Peter Keane takes over Kingdom minor role from Jack O’Connor

On the recommendation of County Board chairman Patrick O’Sullivan, delegates at last evening’s Kerry County Board meeting ratified Peter Keane to succeed Jack O’Connor as the county’s new Minor football manager for a two-year term.

Peter Keane takes over Kingdom minor role from Jack O’Connor

The Cahersiveen native is a highly regarded manager, with an impressive track record at all levels.

Keane, who played football for Kerry at minor and U-21 level, before going on to successfully manage his home club, St Mary’s, to win the All-Ireland Junior Club title in Croke Park in 2011.

He was also involved with Development squads in South Kerry, before joining Mickey Ned O’Sullivan’s minor management team in 2012/2013.

During his time as a Kerry minor selector, Kerry reached the All-Ireland semi-final in 2012, losing to Dublin, and the following year, having won the Munster title, Kerry lost out in controversial circumstances after extra-time against Tyrone.

Last year, he took charge of Killarney Legion, and they defeated the reigning champions Dr Crokes, before losing out in the semi-final.

He is currently preparing Legion for an SFC meeting with Feale Rangers on Sunday.

He will have up ten of this year’s minor winning squad to call on, including starters, Billy Courtney, Daniel O’Brien, Mike Breen, Sean O’Shea, Bryan Sweeney and Cormac Linnane.

Keane is currently putting his management team together and this will be ratified at the October meeting, along with the Kerry senior hurling manager, who will replace Eamon Kelly. Favourite for the post is former Limerick All-Star Ciaran Carey.

Carey guided Lixnaw to County Championship success along with Mark Foley in 2014Carey is currently preparing Patrickswell for their county semi-final.

Senior manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice whose three-year term ended after the All-Ireland final defeat was re-appointed for a one year term.

Under 21 Football manager Jack O’Connor’s backroom team were also ratified as follows: Selectors: Eamonn Whelan (St Senans), Michéal O’Sullivan (Castlegregory), Declan O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses)

Strength & Conditioning: Alan O’Sullivan and Arthur Fitzgerald.

All will serve for a two year period.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd