Kanturk shade Cill na Martra in feisty affair

Kanturk 0-12 Cill Na Martra 1-7: Kanturk held their nerve to defeat Cill na Martra in a tough and uncompromising Cork IFC quarter-final replay in Millstreet yesterday.

Kanturk shade Cill na Martra in feisty affair

Though it failed to match the spectacle of the drawn game, it lacked for nothing in drama, with tempers running high on occasions, including a melee after the full-time whistle.

With the sides deadlocked at the three-quarter stage, Kanturk were the ones who finished in style, as points from Joe Carver and Ian Walsh sealed the narrow win.

Kanturk selector Kieran Fitzgerald said: “We had expected a close game, pulling away at the finish to put a bit of daylight between the sides to fall over the line.

Cill na Martra have great players but Kanturk came on from the drawn game, our team stood up to the plate.”

Cill na Martra had a dream start: a defence-splitting move, Gearóid Ó Goillidhe set up wing-back Tadhg Ó Corcora for a peach of a goal in the fourth minute.

Steadily, Kanturk grew into the game, thanks to the efforts of Aidan Walsh and James Fitzpatrick at midfield, with Kyrle Holland and the industrious Darren O’Sullivan providing the scores.

The Gaeltacht side created goal chances but Kanturk keeper Jordan Fullerton saved brilliantly from Micheál Ó Deasúna. Driving forward in waves, Cill na Martra raised white flags from Ó Deasúna and Ó Goillidhe to trim the arrears to a point (0-7 to 1-3) at the break.

Kanturk resumed the stronger side, Holland and Walsh adding to the tally only for Cill na Martra to rally surperbly with Ó Corcora, Seán Ó Ceallachair and Ó Goillidhe working tigerishly.

A series of raids yielded points to Ó Deasúna and Ó Ceallachair to square up the game 0-10 to 1-7 at the three-quarter mark.

It was tense in the closing stages but Kanturk kept their heads and found the target with those scores from Carver and Ian Walsh.

Scores for Kanturk:

K Holland 0-5(f), I Walsh 0-2(0-1f), M Healy, D O’Sullivan, E O’Connor, A Walsh, J Carver 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cill na Martra:

M Ó Deasúna 0-4f, T Ó Corcora (1-0), G Ó Goillidhe, S Ó Duinnín, S Ó Ceallachair 0-1 each.


J Fullerton; J McLoughlin, D Browne, L O’Neill; M Healy, E O’Connor, Denis O’Connor; J Fitzpatrick, A Walsh; J Carver, I Walsh, P Walsh; Daithí Ó Connor, K Holland, D O’Sullivan.


C Boyce for Daithi Ó Connor(ht).


A Ó Conaill; M Ó Goillidhe, C Ó Laoire, D Ó Conaill; T Ó Corcora, G Ó Mocháin, A Ó Cuana; G Ó Goillidhe, S Ó Ceallachair; D Mac Lochlainn, F Ó hEalaithe, M Ó Conchúir; S Ó Loingsigh, M Ó Deasúna, S Ó Duinnín.


D Óg Ó Laoire for Ó Loingsigh(ht), D Ó Duinnín for D Óg Ó Laoire(53), N Ó Laoire for Ó Conchúir(60 bc).


E Sheehy (Newcestown).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up