Offaly hold off Louth rally

O’Byrne Cup - Offaly 0-13 Louth 1-9: A late Louth rally came up short as Offaly rang in the new year with a win in Darver. 

Offaly hold off Louth rally

The visitors were the better team in the opening half and after trading early scores, they surged ahead with six points without reply in a seven-minute spell.

That ultimately proved to be the winning of an otherwise tight contest, although Louth did close the gap to a more manageable four points at half-time, 0-8 to 0-4.

A fortuitous goal from leading marksman Jim McEneaney brought the hosts right back into the contest, but Joe Maher kept Offaly ticking over, and they held on for a narrow victory.

Scorers for Offaly:

B Allen 0-4, S Doyle (3f), J Maher (2f) 0-3 each, C McNamee, M Brazil, C Donoghue 0-1 each.

Scorers for Louth

J McEneaney 1-5 (4f), C Judge 0-2 (1f), G McSorley, R Holcroft 0-1 each.


K Garry; D Brady, E Rigney, S Pender; N Darby, J Moloney, J O’Connor; L Fox, C McNamee; M Brazil, S Nally, C Donoghue; S Doyle, J Maher, B Allen.


J Gettings for Fox (43), A Sullivan for Brazil (43), C Byrne for Darby (53), N Dunne for Doyle (55), S Moriarty for Nally (60), B Darby for Pender (68).


N Gallagher; P Rath, D Quigley, K Toner; E Lafferty, D McMahon, K McLaughlin; T Durnin, D O’Connell; A Reid, J McEneaney, D Byrne; C Judge, G McSorley, J Stewart.


C McKeever for O’Connell (30), R Holcroft for McSorley (50), C Lenehan for Toner (50), J Califf for Durnin (56), S Hand for Judge (69).


B Cawley (Kildare)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up