Hurling managerial line-ups beginning to take shape

Hurling’s managerial carousel had already picked up considerable pace by the time Kilkenny returned up the steps of the Hogan Stand in early September, several high-profile figures opting off the merry-go-round.

Hurling managerial line-ups beginning to take shape

Eamon O’Shea’s departure in Tipperary had been well flagged, Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s exit, meanwhile, turned several heads even if it was expected.

Kevin Ryan cut ties with Antrim after three-years, with Eamonn Kelly jumping from Kerry to Offaly.

At present, Cork and Kerry are two counties hunting for a new manager; uncertainly, though, surrounds one or two more.

CARLOW: Pat English moves into the second year of his two-year term having successfully avoided the drop to the Christy Ring this summer. John Allen will not be continuing in the advisory role he held this year.

CLARE: With TJ Ryan’s backroom team, unveiled a fortnight ago, not containing Paul Kinnerk, all eyes will now focus on movements across the border to see if the Monaleen native will link back up with Davy Fitzgerald after taking a year out in 2015. Fitzgerald is heading into his fifth year as Clare manager.

CORK: Three former Cork hurlers Charlie McCarthy, Seán O’Gorman and Pat Mulcahy are part of a five-man committee charged with locating Barry-Murphy’s successor. And, truth be told, that’s as far as the process has moved at this present time. Kieran Kingston and Tomás Mulcahy are the front-runners for the post, but no interviews have yet taken place.

DUBLIN: Ger Cunningham heads into year two of his three-year term with a couple of key positions to fill. Selector Shay Boland has opted not to return for the 2016 season and the Irish Examiner understands that selectors Gearóid Ó Riain and skills and field coach Ed Coughlan have also decided not to go forward with Cunningham into the new season.

GALWAY: Anthony Cunningham was last night re-appointed for a fifth year as Galway manager. His position was ratified by the Galway County committee.

KILKENNY: Recent years tell us that it will be early November before there is official confirmation as to whether or not Cody is hanging around for an 18th campaign.

LAOIS: No official confirmation as of yet, but Seamus Plunkett is expected to remain on board for a fourth year.

LIMERICK: The County Board acted swiftly in the aftermath of the disappointing Dublin defeat to show their support for Ryan. Ahead of his third season at the helm, he has reshaped his backroom team.

Into the set-up has come Don Flynn and former Clare All-Ireland-winning strength and conditioning coach Joe O’Connor, departed are Mark Lyons and last year’s coach Paul Beary. A third addition is expected to be named in the coming weeks to fill the void left by Beary.

KERRY: There was widespread disappointment over Eamonn Kelly’s decision to resign as manager back in July such was the progress enjoyed during his two-year reign - the Kingdom were promoted to Division 1B of the league this spring before earning passage to the Liam MacCarthy Cup.

Former Limerick hurler Mark Foley, who managed Lixnaw this year, and old Treaty team-mate Ciarán Carey have emerged as favourites for the post on a joint ticket.

OFFALY: Eamonn Kelly has been handed an open-ended term, with a review to take place at the end of his first campaign. His backroom team remains a work in progress.

TIPPERARY: Michael Ryan has yet to meet with the County Board executive and his position or the make-up of his backroom team was neither raised nor discussed at last week’s County Board meeting.

WATERFORD: Derek McGrath was handed a four-year term earlier this month. His current deal expires at the end of 2016 and this three-year extension will see him stay in charge until 2019. Selectors Dan Shanahan and Fintan O’Connor will both continue in their roles next year. Management have been asked by the board to restrict the size of the backroom team to fifteen members.

WESTMEATH: Michael Ryan is to see out the second year of his two-year term. Changes to his backroom staff are expected to be unveiled at next month’s County Board meeting on October 7.

WEXFORD: With one year left on his term, Liam Dunne and his selectors - Ger Cushe, Tom Foley and Aidan O’Connor - have been given the green light to continue into 2016. Murty Dempsey, a selector for the past number of years, will not be returning to the sideline.

Damien Fitzhenry, a selector this year, will take up the role of goalkeeping mentor. Willie Cleary comes in as coach.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.231 s