Corkery’s crowning glory

Just 24 hours before winning her eighth Division 1 NFL title, Cork captain Briege Corkery had to carry out sibling duties at her sister’s wedding.

Corkery’s crowning glory

Dublin were the bridesmaids on Saturday however in their inaugural final in Parnell Park, and it was the reigning champions’ experience which denied Gregory McGonigle’s side by two points.

“We were lacking a little bit in the first-half and were probably only going about 90%, but then in the second-half our backs soaked up some fierce pressure, and they took serious control,” said Corkery, whose side trailed 1-2 to 2-1 at the turnaround.

Six successive points and a sterling performance in the rearguard to hold the Dubs to three points in the second-half saw the dual star lift her first piece of silverware as a Cork captain, despite having won numerous All-Ireland medals in both football and camogie at intercounty level.

In front of a large home crowd, Dublin started the brighter with two goals from Lindsay Peat on the ninth and 25th minutes, with Orlagh Farmer grabbing Cork’s only goal on the 13th minute.

The addition of All Star Deirdre O’Reilly on the 36th minute swung the momentum in Cork’s favour as player of the match Valerie Mulcahy gave a master display in deadball kicking and Geraldine O’Flynn and Doireann O’Sullivan added points.

Despite Cork playing in their seventh final in-a-row, Dublin were favourites having been unbeaten to-date in the league.

“At the start of the league I honestly didn’t think we’d be in a final,” admitted Corkery.

“Things were a bit scatty at first but we got going when we eventually had the whole panel back.

“We’ve trained hard and fair play to all the new girls who have come in because they’re pushing everyone for places and that’s what you need to keep it going, it’s not about the same team the whole time,” she added.

Cork will now face Clare in the opening round of the Munster Championship on June 21 and will look to win back the Dairygold Cup which they relinquished after nine years to Kerry in 2013.

Scorers for Cork: V Mulcahy (0-5, 4fs), O Farmer (1-0), G O’Flynn (0-2, 1f), D O’Sullivan and D O’Reilly (0-1 each).

Scorers for Dublin: L Peat (2-0), L Davey, S Aherne (2fs) (0-2 each).

CORK: M O’Brien; R Phelan, Angela Walsh, B Stack; V Foley, AM Walsh, G O’Flynn; R Buckley, B Corkery (capt); Annie Walsh, C O’Sullivan, O Farmer; E Farmer, D O’Sullivan, V Mulcahy.

Subs: D O’Reilly for AM Walsh (36), O Finn for O Farmer (40), E Scally for Annie Walsh (40), G Kearney for E Farmer (51), N Kelly for V Foley (54).

DUBLIN: C O’Connor; S McGrath, S Furlong, R Ruddy; S Goldrick (capt), S Finnegan, C Rowe; D Masterson, S McCaffrey; S Woods, N McEvoy, N Healy; L Davey, S Aherne, L Peat.

Subs: D Murphy for Woods (45), N Hyland for McEvoy (48), O Leonard for Masterson (55).

Referee: J Niland (Sligo)

Player of the match: V Mulcahy (Cork)

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd