Barr’s and Ballymartle battle to avoid relegation play-off

Following the six Cork county championship games at the weekend, the fourth-round ties and relegation play-offs are now decided in all but the SHC and IFC grades.

There, the game between Ballymartle and St Finbarr’s in the third round remains outstanding, meaning Blackrock still do not know whether they will take on their great rivals in round four or the side which beat them in last year’s first round.

The losers of the Ballymartle-Barr’s tie will have to battle Ballinhassig to determine which club drops to Premier IHC level. In 2011, Ballinhassig lost by two points to eventual champions Carrigtwohill before succumbing to the drop, and this time they lost by two to holders Sarsfields as well as Bride Rovers and Killeagh.

In senior football, yesterday’s two third round games mean St Nicholas — who survived by beating Na Piarsaigh last year — must repeat the trick against 2011 Premier IFC champions Newmarket.

At Premier IHC level, Cloyne’s ending of their seven-game run without a win in championship hurling by beating Carrigaline eases any fears they might have had regarding the possibility of a second consecutive relegation. While not common, this happened to Delany Rovers and St Catherine’s following their drops from senior in recent years.

The ‘prize’ of a fourth-round game against East Cork rivals Youghal is a tough one, but no doubt it will be one which they will relish.

Carrigaline, who already lost to Ballyhea and Kilworth, must now face Ballincollig in the relegation play-off. The Mid-Cork side were well-beaten by Castlelyons and Inniscarra, but in between those defeats they pushed Youghal close. Both sides, however, have suffered from players emigrating for the summer.

This, and the high number of dual players in their ranks, means Carrigaline are suffering on the double, as they are also one game away from being relegated in football, following losses to Béal Áthan Ghaorthaidh, Kiskeam and, most recently, Glenville.

South East divisional rivals Kinsale — who were promoted from the lower intermediate grade just two years ago — will be Carrig’s opponents in the relegation decider, after they lost to Nemo Rangers following previous defeats by Ballinora and Bantry Blues.

Carrigaline will hope previous experience of the tension of the relegation play-off will help. In 2011, they prevailed to send Grenagh down following two replays.

Aghabullogue still run the risk of successive relegations in hurling, as Barryroe, Meelin and St Catherine’s have all beaten them. If the Coachford club are to prevent a drop to junior level, they will have to beat Dromina. Following a bad loss to Fermoy, Dromina then took Argideen Rangers to a replay before being beaten and suffered a third setback against Dripsey, who avoided a relegation clash with their neighbours.

The IFC, however, remains as it was before the weekend as both third-round games were draws after extra-time. For Canovee, Glanmire, Mayfield and Adrigole, championship progress and relegation remain live prospects.


SHC fourth round: A) Ballymartle/St Finbarr’s v Blackrock, B) Newtownshandrum v Douglas, C) Sarsfields v UCC, D) Avondhu v Killeagh, E) Bishopstown v Carrigtwohill, F) Midleton v Bride Rovers, G) Courcey Rovers v Na Piarsaigh, H) Erin’s Own v Glen Rovers; Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, G v H; Relegation play-off: Ballymartle/St Finbarr’s v Ballinhassig.

Premier IHC fourth round: A) Inniscarra v Blarney, B) Kilworth v Ballyhea, C) Cloyne v Youghal, D) Tracton v Bandon, E) Kilbrittain v Valley Rovers, F) Mallow v Watergrasshill; Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, Newcestown v Castlelyons; Relegation play-off: Carrigaline v B’collig.

IHC fourth round: A) Argideen Rangers v Meelin, B) Charleville v Kanturk, C) Milford v Ballygarvan, D) Fr O’Neills v Fermoy, E) St Catherine’s v Kildorrery, F) Dripsey v Barryroe; Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, Aghada v Éire Óg; Relegation play-off: Dromina v Aghabullogue.

SFC fourth round: A) Castlehaven v Newcestown, B) St Vincent’s v Clonakilty, C) Carbery v Ballincollig, D) Ilen Rovers v Aghada, E) Carbery Rangers v St Finbarr’s, F) Bishopstown v CIT, G) O’Donovan Rossa v Nemo Rangers, H) Douglas v Dohenys; Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, G v H; Relegation play-off: Newmarket v St Nicholas.

Premier IFC fourth round: A) Ballinora v Nemo Rangers, B) Mallow v Béal Áthan Ghaorthaidh, C) Bantry Blues v Clyda Rovers, D) Na Piarsaigh v Glenville, E) St Michael’s v Valley Rovers, F) Naomh Abán v Kiskeam; Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, Castletownbere v Macroom; Relegation play-off: Carrigaline v Kinsale.

IFC fourth round: A) Rockchapel v Cloyne, B) Ballydesmond v Kildorrery, C) Adrigole/Mayfield v Éire Óg, D) Grenagh v Fermoy, E) Canovee/Glanmire v Kanturk, F) Glanworth v Cill na Martra; Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, Youghal v Aghabullogue; Relegation play-off: Glanmire/Canovee v Adrigole/Mayfield.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPerson: NicholasPerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: CloynePerson: MeelinEvent: Premier IFCOrganisation: BallymartleOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: IFCOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: BallinhassigOrganisation: Premier IHCOrganisation: CarrigtwohillOrganisation: SarsfieldsOrganisation: Bride RoversOrganisation: KilleaghOrganisation: NewmarketOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: Delany RoversOrganisation: St Catherine’sOrganisation: East CorkOrganisation: YoughalOrganisation: BallyheaOrganisation: KilworthOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: Mid-CorkOrganisation: CastlelyonsOrganisation: InniscarraOrganisation: Béal Áthan GhaorthaidhOrganisation: GlenvilleOrganisation: KinsaleOrganisation: CarrigOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: BallinoraOrganisation: Bantry BluesOrganisation: GrenaghOrganisation: AghabullogueOrganisation: BarryroeOrganisation: CoachfordOrganisation: Argideen RangersOrganisation: CanoveeOrganisation: GlanmireOrganisation: MayfieldOrganisation: AdrigoleOrganisation: NewtownshandrumOrganisation: DouglasOrganisation: UCC,Organisation: AvondhuOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: Courcey RoversOrganisation: Na PiarsaighOrganisation: Erin’s OwnOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: BOrganisation: COrganisation: DOrganisation: EOrganisation: FOrganisation: GOrganisation: BlarneyOrganisation: CloyneOrganisation: TractonOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: KilbrittainOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: MallowOrganisation: WatergrasshillOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: B’colligOrganisation: MeelinOrganisation: CharlevilleOrganisation: KanturkOrganisation: MilfordOrganisation: BallygarvanOrganisation: Fr O’NeillsOrganisation: Fermoy,Organisation: KildorreryOrganisation: DripseyOrganisation: AOrganisation: AghadaOrganisation: Éire ÓgOrganisation: DrominaOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: St Vincent’sOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: CarberyOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: CITOrganisation: O’Donovan RossaOrganisation: DohenysOrganisation: St NicholasOrganisation: Béal ÁthanOrganisation: GhaorthaidhOrganisation: Clyda RoversOrganisation: Na Pia
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.228 s