Rule flaw on frees adds to confusion

The GAA are facing another embarrassment with confirmation that an anomaly still exists in their new rule interpretation on penalties and 20-metre frees.

Rule flaw  on frees adds to confusion

After last week’s Cork-Waterford fiasco, the GAA have clarified that the measures are only relevant to penalties and 20m frees. This is in spite of a GAA press release last Thursday, which states all frees must be taken before or where the infringement took place. It means Patrick Horgan in Thurles on Sunday would have been within his rights to advance a 22m free in the first half and strike it past the 20m line.

“The interpretation provided by Central Council last week referred only to 20m frees and penalties,” said director of games administration and player welfare Feargal McGill.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €120 €60

Best value

Monthly €10€5 / month

More in this section

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited