Neville goals fire Abbey CBS to Munster glory

Abbey CBS, Tipperary 3-15 Mitchelstown CBS 0-11
Neville goals fire Abbey CBS to Munster glory

The Abbey CBS proved convincing winners of their third Munster Colleges Senior B Hurling title in the last 25 years, with Shane Neville’s goals in either half ensuring a comfortable margin of victory.

The Tipperary men dominated from the off with their half-forward line of Neville, Riain Doody and Shane Power contributing 2-11 to the winning total.

Mitchelstown rallied between the 27th and 43rd minutes, outscoring the Abbey by seven points to two and narrowing the gap to four, 1-11 to 0-10.

Full-forward Mark Keane turned a pair of high catches into points, while the North Cork school otherwise relied on Cathal O’Mahony’s free-taking, in the absence of injured attacker James Keating. However the Abbey impressively upped the ante entering the final quarter.

Neville and Daire Egan had goal chances blocked, but Doody slotted the resulting 65 and followed that score with three more placed balls.

Neville finally collected his second green flag with five minutes remaining, after battling through two tackles to score and ensure victory.

That uninterrupted scoring spree was then extended to 2-4, when Neville set up Cormac Maher for a late goal.

The only blemish came in between those majors when influential centre-back Josh Ryan was shown a straight red for dangerous play under a high ball.

Despite that, Ryan was one of seven starters who added Corn Thomáis Mhic Choilm honours to their Colleges Senior B Football medals from last year.

The groundwork for yesterday’s win was done in the opening 23 minutes, with the Abbey blitzing Mitchelstown for 1-9. Doody picked off three points from open play, while Kieran Breen dominated the midfield exchanges. Breen supplied the long ball for Neville to blast home his first goal in the 21st minute, with Niall Heffernan and Egan points stretching the advantage to nine. Mitchelstown stopped the rot with a brace of O’Mahony frees before the break but the Anthony Nash-coached side weren’t able to get within a score of the Abbey.

Scorers for Abbey:

S Neville (2-2, 0-1 free); R Doody (0-7, 3 frees, 1 65); C Maher (1-0); S Power (0-2); j Ryan (free), C Hennessy, N Heffernan, D Egan (0-1 each).

Scorers for Mitchelstown:

C O’Mahony (0-6, 6 frees); M Keane, S O’Sullivan (0-2 each); A English (0- 1).

ABBEY CBS (Tipperary clubs unless stated):

A Griffin (Éire Óg Annacarty); C Ryan (Arravale Rovers), D Byron (Galtee Rovers), C Bradshaw; S O’Brien (both Éire Óg Annacarty), J Ryan (Doon, Limerick), C Donovan (Arravale Rovers); C Hennessy (Doon, Limerick), K Breen (Knockavilla/Donaskeigh Kickhams); S Neville (Lattin/Cullen), R Doody (Cappawhite) , S Power (Galtee Rovers); N Heffernan (Golden/Kilfeakle), D Egan (Galtee Rovers), T Lowry (Arravale Rovers).


C Maher (Arravale Rovers) for Hennessy (48), K Franks Lattin/Cullen) for Egan (53), M McCormack (Knockavilla/Donaskeigh Kickhams) for Donovan (63).

MITCHELSTOWN CBS (Cork clubs unless stated):

I Butler (Kildorrery); E Gallahue (Glenroe, Limerick), J O’Donoghue, K Roche (both Ballygiblin); J Coughlan (Glanworth), C English (Fr Sheedy’s, Tipperary), M Lewis; C O’Sullivan (both Ballygiblin), E O’Donoghue (Glanworth); G Pendle, L Finn, S O’Sullivan (all Ballygiblin); A English (Skeheenarinky, Tipperary), M Keane, C O’Mahony (both Ballygiblin).


E O’Mahony (Glenroe, Limerick) for C English (5-6, blood), D Kent (Kildorrery) for C O’Sullivan (21), J Conway (Fr Sheedy’s, Tipperary) for Pendle (39), T Finn (Ballygiblin) for A English (51).


D Fox (Clare).

More in this section

GaaAbbey CBSPlace: TipperaryPlace: GlenroePlace: LimerickPerson: NevillePerson: Shane NevillePerson: Riain DoodyPerson: Shane PowerPerson: Mark KeanePerson: Cathal O’MahonyPerson: James KeatingPerson: Daire EganPerson: DoodyPerson: Cormac MaherPerson: Josh RyanPerson: RyanPerson: Corn ThomáisPerson: Kieran BreenPerson: BreenPerson: Niall HeffernanPerson: EganPerson: O’MahonyPerson: Anthony NashPerson: S NevillePerson: R DoodyPerson: C MaherPerson: S PowerPerson: J RyanPerson: C HennessyPerson: N HeffernanPerson: D EganPerson: C O’MahonyPerson: M KeanePerson: S O’SullivanPerson: Eire Og AnnacartyPerson: C RyanPerson: D ByronPerson: C BradshawPerson: S O’BrienPerson: C DonovanPerson: K BreenPerson: T LowryPerson: K Franks LattinPerson: M McCormackPerson: DonovanPerson: I ButlerPerson: E GallahuePerson: J O’DonoghuePerson: K RochePerson: J CoughlanPerson: C EnglishPerson: SheedyPerson: M LewisPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: E O’DonoghuePerson: G PendlePerson: L FinnPerson: SkeheenarinkyPerson: E O’MahonyPerson: D KentPerson: J ConwayPerson: PendlePerson: T FinnPerson: D FoxEvent: MunsterEvent: Munster Colleges Senior B HurlingOrganisation: AbbeyOrganisation: CBSOrganisation: MitchelstownOrganisation: North CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Arravale RoversOrganisation: Galtee RoversOrganisation: DoonOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: KnockavillaOrganisation: Donaskeigh KickhamsOrganisation: LattinOrganisation: CullenOrganisation: CappawhiteOrganisation: GoldenOrganisation: KilfeakleOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: KildorreryOrganisation: GlenroeOrganisation: Glanworth
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.