Clare board backs free to air TV proposal for All-Ireland games

Clare County Board last night unanimously backed a proposal to ensure future All-Ireland championship matches are available free to air.

Clare board backs free to air TV proposal for All-Ireland games

The proposal was made at the county’s convention in Ennis last night and came from the the Éire Óg, Ennis Club.

It states: “On the expiration of the current broadcasting contract with ‘Sky Sports’, that hurling and football championship matches broadcast live on subscription channels would also be available on non-subscription channels.” This motion was in response to the deal done by the GAA with Sky last April, allowing the worldwide broadcaster the rights to show an agreed amount of matches over a three-year period.

Elsewhere treasurer Bernard Keane, advised delegates that the finances of the board were in a healthy state and that a net surplus for the year on board activities was €109,995.

Keane said that total income amounted to €1,786,727, whereas €1,676,732 was paid out in expenditure.

Another interesting motion that got unanimous approval was one from Wolfe Tones na Sionna “that GAA actively allows for all senior inter-county competitions in hurling, two referees to administer and referee matches.”

More than 170 delegates debated 45 motions submitted by 16 clubs.

The 135-minute meeting was addressed by county board chairman Michael McDonagh.

He spoke in particular of his pride in seeing Clare’s U21 hurlers achieve a third All-Ireland title in a row.

County secretary Pat Fitzgerald’s annual report also referred to the U21 triumph when he said, “undoubtedly, the sporting kudos on the inter-county front go to the All-Ireland U21 hurlers and their management team on completing a three-in-a-row of Munster and All-Ireland titles.”

The Banner County’s annual convention had only one election to get through and that was a three-way contest for a place as a delegate to Central Council. The vacant seat was a result of Feakle’s Ger Hickey stepping down because of the five-year ruling. His successor will be Ennistymon’s John Fawl, who topped the poll in a three-way race with Miltown Malbay’s John Reidy and O’Callaghan’s Mills’ Noel O’Driscoll.


President: Tadgh Murphy.

Chairman: Michael McDonagh.

Vice-chariman: Joe Cooney.

Secretary: Pat Fitzgerald.

Vice-secretary: Rosaline Monahan.

Treasurer: Bernard Keane.

Vice-Treasurer: Gerry Lynch.

PRO: Sean O’Halloran.

Oifigeach Gaeilge & Cultur: Aine Ni hAodha.

Development Officer: Ger Hickey.

Games Development Officer: Michael O’Neill. Youth Officer: Fergal Grey.

Central Council: John Fawl.

Munster Council: PJ McGuane.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up