Limerick SFC: Jamie Lee drives champions Newcastle West to victory with six points

Champions Newcastle West beat Ballysteen 0-8 to 1-3 in the second round of Limerick senior football championship.

Limerick SFC: Jamie Lee drives champions Newcastle West to victory with six points

An early Mark Ranahan goal fired Ballysteen ahead, but Newcastle West, led by the impressive Jamie Lee, were 0-5 to 1-1 ahead at half time.

Scores were at a premium in the second half but six Lee points proved the foundation for the win.

Meanwhile, Fr Caseys and Rathkeale finished 0-14 each.

Two late frees from Eoghan O’Connor secured the Rathkeale draw. Fr Caseys led at the end of the opening quarter, with Daniel Daly and Adrian Enright pointing. Rathkeale rallied and it was 0-7 to 0-6 to Fr Caseys at half time.

Scores from O’Connor, Darren Jones and Eoin O’Donnell had Rathkeale two ahead entering the final quarter, but Fr Caseys hit six points to take the lead before O’Connor landed his two late frees to share the spoils.

St Kieran’s and Oola also finished level with two Sean McSweeney frees securing the draw for St Kieran’s.

A Denis Moloney goal had Oola 1-3 to 0-5 ahead at half time.

Richie English was among the scorers as Oola looked on course for victory until the late scores from McSweeney left it 0-11 to 1-8.

Monaleen were 0-14 to 0-7 winners over Pallasgreen.

They were inspired by six points from Ger Collins. Pallasgreen were up 0-4 to 0-2 up early on but 0-9 to 0-4 down by half time.

Na Piarsaigh were 2-14 to 1-13 winners over Dromcollogher-Broadford.

They were 2-8 to 1-5 ahead at half-time with goals from am Eoin Hogan penalty and Peter Casey. Points from Hogan and Kieran Daly sealed the win in the second half.

St Patrick’s beat Ballylanders 0-10 to 0-7. St Patrick’s were 0-6 to 0-2 up at half time with Liam Quinn catching the eye. Five pointed frees from John Mullane would ensure their lead was maintained to the end.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up