Cork reshuffle once again for final battle with Clare

Cork have made six changes for Friday night’s McGrath Cup final against Clare in Mallow (throw-in 7.30pm).
Cork reshuffle once again for final battle with Clare

In beating Limerick and Waterford to qualify for the decider, Cork have undertaken a moderate level of rotation and that continues here, with Ken O’Halloran, Eoin Cadogan and Brian O’Discoll among the notable names making their first starts in the competition.

O’Halloran is the third goalkeeper chosen by Peadar Healy in as many games, with Micheál Martin and Brendan O’Connell having already seen game-time.

Cadogan is flanked by Colm O’Driscoll and Kieran Histon in the full-back line while O’Driscoll is at number 5, alongside James Loughrey and Tomás Clancy.

Ian Maguire makes his third straight start at midfield, partnering Mark Collins, who scored two points from wing-forward against Waterford last Thursday.

Donal Óg Hodnett comes into the half-forward line for his first appearance, with Kevin O’Driscoll returning after scoring a goal against Limerick and Ruairí Deane continuing, having registered two points last week.

Daniel Goulding and Brian Hurley remain in the full-forward line, with Dan Mac Eoin selected at number 14 instead of Peter Kelleher, scorer of two goals against Waterford.

Paul Kerrigan is included on the bench after he made an appearance in Sunday’s challenge against the Reardens Cork GAA All-Stars.

CORK (SF v Clare):

K O’Halloran (Bishopstown); C O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), E Cadogan (Douglas), K Histon (Cobh); B O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), J Loughrey (Mallow), Tomás Clancy (Fermoy); I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), Mark Collins (Castlehaven); K O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), D Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa), R Deane (Bantry Blues); D Mac Eoin (Ilen Rovers), D Goulding (Éire Óg), B Hurley (Castlehaven).


R Price (O’Donovan Rossa), J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), Mark Collins (O’Donovan Rossa), B Daly (Newmarket), A O’Sullivan (Castletownbere), K O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), B Coughlan (Kinsale), L Connolly (Nemo Rangers), P Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), P Kelleher (Kilmichael), S Hickey (Rockchapel).

More in this section

GaaFootballPlace: MallowPerson: Ken O’HalloranPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: Brian O’DiscollPerson: O’HalloranPerson: Peadar HealyPerson: Micheál MartinPerson: Brendan O’ConnellPerson: CadoganPerson: Colm O’DriscollPerson: Kieran HistonPerson: O’DriscollPerson: James LoughreyPerson: Tomás ClancyPerson: Ian MaguirePerson: Mark CollinsPerson: Donal Og HodnettPerson: Kevin O’DriscollPerson: Ruairi DeanePerson: Daniel GouldingPerson: Brian HurleyPerson: Dan Mac EoinPerson: Peter KelleherPerson: Paul KerriganPerson: K O’HalloranPerson: C O’DriscollPerson: Tadhg Mac CárthaighPerson: E CadoganPerson: DouglasPerson: K HistonPerson: B O’DriscollPerson: J LoughreyPerson: MallowPerson: I MaguirePerson: K O’DriscollPerson: DPerson: Óg HodnettPerson: O’Donovan RossaPerson: R DeanePerson: D Mac EoinPerson: D GouldingPerson: Éire ÓgPerson: B HurleyPerson: R PricePerson: J O’SullivanPerson: B DalyPerson: A O’SullivanPerson: K O’HanlonPerson: KilshannigPerson: B CoughlanPerson: L ConnollyPerson: P KerriganPerson: P KelleherPerson: KilmichaelPerson: S HickeyEvent: McGrath Cup finalOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: Clare CorkOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: Reardens Cork GAA All-StarsOrganisation: SFOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: Bantry BluesOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: NewmarketOrganisation: CastletownbereOrganisation: NemoOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: Rockchapel
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd