Castlehaven and Nemo set up repeat of 2013 county final

Castlehaven are through to a fourth county final in five seasons after overcoming near-neighbours, O’Donovan Rossa, in an exciting semi-final at Páirc Uí Rinn yesterday.

Castlehaven and Nemo set up repeat of 2013 county final

Castlehaven 1-13 O’Donovan Rossa 1-10

Edward Newman, Páirc Uí Rinn

Inspired by Cork senior, Brian Hurley, Haven led 1-6 to 0-1 after ten minutes, and, over the hour, possessed too much experience for a young Rossa team that fought like tigers to the finish.

The Skibbereen outfit might have snatched victory at the death but it would have been an injustice against a team that was better-balanced and possessed more firepower up front.

Hurley’s 6th minute goal was crucial and it arrived in a period when Haven didn’t put a foot wrong with Michael and Stephen Hurley and Sean Dineen impressing.

Skibb showed determination and resilience to reduce the margin to four minutes before the break - Kevin Davis, Dónal Óg Hodnett and Daniel Hazel particularly impressive.

Another brilliant score from Brian Hurley just before half time saw the Haven retire 1-8 to 0-6 in front – though they had a wind to their backs during this half.

Skibb’s fight-back never materialised and, while they chipped away at the scoreboard, Haven’s class told. Ryan Price’s penalty save on 40 minutes kept Rossa in the hunt and a goal from Conor McCarthy two minutes from time left just three points between the sides.

But, in a stop-start second half where referee Kevin Murphy was forced to dish out five black cards, Haven hung on and now face Nemo Rangers in the final.

Scorers for Castlehaven: B Hurley (1-5, 0-2f); P Hurley (0-2, 1f, 1 45); S Dineen, M Hurley, S Hurley, D Cahalane, S Nolan and M Collins (0-1 each)

Scorers for O’Donovan Rossa: C McCarthy (1-1); D Óg Hodnett (0-4, 1f); K Davis (0-2, 1f); D Hazel, P Crowley and T Hegarty (0-1 each).

CASTLEHAVEN: P Hurley; J O’Regan, D Limrick, T O’Leary; R Whelton, Damien Cahalane, C Hayes; M Collins, S Dineen; S Collins, S Hurley, S Cahalane; S Nolan, B Hurley, M Hurley. Subs: Darragh Cahalane for S Hurley (44); D Hegarty for Nolan (52); D Hurley for S Cahalane (black card, 59).

O’DONOVAN ROSSA: R Price; D Hazel, P Nealon, E Nealon; M Collins, J O’Sullivan, P Crowley; S Carmody, C McCarthy; R Long, K Davis, T Hegarty; D Óg Hodnett, D Shannon, S O’Brien. Subs: S Fitzgerald for Long (15); D Hourihane for Davis (ht); R Hodnett for Carmody (48); R Long for R Hodnett (black card,49); O Collins for Collins (black card, 55).

Nemo Rangers 1-11 Carbery Rangers 0-13

Tony Leen, Páirc Ui Rinn

Earlier, Castlehaven edged out Carbery Rangers in the other  semi-final.

Nemo were hanging on in the final minutes, as the Rosscarbery side chipped away at a seven-point interval deficit in the second half.

And Carbery were fuming afterwards about a penalty shout in the final minutes when John O’Rourke hit the deck as they powered forward in search of salvation.

The Rosscarbery men gave everything they had to overturn a 1-7 to 0-3 interval deficit - John O’Rourke even returning to the field after having a dislocated shoulder popped back into place - but there will be a lot of looking in the mirror today after a very disjointed first period by last year’s beaten finalists.

Their problems started early - 28 seconds in, to be precise, when a raking delivery from Luke Connolly was caught over the head of the full-back Brian Shanahan by Paul Kerrigan, who capitalised with the game’s only goal.

It was a different Carbery Rangers that emerged for the second half, and a string of points from brothers John and Seamus Hayes had them 1-10 to 0-10 behind with ten minutes left.

Nemo’s savious was Luke Connolly, just returned from a length spell out with a wrist injury. he scored six points, the last of which steadied the ship in the final minutes.

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: L. Connolly (0-6, 2 frees, 1 45), P. Kerrigan (1-1), J Masters (0-3, 1 free), A O’Donovan (0-1).

Scorers for Carbery Rangers: J Hayes (0-5, 3 frees), S Hayes (0-3), B Shanahan (0-2, 45’s), J. O’Rourke (0-2), K McMahon (0-1)

NEMO RANGERS: M Martin; A Cronin, A O’Reilly, C O’Shea; K Fulignati,T O Se, J Donovan; D Niblock, A O’Donovan (0-1); C O’Brien, B O’Driscoll, L Connolly; J Masters, P Kerrigan, C Dalton.

Subs: M Dorgan for Dalton (40 mins), C Horgan for Masters (49), P Morgan for O’Brien (51); O’Brien for O’Donovan (55)

CARBERY RANGERS: P Shanahan; R Kiely, B Shanahan, A Roche; T O’Rourke, P Hodnett, S Murray; M Mennis, J Fitzpatrick; A Jennings, D Hayes, K McMahon; J O’Rourke, J Hayes, S Hayes.

Subs: G O’Brien for Roche, M Kelly for T O’Rourke (half-time); K Fitzpatrick for Mennis (36); S O’Neill for J O’Rourke (Blood sub, 37); S O’Neill for J O’Rourke (59).

Referee: C Lane (Cork)

More in this section

CourtsGaaPerson: Donovan RossaPerson: O’Donovan RossaPerson: Edward NewmanPerson: Brian HurleyPerson: RossaPerson: HurleyPerson: HavenPerson: MichaelPerson: Stephen HurleyPerson: Sean DineenPerson: SkibbPerson: Kevin DavisPerson: Donal Og HodnettPerson: Daniel HazelPerson: Ryan PricePerson: Conor McCarthyPerson: Kevin MurphyPerson: B HurleyPerson: P HurleyPerson: S DineenPerson: M HurleyPerson: S HurleyPerson: D CahalanePerson: S NolanPerson: M CollinsPerson: C McCarthyPerson: D Óg HodnettPerson: K DavisPerson: D HazelPerson: P CrowleyPerson: T HegartyPerson: J O’ReganPerson: D LimrickPerson: T O’LearyPerson: R WheltonPerson: Damien CahalanePerson: C HayesPerson: S CollinsPerson: S CahalanePerson: Darragh CahalanePerson: D HegartyPerson: NolanPerson: D HurleyPerson: O’DonovanPerson: R PricePerson: P NealonPerson: E NealonPerson: J O’SullivanPerson: S CarmodyPerson: R LongPerson: D ShannonPerson: S O’BrienPerson: S FitzgeraldPerson: LongPerson: D HourihanePerson: DavisPerson: R HodnettPerson: CarmodyPerson: O CollinsPerson: CollinsPerson: Tony LeenPerson: Páirc Uí RinnPerson: NemoPerson: RosscarberyPerson: CarberyPerson: John O’RourkePerson: Luke ConnollyPerson: Brian ShanahanPerson: Paul KerriganPerson: JohnPerson: Seamus HayesPerson: L. ConnollyPerson: P. KerriganPerson: J MastersPerson: A O’DonovanPerson: J HayesPerson: S HayesPerson: ShanahanPerson: J. O’RourkePerson: K McMahonPerson: M MartinPerson: A CroninPerson: C O’SheaPerson: K FulignatiPerson: T Ó SéPerson: J DonovanPerson: D NiblockPerson: C O’BrienPerson: B O’DriscollPerson: L ConnollyPerson: P KerriganPerson: C DaltonPerson: M DorganPerson: DaltonPerson: C HorganPerson: MastersPerson: P MorganPerson: O’BrienPerson: P ShanahanPerson: R KielyPerson: B ShanahanPerson: A RochePerson: T O’RourkePerson: P HodnettPerson: S MurrayPerson: M MennisPerson: J FitzpatrickOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: HavenOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: Rosscarbery
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.

Execution Time: 0.223 s