Losing home advantage not an issue for Power

While the drawn Munster minor final nine days ago took place in the Gaelic Grounds, Waterford manager Seán Power never expected his side to have home advantage for tonight’s replay with Limerick (Semple Stadium, 7.30pm).

As the minor final is the curtain-raiser to the senior decider, the venue is considered neutral regardless of its sitting, so Power has no problems with having to go to Thurles.

“I think it [playing the replay in Waterford] was mentioned for a second,” he said, “but we were never going to push for it.

“It’s a Munster final, so we’re happy to play it at a neutral venue, though Limerick might have a slight advantage as they played there already this year.

“They’re probably favourites anyway as they have the momentum of finishing the drawn game well, but it’s a good surface for hurling and we’re looking forward to it.”

In the drawn match, a last-minute goal from Tom Morrissey earned Limerick a draw. While it was disappointing for Power and his side to be denied, he knows it could have been worse.

“We were leading by a few points and we probably should have closed the game out, but at the same time Limerick’s goal might have been a winner and we’d have lost.

“It’s at the halfway stage in the tie and it’s all to play for. Limerick deserved the draw and I’ve no doubt that it’s going to be a close game again.

“Our lads didn’t need too much motivating, the prize is the same as it was and the focus will be the same.”

Both sides have named unchanged sides for tonight’s clash. While Power reports a few slight knocks, none are serious enough to deny him players, and he was happy to allow members of his team to play football for their clubs at the weekend.

“You’d obviously be hoping that they wouldn’t get injured, but that’salways the hope,” he said.

“It was never my policy to keep players wrapped in cotton wool, it wouldn’t be right to say to small clubs that they couldn’t have their players.”

LIMERICK: C Ryan (Pallasgreen); J Porter (Monaleen), R English (Doon), S Finn (Bruff); S Ryan (Doon), A La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), S Flanagan (Feoghanagh/Castlemahon); J Butler (Feoghanagh/Castlemahon), D Donovan (Doon); B Nash (South Liberties), D Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), C Lynch (Patrickswell); D Coleman (Doon), R Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), P Ryan (Doon).

WATERFORD: G Power (Dungarvan); W Hahessy (Clonea), K Daly (Dungarvan), C Leamy (Ballyduff Upper); T Devine (Modeligo), A Gleeson (Mount Sion), S Bennett (Ballysaggart); C Gleeson (Fourmilewater), M Harney (Bonmahon); A Farrell (De La Salle), C Roche (Shamrocks), DJ Foran (Portlaw); P Curran (Dungarvan), S Bennett (Ballysaggart), M Kearney (Ballyduff Upper).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.212 s