D Dalton; D Lester, C Barry, D Browne; K Kavanagh, D O’Donovan, C Buckley; B Murray, K O’Neill; D Brosnan, N Kelly, E O’Sullivan; D Drake, P O’Rourke, N McNamara.


R Cahalane for Barry (h.t.), S Hayes for Kelly (h.t.), B Lawton for O’Sullivan (37), E Brosnan for O’Neill (45), G Murphy for Kavanagh (57).


D O’Driscoll (Limerick)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up