Morris stars as Nenagh CBS end reign of Thurles CBS

Nenagh CBS 4-18 Thurles CBS 0-14: Holders Thurles CBS crashed out of the Dr Harty Cup after their Tipperary rivals Nenagh CBS produced a devastating second-half performance in Templemore yesterday.

Morris stars as Nenagh CBS end reign of Thurles CBS

Needing to win by an eight-point margin to guarantee progression to the knockout stages, Nenagh CBS went through the gears after the break, inspired by the move of Jake Morris from centre-back to centre-forward.

Morris hit 1-4 from play and created plenty of chances for those around him. Nenagh CBS found themselves in this pre-match predicament having lost heavily to St Colman’s, Fermoy in the previous round, a game in which only Barry Hogan and James Quigley from their Kildangan contingent featured due to an upcoming Tipperary minor final. The return of the remaining six players proved vital, including Dan O’Meara who scored two crucial goals.

Nenagh CBS set out their stall with much of the early play in their attacking third with Mark Daniels, Ruadhan Mulrooney and Robbie Quirke to the fore. Thurles found their feet thanks to the likes of Mikey Connors and Michael Ryan, plus the accurate free-taking of Darragh Woods. However Dan O’Meara’s 25th minute goal gave Nenagh a 1-6 to 0-6 half time lead.

O’Meara struck again five minutes into the second half, after good work by Robert Byrne. Nenagh CBS pressed on with the influential Morris playing in Byrne for their third goal in the 46th minute. Points from Andy Loughnane, Mark Daniels (2) and three from Morris followed before Morris put the result beyond doubt with a 50th minute goal as their lead increased to 16 points which Nenagh CBS maintained until the final whistle.

Scorers for Nenagh CBS:

J Morris 1-4; M Daniels 0-6 (2f, 2 65s); D O’Meara 2-0; R Quirke 0-3; R Byrne 1-0; R Mulrooney, B McLoughney 0-2 each; A Loughnane 0-1.

Scorers for Thurles CBS:

D Woods 0-6 (5f); M Ryan 0-4; M Connors, D Quirke (1 free) 0-2 each.


B Hogan (Kildangan), L Howard (Burgess), G O’Connor (Nenagh Eire Og), D Molloy (Kildangan); J Quigley (Kildangan), J Morris (Nenagh Eire Og), C Kelly (Kildangan); R Quirke (Cappawhite), A Loughnane (Kildangan); M Daniels (Silvermines), J Cahill (Kilruane MacD), R Byrne (Portroe); C Morgan (Kilruane MacD), D O’Meara (Kildangan), R Mulrooney (Portroe).


B McLoughney (Kildangan) for Morgan (29); B Seymour (Kildangan) for O’Meara (59); A Healy (Nenagh Eire Og) for Loughnane (59); M Breen (Portroe) for Howard (59).


T.J. Butler (Upperchurch/D); M Purcell (Thurles Sars), E Heffernan (Clonoulty/R), K O’Dwyer (Killenaule); C Moloney (Thurles Sars), T Hayes (Moycarkey/B), J O’Sullivan (Boherlahan/D); K Cummins (Moycarkey/B), R Purcell (Thurles Sars); C Stakelum (Thurles Sars), D Quirke (Clonoulty/R), D Woods (Holycross/B); M Ryan (Sean Treacys), A McKelvey (Moycarkey/B), M Connors (Drom & Inch).


Jimmy Ryan (Clonoulty/R) for O’Sullivan (43); S Flanagan (Holycross/B) for R Purcell (46); J Butler (Upperchurch/D) for Stakelum (55); JJ Darmody (Moycarkey/B) for Woods (56).


P.J. Nolan (Tipperary)

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: tipperaryplace: templemoreplace: kildanganperson: morrisperson: nenaghperson: thurlesperson: jake morrisperson: fermoyperson: barry hoganperson: james quigleyperson: dan o’mearaperson: mark danielsperson: ruadhan mulrooneyperson: robbie quirkeperson: mikey connorsperson: michael ryanperson: darragh woodsperson: o’mearaperson: robert byrneperson: byrneperson: andy loughnaneperson: j morrisperson: m danielsperson: d o’mearaperson: r quirkeperson: r byrneperson: r mulrooneyperson: b mcloughneyperson: a loughnaneperson: d woodsperson: m ryanperson: m connorsperson: d quirkeperson: b hoganperson: l howardperson: burgessperson: g o’connorperson: nenagh éire ógperson: d molloyperson: j quigleyperson: c kellyperson: cappawhiteperson: j cahillperson: kilruane macdperson: c morganperson: portroeperson: morganperson: b seymourperson: healyperson: loughnaneperson: m breenperson: howardperson: t.j. butlerperson: m purcellperson: thurles sarsperson: e heffernanperson: clonoultyperson: k o’dwyerperson: killenauleperson: c moloneyperson: t hayesperson: moycarkeyperson: j o’sullivanperson: boherlahanperson: k cumminsperson: r purcellperson: c stakelumperson: holycrossperson: sean treacysperson: a mckelveyperson: jimmy ryanperson: o’sullivanperson: s flanaganperson: j butlerperson: stakelumperson: jj darmodyperson: woodsperson: p.j. nolanevent: dr harty cuporganisation: cbsorganisation: thurlesorganisation: nenaghorganisation: kildanganorganisation: silverminesorganisation: portroeorganisation: drom & inch

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.