Kieran Kingston says Tipperary a team that can beat anyone

Cork hurling manager Kieran Kingston has paid tribute to next weekend’s opponents Tipperary as “a team that can beat anyone”.
Kieran Kingston says Tipperary a team that can beat anyone

The Cork boss, who will take charge in the championship for the first time against Tipp in Thurles next week, also said last night the Premier County have “probably the best panel of players in the country”.

“On their day Tipperary are a team that can beat anyone, and that’s not just me blowing them up,” said Kingston “Those are the facts, and they’ve proven that in the last number of years. They’re unlucky not to have more All-Irelands won than they have, for whatever reason, but they’re in the top two or three for the All-Ireland again this year. It’s well documented where we stand heading up to play them is a huge ask. If we’re not on our game we’ll be in trouble, simple as that.” Kingston acknowledged Tipperary as favourites for the tie.

“There’s no question in Tipperary and all over the country that it’s just a matter of how much Tipp will win by - not whether they win, but how much they win by. That brings its own pressure.

“From our perspective we’re just focusing on ourselves and being the best we can be. We’re prepared as well as we can and I just hope we can produce it on the day. If we play to the best of our ability, that’s all I can ask for.” Meanwhile, Corner-back Kevin Toner and centre-back Darren McMahon are Louth’s two debutants as they take on Carlow in the Leinster SFC at Portaloise tonight (5pm). The Wee County feature just eight of the starters from their last championship game, the qualifier defeat to Tipperary last year.

Wicklow play Laois in the other game at O’Moore Park and corner-forward Marc Lennon is their only newcomer. The Garden County are without Ross O’Brien due to injury while Anto McLoughlin is named as a sub as he recovers from a chest infection. The team features 10 of the side who began against Armagh last year when Wicklow lost in the All-Ireland series.

LOUTH (SF v Carlow):

C Lynch (St Martin’s); P Rath (Dreadnots), P Reilly (Naomh Bríd), K Toner (St Patrick’s); D Maguire (Éire Óg), D McMahon (St Mochta’s), A Williams (Dreadnots); J Stewart (Na Gaeil), J Califf (Dreadnots); D Byrne (St Mochta’s), J McEneaney (Na Gearaltaigh), C McKeever (Clan na nGael); B Duffy (St Fechin’s), C Grimes (Glen Emmets), R Burns (Hunterstown Rovers).

WICKLOW (SF v Laois):

R Lambert (Aughrim); C Hyland (Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney), P McLoughlin (Blessington), A Murphy (Bray Emmets); C Murphy (Ballinacor), D Healy (St Patrick’s), S Kelly (Éire Óg Greystones); R Finn (Kiltegan), N Gaffney (Bray Emmets); D Hayden (Éire Óg), J McGrath (Baltinglass), M Kenny (Ballymanus); P Byrne (Ballinacor), P Cunningham (Bray Emmets), M Lennon (Bray Emmets).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up