GPA canvasses players in B championship standoff

The Gaelic Players’ Association is citing the opinions of the players directly involved in calling for the opposition to the introduction of a second tier in the All-Ireland SFC.
GPA canvasses players in B championship standoff

At this weekend’s Congress in Carlow, delegates will vote on whether the eight sides in Division Four should enter a ‘B’ competition, unless they reach their provincial final.

The GPA floated an alternative championship system last year — and hope to discuss same later this year — and the organisation believes that the proposal before Congress is far from satisfactory.

“We have spent over a year discussing new structures and changes with our football members and there remains serious opposition to the introduction of a second tier in the football championship,” said GPA secretary Paul Flynn. “The squads directly affected if change is introduced have also voted recently not to participate in the new format. We would urge Congress delegates to back the players here.”

In team news, Monaghan have two changes as they bid for a third Division One win against Dublin at Croke Park tomorrow night 7.30pm). Drew Wylie replaces Conor Boyle in the full-back line, with Shane Carey in the half-forward line. Karl O’Connell drops to number seven and Ryan McAnespie misses out.

Seán Purcell comes into the Roscommon half-back line for Ronan Stack, while Senan Kilbride replaces Conor Daly in attack for their trip to Páirc Uí Rinn to face Cork on Sunday.

Tyrone face Laois in Division Two and have made four changes from the side which beat Galway. Hugh Pat McGeary and Barry Tierney replace Ronan McNamee and Rory Brennan in defence while Seán Cavanagh and Mark Bradley come into attack. Padraig McNulty and Conor McAliskey are subs.

Table-toppers Derry, who meet the Tribesmen, also have four changes as goalkeeper Thomas Mallon, Ryan Ferris, Brendan Rodgers and Daniel McKinless come into the side.

MONAGHAN (FL v Dublin):

R Beggan (Scotstown); C Walshe (Doohamlet), D Wylie (Ballybay), R Wylie (Ballybay); K Duffy (Latton), F Kelly (Clones), K O’Connell (Tyholland); N McAdam (Monaghan Harps), D Hughes (Scotstown); S Carey (Scotstown), D Malone (Castleblayney Faughs), T Kerr (Ballybay); O Duffy (Latton), K Hughes (Scotstown), C McManus (Clontibret). Subs: M Keogh (Seán Mac Diarmada), J McCarronn (Truagh), C Boyle (Clontibret), N McKeown (Rockcorry), D Mone (Clontibret), P McKenna (Truagh), R McAnespie (Emyvale), P Keenan (Corduff), C McCarthy (Scotstown), B McGinn (Doohamlet), D McKenna (Truagh).


D O’Malley (Michael Glaveys); S McDermott (Western Gaels), N Collins (St Brigid’s, Dublin), N McInerney (St Brigid’s); N Daly (Pádraig Pearses), S Purcell (Boyle), D Murray (Pádraig Pearses); E Smith (Boyle), I Kilbride (St Brigid’s); F Cregg (Elphins) C Murtagh (St Faithleach’s), C Devaney (Kilbride); C Connolly (Roscommon Gaels), S Kilbride (St Brigid’s), C Cregg (Western Gaels).

DERRY (FL v Galway):

T Mallon (Loup); R Ferris (Magherafelt), C McKaigue (Slaughtneil), K McKaigue (Slaughtneil); M Craig (Dungiven), G McKinless (Ballinderry), D Heavron (Magherafelt); E Bradley (Glen), B Rodgers (Slaughtneil); B Heron (Ballinascareen), J Kielt (Kilrea), C McFaul (Glen); R Bell (Ballinderry), M Lynch (Banagher), D McKinless (Ballinderry).

TYRONE (FL v Laois):

M O’Neill (Clonoe); A McCrory (Errigal Ciarán), C McCarron (Dromore), HP McGeary (Pomeroy); T McCann (Killyclogher), J McMahon (Omagh), B Tierney (Omagh); C Cavanagh (Moy), M Donnelly (Trillick); N Sludden (Dromore), M Bradley (Killyclogher), C Meyler (Omagh); D McCurry (Edendork), S Cavanagh (Moy), R O’Neill (Omagh).

uadh O’Neills), J Monroe (Carrickmore).

CORK (LFL v Dublin):

M O’Brien (Clonakilty); M Ambrose (St Val’s), R Phelan (Aghada), A Barrett (Donoughmore); V Foley (St Val’s), D O’Reilly (St Mary’s), O Farmer (Midleton); R Buckley (Donoughmore), B Corkery (St Val’s); A Walsh (Inch Rovers), C O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey), A Hutchings (Fermoy), E Farmer (Aghada), Á O’Sullivan (Beara), D O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey).

More in this section

GaaGPAB championshipPlace: CarlowPlace: Croke ParkPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPerson: Paul FlynnPerson: Drew WyliePerson: Conor BoylePerson: Shane CareyPerson: Karl O’ConnellPerson: Ryan McAnespiePerson: Sean PurcellPerson: Ronan StackPerson: Senan KilbridePerson: Conor DalyPerson: Hugh Pat McGearyPerson: Barry TierneyPerson: Ronan McNameePerson: Rory BrennanPerson: Sean CavanaghPerson: Mark BradleyPerson: Padraig McNultyPerson: Conor McAliskeyPerson: Thomas MallonPerson: Ryan FerrisPerson: Brendan RodgersPerson: Daniel McKinlessPerson: R BegganPerson: C WalshePerson: DoohamletPerson: D WyliePerson: R WyliePerson: K DuffyPerson: LattonPerson: F KellyPerson: ClonesPerson: K O’ConnellPerson: N McAdamPerson: Monaghan HarpsPerson: D HughesPerson: S CareyPerson: D MalonePerson: Castleblayney FaughsPerson: T KerrPerson: BallybayPerson: O DuffyPerson: K HughesPerson: C McManusPerson: M KeoghPerson: Sean Mac DiarmadaPerson: J McCarronnPerson: TruaghPerson: C BoylePerson: N McKeownPerson: RockcorryPerson: D MonePerson: P McKennaPerson: R McAnespiePerson: EmyvalePerson: P KeenanPerson: CorduffPerson: C McCarthyPerson: B McGinnPerson: D McKennaPerson: D O’MalleyPerson: Michael GlaveysPerson: S McDermottPerson: N CollinsPerson: N McInerneyPerson: N DalyPerson: Padraig PearsesPerson: S PurcellPerson: BoylePerson: D MurrayPerson: E SmithPerson: I KilbridePerson: F CreggPerson: C MurtaghPerson: C DevaneyPerson: C ConnollyPerson: S KilbridePerson: C CreggPerson: DerryPerson: T MallonPerson: LoupPerson: R FerrisPerson: MagherafeltPerson: C McKaiguePerson: SlaughtneilPerson: K McKaiguePerson: M CraigPerson: G McKinlessPerson: D HeavronPerson: E BradleyPerson: GlenPerson: B RodgersPerson: B HeronPerson: J KieltPerson: KilreaPerson: C McFaulPerson: R BellPerson: M LynchPerson: D McKinlessPerson: TyronePerson: M O’NeillPerson: ClonoePerson: A McCroryPerson: Errigal CiaranPerson: C McCarronPerson: HP McGearyPerson: PomeroyPerson: T McCannPerson: KillyclogherPerson: J McMahonPerson: B TierneyPerson: C CavanaghPerson: MoyPerson: M DonnellyPerson: N SluddenPerson: M BradleyPerson: C MeylerPerson: D McCurryPerson: S CavanaghPerson: R O’NeillPerson: uadh O’NeillsPerson: J MonroePerson: M O’BrienPerson: M AmbrosePerson: R PhelanPerson: A BarrettPerson: V FoleyPerson: D O’ReillyPerson: O FarmerPerson: R BuckleyPerson: B CorkeryPerson: A WalshPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: MourneabbeyPerson: A HutchingsPerson: E FarmerPerson: AghadaPerson: A O’SullivanPerson: D O’SullivanOrganisation: GPAOrganisation: Gaelic Players’ AssociationOrganisation: All-Ireland SFC.Organisation: CongressOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: ScotstownOrganisation: TyhollandOrganisation: FLOrganisation: Western GaelsOrganisation: St Brigid’sOrganisation: ElphinsOrganisation: St Faithleach’sOrganisation: KilbrideOrganisation: Roscommon GaelsOrganisation: BallinderryOrganisation: OmaghOrganisation: EdendorkOrganisation: CarrickmoreOrganisation: LFLOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: St Val’sOrganisation: AghadaOrganisation: DonoughmoreOrganisation: St Mary’sOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: Inch Rovers
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.249 s