Third quarter key to Monaghan success

Tyrone 0-11 Monaghan 0-13: Monaghan were crowned Ulster U21 champions for the first time since 1999 last night in another statement of the current strength of football in the county.

Third quarter key to Monaghan success

The team were deserving winners, a superb third quarter instrumental in dumping out All-Ireland champions Tyrone in the Athletic Grounds.

It completed the ‘double’ for this set of Monaghan players, who ended the county’s 68-year wait for an Ulster title when they snatched victory over Tyrone in the 2013 Ulster minor final.

Barry McGinn was Monaghan’s star performer with 0-6, five from frees.

Tyrone led by 0-7 to 0-6 at the break but Monaghan scored five of the seven points scored in the third quarter to take complete control.

Tyrone had their noses in front at 0-7 to 0-6 at the break, with precocious talent Lee Brennan scoring five points, each one better than the last.

Monaghan owned the third quarter. Barry McGinn nailed two frees, Conor McCarthy scored a superb long-range point with the wind at his back while cornerback Barry Kerr also pointed as Monaghan led by 0-11 to 0-9 midway through the second period.

Monaghan failed to score for 14 minutes but another McGinn free settled their nerves.

Tyrone rallied but sub Adam Treanor clinched it for Monaghan with the insurance point deep in injury time.

Scorers for Tyrone:

L Brennan 0-5 (2f), C McShane 0-2 (1f), C McCann, S Hamill, M Kavanagh, D Mulgrew 0-1 each.

Scorers for Monaghan:

B McGinn 0-6 (5f), C McCarthy 0-3 (1f), B Kerr, A Lynch, F McMahon, A Treanor 0-1 each.


S Fox; C McCann, M McKernan, S Hamill; C Byrne, S Loughran, M O’Neill; C McShane, F Burns; M Flanagan, M Kavanagh, D Mulgrew; L Brennan, R Coleman, S Fox.


D Gallagher for Coleman (HT), S O’Donnell for McCann (40), R McGlone for O’Neill (47), B McDonnell for Flanagan (50).


C Forde; B Kerr, M Murnaghan, K Loughran; D Ward, J Mealiff, N Rooney; N Loughran, A Lynch; R McAnespie, B McGinn, D Meegan; M O’Dowd, C McCarthy, F McMahon.


A Curran for Loughran (BC, 29), F Maguire for O’Dowd (43), B McBennett for McMahon (48), A Treanor for Lynch (60).


Niall Cullen (Fermanagh)

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd