Today’s Munster Colleges Fixtures

Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-final (all 1.30pm)

Rochestown, who advanced to the Dr Harty Cup semi-finals last week, face arguably the strongest of the second-placed sides. Shane Kingston, James Holland and Ben McAuliffe all shone in attack as they topped their group, while Adam Geaney and Seán Powter are notable defenders. Diarmuid Keating, Dilan O’Donoghue and Jack Daly are among Sceilge’s attacking threats, while Brian Sugrue and Graham O’Sullivan are other key players.

Verdict: Rochestown

St Brendan’s College v CBS High School Clonmel, Mallow

Brendan’s are fancied by many for the title having impressed in both the Corn Uí Mhuirí and the O’Sullivan Cup (Kerry SAFC), which they won before Christmas. They possess menace from all quarters and Micheál Burns, David Clifford, Lee O’Donoghue and Evan Cronin are their marquee names. Rory Maher, Paul Maher and Kyle Peters must shine if Clonmel are to spring an upset.

Verdict: St Brendan’s

Clonakilty CC v IS Killorglin, Clondroihid

Clonakilty are aiming to become the first former vocational school to win the Corn since the merging of competitions two years ago. They recovered from losing their first game to qualify as group winners and Ross Mannix and David Lowney are likely to be a handful for Killorglin’s defence. Killorglin had a great comeback to beat Coláiste Chríost Rí to finish second to Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne in their three-team group. They will look to the likes of Kieran Brosnan, Patrick Daly and Calum Teahan.

Verdict: Clonakilty CC

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne v Tralee CBS, Lewis Road

Corca Dhuibhne are attempting to make it four Corn wins in a row. They came through their group without too much fuss but will be wary of Tralee, having lost the O’Sullivan Cup semi-final to them. Conchúir Ó Géibheannaigh, Cathal Ó Bambaire and Séamus Ó Muircheartaigh are standouts in attack, with Tomás Ó Súilleabháin and Cian Ó Murchú effective further back. Ivan Parker is Tralee’s main man while Jack Morgan and Mike O’Donnell can also contribute.

Verdict: Corca Dhuibhne

Dr Harty Cup quarter-final: Castletroy College v Pobalscoil na Tríonóide, Cahir, 1.30pm

A semi-final with Thurles CBS awaits the winners of this game, which was postponed last Wednesday. Apart from a defeat to Doon, Castletroy impressed as they topped their group, their team underpinned by the likes of Limerick minors Barry Nash and Andrew La Touche Cosgrave while John Nicholas can also hit important scores. Declan Dalton is the primary score-getter for Youghal, who can also call upon centre-back Darragh O’Brien along with midfielders John Paul Lucey and Matthew Farrell.

Verdict: Castletroy College

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: lewis roadplace: doonperson: sceiligeperson: shane kingstonperson: james hollandperson: ben mcauliffeperson: adam geaneyperson: seán powterperson: diarmuid keatingperson: dilan o’donoghueperson: jack dalyperson: sceilgeperson: brian sugrueperson: graham o’sullivanperson: micheal burnsperson: david cliffordperson: lee o’donoghueperson: evan croninperson: rory maherperson: paul maherperson: kyle petersperson: clonmelperson: ross mannixperson: david lowneyperson: killorglinperson: kieran brosnanperson: patrick dalyperson: calum teahanperson: traleeperson: conchúir ó géibheannaighperson: cathal ó bambaireperson: seamus ó muircheartaighperson: tomás ó súilleabháinperson: cian ó murchúperson: ivan parkerperson: jack morganperson: mike o’donnellperson: barry nashperson: andrew la touche cosgraveperson: john nicholasperson: declan daltonperson: youghalperson: darragh o’brienperson: john paul luceyperson: matthew farrellevent: collegesevent: dr harty cupevent: o’sullivan cupevent: christmasorganisation: st francis collegeorganisation: rochestownorganisation: st brendan’s collegeorganisation: cbs high schoolorganisation: brendanorganisation: corn uí mhuiríorganisation: kerry safcorganisation: st brendanorganisation: cornorganisation: pobalscoil chorca dhuibhneorganisation: clonakiltyorganisation: cbsorganisation: traleeorganisation: corca dhuibhneorganisation: castletroy collegeorganisation: pobalscoil na tríonóideorganisation: thurles cbsorganisation: castletroyorganisation: limerick
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up