Monaghan opt for same again ahead of Ulster final duel with Donegal

Monaghan have gone with the same 15 that beat Armagh in their semi-final replay for Sunday’s Ulster final showdown against Donegal in Clones.

Monaghan opt for same again ahead of Ulster final duel with Donegal

The team shows four changes from the side that beat the 2012 All-Ireland winners in last year’s provincial decider.

Ryan Wylie, Fintan Kelly, Dick Clerkin and Paudie McKenna are the changes with Kieran Duffy and Pádraig Donaghy named on the bench and Owen Lennon sidelined through injury while Neil McAdam has emigrated.

Kieran Hughes is selected despite aggravating a knee problem in the second game against Armagh but has been picked, as has Dermot Malone who had concerns about a wrist injury.

It is the same outfit bar two selections that defeated Donegal in April’s Division 2 final, the only absentees being Duffy and Lennon.

Meanwhile, Paul Grimley appears to have poured cold water over a report he will step aside as Armagh manager next season and be replaced by Kieran McGeeney.

Earlier this year, Grimley had intimated he might not be in charge in 2015.

Prior to being relegated from Division 2, he said: “If we go down to Division 3, it will cost me the job.”

He later said he made the comments in an attempt to motivate his players.

Grimley told the Belfast Telegraph yesterday that Armagh in the second of a three-year “rebuilding programme”.

Noel Connors is the one change to the Waterford side for tomorrow’s qualifier with Wexford from the side that beat Laois in their last outing. Ryan Donnelly makes way.

MONAGHAN: R Beggan; R Wylie, D Wylie, C Walshe; D Mone, V Corey, F Kelly; D Clerkin, D Hughes; P McKenna, S Gollogly, P Finlay; D Malone, K Hughes, C McManus. Subs: G McCaffrey, C Boyle, K Duffy, C Galligan, K O’Connell, G Doogan, P Donaghy, O Duffy, T Kerr, J McCarron, C McGuinness.

WATERFORD (SHC v Wexford): S O’Keeffe; S Fives, L Lawlor, N Connors; D Fives, K Moran, T de Burca; M Walsh, P Prendergast; S O’Sullivan, P Mahony, A Gleeson; C Dunford, S Walsh, J Dillon.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up