Kilmacud Crokes win first Sevens crown

All-Ireland Sevens: Hosts Kilmacud Crokes captured their first One Direct All-Ireland Senior Hurling Sevens title at Glenalbyn on Saturday, recording a 6-21 to 7-5 win over Portroe of Tipperary in the decider.

Crokes manager Ollie Baker said it was a very important win for the club, famed for hosting the competition.

“It’s brilliant, I didn’t realise until today that they hadn’t won it previously. It’s great for the lads to win a title that means so much to the club and to be the first ones to do it,” the Clare native said.

“It’s a different thing the Sevens. You can get a run in a game and then defend it. If you are able to turn over the ball and get scores that is it. A lot of the games went like that.”

Crokes led by 3-10 to 3-5 at half-time, with captain Sean McGrath, Ryan O’Dwyer and Oisín O’Rorke netting for the hosts. John Sheedy bagged two of Portroe’s goals, with Mikey Sheedy adding the other one.

John Sheedy completed his hat-trick quickly after the restart, but Crokes kept the scores ticking over, shooting 1-6 without reply, including a second O’Rorke goal.

There was a goal fest in the closing six minutes, with Portroe claiming three goals, and Crokes raising two green flags.

Michael Sheedy bagged all of those Portroe goals, with O’Rorke and O’Dwyer on target for Crokes.

Sheedy’s fourth goal left a 12-point gap late on, but Crokes sealed victory with a late Bill O’Carroll point.

Leinster GAA chairman John Horan presented captain Sean McGrath with the Cup, while Ryan O’Dwyer claimed the Player of the Tournament Award.

Donegal club Burt were also first-time winners, after they claimed the Shield title, thanks to a 2-13 to 3-8 win over Keady Lamh Dhearg from Armagh. There was a Cork double at St Jude’s, with Lisgoold crowned junior champions after a 4-7 to 4-1 win over Wexford outfit Crossabeg Ballymurn, while Clonakilty took the Shield title with a 9-4 to 2-0 win over Portumna.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up