All-Ireland joy for Cahir at Croke Park

Cahir (Tipperary) 0-14 Eyrecourt (Galway) 1-2: Cahir claimed the AIB All- Ireland intermediate club camogie title at Croke Park yesterday — less than four years after playing in the Tipperary junior B grade.

All-Ireland joy for Cahir at Croke Park

The club lost the ladies football intermediate final by an agonising two points last December but never looked in danger this time around, with the inspirational Aishling Moloney slotting five points from play in a commanding display.

Eyrecourt tried hard and a goal early in the second half from substitute Vivien McEvoy gave them hope, but Cahir pulled clear in telling fashion.

Marie Casey’s side put their stamp on proceedings from the throw-in and had three points on the board after four minutes, Moloney firing the opener and Róisín Howard following with a brace.

All-Star Molly Dunne shot a response but it was Eyrecourt’s only score of the first half, while the dominant Tipperary women doubled their tally, the highlight being a 60m effort from Moloney.

It was 0-6 to 0-1 at the break. Though McEvoy’s goal came just two minutes after the break, they just could not create enough danger. Instead, Cahir scored six consecutive points to put the game to bed.

Scorers for Cahir:

A Moloney 0-5; R Howard 0-5 (2fs); A McCarthy, C Condon, C Casey, S Kennedy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Eyrecourt:

V McEvoy 1-0; M Dunne 0-2 (2f)


O McEniry, E Buckley, A Casey, L McEniry, E Flannery, L Dillon, A Corcoran, A McCarthy, A Moloney, C Condon, C Casey, S Kinnedy, L Fitzpatrick, R Howard, G Quirke.


A O’Donnell for Quirke (25), R Costigan for O’Donnell (60+2).


S Earner, O Feehan, A Downey, M McDermott, A Ryan, A McEvoy, N McCormack, P Kenny, L Stynes, Louise Loughnane, Laura Loughnane, A Lynch, C McEvoy, M Dunne, M Burke.


J Rosney for Kenny inj (18), V McEvoy for Rosney inj (22), Kenny for McEvoy (36).


L Dempsey (Kilkenny)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up