Kingdom lead All Star way

It’s no surprise Kerry lead the way with 11 All Star nominations, two more than beaten finalists Donegal and National League and Leinster winners Dublin.

Kingdom lead All Star way

However, their haul is the lowest representation from All-Ireland champions since Cork’s 11 in 2010.

Of the team that started last month’s decider, goalkeeper Brian Kelly, defenders Marc Ó Sé, Killian Young and half-forward Stephen O’Brien are the four that miss out on the GAA-GPA acknowledgements, which are chosen by a panel of GAA journalists.

James O’Donoghue is a certainty for an Opel All Star and is the leading candidate for the footballer of the year where he faces competition from Donegal full-back Neil McGee and Dublin forward Diarmuid Connolly.

Interestingly, none of the 12 Kerry players who were nominated for All Stars in 2009, the last time the Kingdom claimed the Sam Maguire Cup, have been chosen on this occasion. Kieran Donaghy is among the nominations for the first time since 2008, while Donegal captain Michael Murphy, who might have been seen as his closest challenger to the full-forward berth, is named in the half-forward line.

All-Ireland final man of the match Paul Murphy is picked in the full-back line where he was so good in the semi-final games against Mayo, especially in the replay in Limerick when he marked Alan Dillon.

There he is joined by captain Fionn Fitzgerald and in the half-back line Aidan O’Mahony and Peter Crowley are among the nine. Kerry’s two midfielders, Anthony Maher and David Moran, are among the midfield six and the forward line as well as O’Donoghue and Donaghy include Johnny Buckley, Donnchadh Walsh and Paul Geaney.

Cork are acknowledged with one nod going to Brian Hurley for his fine National League form.

Derry’s Mark Lynch is also appreciated for his excellent performances earlier in the season.

Ten counties are honoured in total with 18-year-old Tipperary dual player Colin O’Riordan noted for his exceptional form this summer. The JK Brackens man is the first footballer to be nominated from the county since Declan Browne in 2003.

Kerry’s collection is seven more than last year, when they lost to Dublin in an epic semi-final, while Dublin’s collection drops by three from 12 to nine. Mayo’s number is also down by four on 2013.

Ten of last year’s award winners are nominated this season — O’Donoghue, Stephen Cluxton, Rory O’Carroll, Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Michael Darragh Macauley, Aidan O’Shea, Paul Flynn and Conor McManus.

Neither of the Brogan brothers are selected, the first time since 2004 that either Alan or Bernard haven’t been among the 45 players. Their Dublin team-mate Flynn is gunning for his fourth consecutive All Star award and his half-forward colleague Diarmuid Connolly appears set to claim his first.

As well as the player of the year shortlist, the young player of the year nominations are also selected by journalists. Donegal pair Ryan McHugh and Paddy McBrearty are up for the accolade, along with Galway starlet Shane Walsh. It is the second time McBrearty, who largely featured as a substitute in this year’s Championship, has been nominated for the award. He was also in the shake-up in 2012.

Both individual awards will be voted on by the GPA membership and the All Stars will be presented at the annual banquet in the National Convention Centre in Dublin on Friday, October 24.

The football award winners will be announced prior to the event with the hurling recipients revealed on the night. This and last year’s All Star footballers will travel to Boston next month where they will play an exhibition game on Thanksgiving Weekend.

GAA/GPA Football All Star nominations


Paul Durcan (Donegal), Rory Beggan (Monaghan), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin).

Full backs

Fionn Fitzgerald (Kerry), Keith Higgins (Mayo), Éamonn McGee (Donegal), Neil McGee (Donegal), Andy Mallon (Armagh), Rory O’Carroll (Dublin), Philip McMahon (Dublin), Paul Murphy (Kerry), Drew Wylie (Monaghan).

Half backs

Aidan O’Mahony (Kerry), Peter Crowley (Kerry), James McCarthy (Dublin), Frank McGlynn (Donegal), Dessie Mone (Monaghan), Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Colin O’Riordan (Tipperary), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Lee Keegan (Mayo).


Neil Gallagher (Donegal), Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin), Odhrán MacNiallais (Donegal), Anthony Maher (Kerry), David Moran (Kerry), Séamus O’Shea (Mayo).

Half forwards

Johnny Buckley (Kerry), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Paul Flynn (Dublin), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry), Shane Walsh (Galway), Mark Lynch (Derry).

Full forwards

Kieran Donaghy (Kerry), Paul Geaney(Kerry), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Cillian O’Connor (Mayo), James O’Donoghue (Kerry), Brian Hurley (Cork), Kevin McManamon (Dublin), Tony Kernan (Armagh), Paddy McBrearty (Donegal).

Young Player of the Year

Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Shane Walsh (Galway), Paddy McBrearty (Donegal)

Player of the Year

James O’Donoghue (Kerry), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Neil McGee (Donegal).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: LimerickPlace: TipperaryPlace: GalwayPlace: National Convention CentrePlace: DublinPlace: BostonPerson: Brian KellyPerson: Marc Ó SéPerson: Killian YoungPerson: Stephen O’BrienPerson: James O’DonoghuePerson: Neil McGeePerson: Diarmuid ConnollyPerson: Kieran DonaghyPerson: Michael MurphyPerson: Paul MurphyPerson: Alan DillonPerson: Fionn FitzgeraldPerson: Aidan O’MahonyPerson: Peter CrowleyPerson: KerryPerson: Anthony MaherPerson: David MoranPerson: O’DonoghuePerson: DonaghyPerson: Johnny BuckleyPerson: Donnchadh WalshPerson: Paul GeaneyPerson: Brian HurleyPerson: Mark LynchPerson: Colin O’RiordanPerson: JK BrackensPerson: Declan BrownePerson: MayoPerson: Stephen CluxtonPerson: Rory O’CarrollPerson: Keith HigginsPerson: Lee KeeganPerson: Colm BoylePerson: Michael Darragh MacauleyPerson: Aidan O’SheaPerson: Paul FlynnPerson: Conor McManusPerson: BroganPerson: AlanPerson: BernardPerson: FlynnPerson: Ryan McHughPerson: Paddy McBreartyPerson: Shane WalshPerson: McBreartyPerson: Paul DurcanPerson: Rory BegganPerson: Eamonn McGeePerson: Andy MallonPerson: Philip McMahonPerson: Drew WyliePerson: James McCarthyPerson: Frank McGlynnPerson: Dessie MonePerson: MonaghanPerson: Jonny CooperPerson: Neil GallagherPerson: Odhran MacNiallaisPerson: Seamus O’SheaEvent: StarEvent: Sam Maguire CupEvent: Thanksgiving WeekendOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: GAAOrganisation: OpelOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: GPAOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: Armagh
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.