Hard to see past three in-a-row seeking Clare

Cork playing away from home, written off in all quarters and coming face-to-face with a side laden with senior talent.

Hard to see past three in-a-row seeking Clare

Sound familiar?

Pat Kenneally’s charges were branded virtual no-hopers ahead of their semi-final away to Waterford, the Déise men boasting 10 members of Derek McGrath’s panel, and the Rebels are once again being dismissed entering the decider against Clare.

However, tonight’s assignment carries a far higher degree of difficulty.

Clare, led by seniors Seadna Morey, Jack Browne, Colm Galvin, Peter Duggan, Shane O’Donnell and 2013 Hurler of the Year, Tony Kelly, are chasing the three-in-a-row, a feat last achieved by Limerick at the turn of the millennium.

For Cork, much will depend on the exploits of full-forward Alan Cadogan. Unfair responsibility perhaps, but given his senior displays this summer it now comes with the territory. Clare’s balance, consequently, to prove the deciding factor.

CORK: P Collins (Ballinhassig); S Murphy (Blackrock), C Barry (Castlelyons), C Buckley (Na Piarsaigh); K Kavanagh (Carrigaline), K Burke (Midleton), K McIntyre (Carrigaline); D Brosnan (Brian Dillons), R Cahalane (Ballymartle); S O’Keeffe (Blackrock), C Spillane (Castlelyons), M Collins (Ballinhassig); A Spillane (Castlelyons), A Cadogan (Douglas), R O’Shea (Carrigaline).

CLARE: K Hogan (Clooney-Quin); J Colleran (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield), J Browne (Ballyea), S Morey (Sixmilebridge); J Shanahan (Sixmilebridge), C Cleary (Kilmaley), G O’Connell (Ballyea); E Enright (Kilmaley), C Galvin (Clonlara); B Duggan (Clarecastle), T Kelly (Ballyea); P Duggan (Clooney-Quin); A Cunningham (Wolfe Tones), S O’Donnell (Éire Óg), D Reidy (Éire Óg).

Verdict: Clare

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up