Barrow Rangers shake off brave Shanballymore

Barrow Rangers (Kilkenny) 2-14 Shanballymore (Cork) 1-15: Kilkenny’s Barrow Rangers advanced to the All-Ireland JBHC final after defeatomg Cork champions Shanballymore in Killeedy yesterday.

Barrow Rangers shake off brave Shanballymore

Trailing 0-3 to 0-1 early on, Barrow took charge after Keith Flavin’s goal and led 1-8 to 0-8 at half-time, with Jamie Sheedy’s frees keeping Shanballymore in touch.

Tom Brophy’s goal extended the Barrow lead but Shanballymore came with a late surge and 1-2 from Paul Burke had them level as injury time loomed.

Ultimately, though, Barrow had the vital winning scores to ensure that they advanced to the final against Galway side Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry on March 13.

In the RedFM SHL in Cork, Midleton moved into an early lead as they recorded a 5-20 to 0-9 victory against Newtownshandrum on Saturday.

Peter Dowling scored two of the Magpies’ goals while Cormac Walsh finished with 1-9 and Conor Lehane and Paul Haughney each registered 1-4.

Blackrock were 3-19 to 2-13 winners away to Sarsfields. Kevin O’Keeffe had 1-6 for the Rockies in the first half though they trailed by 1-11 to 1-9 at half-time.

Stephen Murphy set up Mick O’Halloran for the second Blackrock goal and they wrapped up the win when Kevin O’Keeffe doubled to the net for the third late on.

Patrick Horgan and Dave Noonan did most of the scoring as county champions Glen Rovers began their campaign with a 0-15 to 1-9 win over Carrigtwohill while Bride Rovers overcame Ballymartle, Bishopstown beat Newcestown and St Finbarr’s beat Ballyhea.

In the Rochestown Park Hotel FL Division 1, Stephen Hurley was outstanding as Castlehaven moved to the top of the table with a 0-13 to 0-5 win over Bishopstown on Friday. Pa Bohane, Darragh Cahalane, Chris Hayes and Daniel Hegarty were also among the scores. Also on Friday, Denis Murphy and Graham Murray got the goals as Clonakilty beat Clyda Rovers by 2-6 to 0-7, while yesterday Carbery Rangers were 0-13 to 1-6 winners in their West Cork derby against O’Donovan Rossa. John Hayes kicked six points for the Rosscarbery side, with Sean O’Neill and Kieran Fitzpatrick each scoring two.

Scorers for Barrow Rangers:

J Kelly 0-7 (four frees, one 65), T Brophy, K Flavin 1-1 each, B Hanlon 0-3 (one free), P Purcell, M Brennan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Shanballymore:

J Sheedy 0-8f, P Burke 1-3 (two frees), C O’Reilly 0-2, B O’Reilly, D Roche 0-1 each.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up