Offaly make one change for Clare tie

Brian Whelahan has shown remarkable faith in his Offaly team for tomorrow’s crunch All-Ireland hurling qualifier with Clare in Ennis.

Offaly make one change for Clare tie

Boss Whelahan has made just a single change to the side that suffered a first Leinster championship defeat to Laois since 1972.

Eanna Murphy came on during that chastening nine-point loss for the experienced Cathal Parlon at wing-back and has held onto his jersey.

Aside from that, Whelahan has resisted the temptation to axe any of his under-performing players and has named the same team for the Cusack Park clash.

There is a similar vote of confidence from Offaly football manager Pat Flanagan in his players.

They play beaten Leinster semi-finalists Kildare in Tullamore tomorrow and Flanagan has named the side team that beat Waterford 1-20 to 1-7 in the first round of qualifiers.

Meanwhile, Limerick won’t be announcing their team for Sunday’s All-Ireland hurling qualifier with Westmeath until the day itself.

Offaly (SFC v Kildare): A Mulhall; B Darby, P McConway, C Donohue; N Darby, J Moloney, J O’Connor; C McNamee, N Smith; P Cunningham, G Guilfoyle, A Sullivan; B Allen, N Dunne, W Mulhall.

Offaly (SHC v Clare): J Dempsey; N Wynne, D Shortt, D King; E Murphy, C Egan, P Camon; E Nolan, S Ryan; J Mulrooney, D Currams, P Murphy; S Dooley, J Bergin, B Carroll.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.