Kanturk’s superior experience tells against youthful Carrigaline

Kanturk 1-15 Carrigaline 2-6: Kanturk were far too strong for a youthful Carrigaline in this Cork IFC first round tie in Mallow yesterday.

Kanturk’s superior experience tells against youthful Carrigaline

The losers, who secured senior status last year, were backboned by some up and coming talent from their minor and U21 ranks.

Indeed, they started brightly and a fine Tony Murphy effort in the eighth minute had them 0-3 to 0-1 clear.

But Kanturk then began to find their feet and quickly reeled in their opponents, with a run of points before Karl Holland’s goal put them ahead for the first time (1-4 to 0-5) after 23 minutes.

By half-time, the Duhallow side had extended their lead (1-6 to 0-5) and Carrigaline looked in trouble as they turn to face the wind.

Kanturk gained supremacy in the half backs and at midfield, which meant a quality supply line to their attack, who were hungry for scores. Karl Holland, Paul Walsh, and Ian Walsh were all on the scoresheet as the Duhallow men raced 1-11 to 0-5 ahead.

Carrigaline were thrown a lifeline with a Daniel O’Reilly goal but crucially they couldn’t build on that effort, as Lorcan O’Neill and John McLoughlan quickly landed the next points for Kanturk, who now led 1-13 to 1-5.

Carrig did score a late penalty through Tony Murphy but it was not enough to prevent a win for Kanturk.

Scorers for Kanturk:

K Holland 1-4, I Walsh 0-4 (0-3f) P Walsh 0-2, M Healy 0-2 A Walsh 0-1, J McLoughlan 0-1, L O’Neill 0-1.

Scorers for Carrigaline:

T Murphy 1-1 (1-0 pen) D O’Reilly 1-1, J De Puis 0-1f. B Pope 0-1, K Dwane 0-1f. E O’Malley 0-1.


J Fullerton, L O’Neill, D Browne, D O’Connor, J McLoughlan, A Sheehy, J Browne, J Fitzpatrick, A Walsh, P Walsh, K Holland, J Carver, D O’Sullivan, M Healy, I Walsh.


L O’Keeffe for Aidan Walsh (inj) C Burke for D O’Sullivan, C Clernon for K Holland, D Kenneally for P Walsh, D Duane for J Carver E O’Connor for L O’Neill (inj).


J O’Reilly, S Collins, K Kavanagh, C Murphy, W O’Brien, K McSweeney, S Dwane, K Dwane, D Moran, B Pope, S O’Brien, M Walsh, D O’Reilly, T Murphy, J De Puis.


M Quinn for J De Puis, E O’Malley for M Walsh.


Ted Hayes (Éire Óg)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up