Lacey return provides ‘huge lift’ to McGuinness

Karl Lacey will make his first championship start of the season in Sunday’s Ulster final against Monaghan in Clones.

Lacey return provides ‘huge lift’ to McGuinness

The 2012 Footballer of the Year takes Declan Walsh’s place having recovered from knee cartilage surgery last month, while Neil Gallagher misses out because of knee ligament problems, a second provincial decider absence for the Glenswilly man.

“It’s a huge lift to us,” Jim McGuinness said. “Karl has been working very hard to get his fitness back with the strength and conditioning coaches in Dublin and he has made great strides. It’s great to have Karl back.”

Monaghan manager Malachy O’Rourke has announced a team featuring Paul Finlay for the Ulster final. Finlay and Dermot Malone come in with Thomas Freeman and Gavin Doogan making way.

Stephen O’Neill has been named in the Tyrone team to face Kildare in tomorrow evening’s third round qualifier in Newbridge. The former Footballer of the Year has not played since the defeat to Donegal after suffering an Achilles injury.

He is one of two changes to the side that beat Roscommon — Connor McAliskey losing out at O’Neill’s expense and Aidan McCrory coming into defence with Joe McMahon pushing into the half-forward line to replace Ciaran McGinley.

Tomás O’Connor, after impressing against Louth, is selected to start in St Conleth’s Park with Paul Cribbin on the bench as a result.

Rob Hennelly makes his first championship appearance for Mayo since their 2011 All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Kerry after being named in goal for Sunday’s Connacht final against London.

With David Clarke and Ken O’Malley injured, the 23-year-old has been drafted into the team, which also features fit-again Andy Moran.

Enda Varley lose out as does Cathal Carolan for Darren Coen in the forwards and Chris Barrett replaces Donal Vaughan (hamstring).

Cavan selector Anthony Forde has been handed a proposed eight-week suspension arising from last Saturday’s ill-tempered qualifier win over Fermanagh.

It’s not yet certain whether he will seek a hearing on the matter, but it is likely he will be in the stands against Derry in Celtic Park.

Meanwhile, Fermanagh plan to contest Sean Quigley’s red card in the same game. The forward was sent off at the start of the second half after a fracas at half-time.

DONEGAL (SF v Monaghan): P Durcan; P McGrath, N McGee, E McGee; A Thompson, K Lacey, F McGlynn; R Kavanagh, R Bradley; M McHugh, L McLoone, David Walsh; P McBrearty, M Murphy, C McFadden.

MONAGHAN (SF v Donegal): R Beggan; K Duffy, D Wylie, C Walshe; V Corey, N McAdam, D Mone; O Lennon, D Hughes; P Finlay, S Gollogly, D Malone; C McGuinness, K Hughes, C McManus.

MAYO (SF v London): R Hennelly; T Cunniffe, G Cafferkey, C Barrett; L Keegan, K Higgins, C Boyle; A O’Shea, S O’Shea; K McLoughlin, A Dillon, R Feeney; A Moran, A Freeman, D Coen.

TYRONE (SF v Kildare): P McConnell; A McCrory, C Clarke, C McCarron; R McKenna, P Harte, C Gormley; C Cavanagh, S Cavanagh; Matthew Donnelly, Mark Donnelly, Joe McMahon; D McCurry, S O’Neill, M Penrose.

KILDARE (SF v Tyrone): S Connolly; D Hyland, P Kelly, H McGrillen; E Callaghan, M O’Flaherty, E Bolton; D Flynn, P O’Neill; D Flynn, N Kelly, E O’Flaherty; J Doyle, T O’Connor, P Brophy.

DERRY (SF v Cavan): E McNicholl; A McAlynn, C McKaigue, D McBride; C Kielt, M Lynch, SL McGoldrick, P Bradley, C McAtamney; B Heron, J Kielt, E Lynn; R Bell, E Bradley, E McGuckin.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: dublinplace: newbridgeplace: st conleth’s parkplace: celtic parkperson: laceyperson: mcguinnessperson: karl laceyperson: declan walshperson: neil gallagherperson: jim mcguinnessperson: karlperson: malachy o’rourkeperson: paul finlayperson: finlayperson: dermot maloneperson: thomas freemanperson: gavin dooganperson: stephen o’neillperson: connor mcaliskeyperson: o’neillperson: aidan mccroryperson: joe mcmahonperson: ciaran mcginleyperson: tomas o’connorperson: paul cribbinperson: rob hennellyperson: david clarkeperson: ken o’malleyperson: andy moranperson: enda varleyperson: cathal carolanperson: darren coenperson: chris barrettperson: donal vaughanperson: anthony fordeperson: sean quigleyperson: durcanperson: p mcgrathperson: n mcgeeperson: e mcgeeperson: a thompsonperson: k laceyperson: f mcglynnperson: r kavanaghperson: r bradleyperson: m mchughperson: l mclooneperson: david walshperson: p mcbreartyperson: m murphyperson: c mcfaddenperson: r begganperson: k duffyperson: d wylieperson: c walsheperson: v coreyperson: n mcadamperson: d moneperson: o lennonperson: d hughesperson: p finlayperson: s golloglyperson: d maloneperson: c mcguinnessperson: k hughesperson: c mcmanusperson: r hennellyperson: t cunniffeperson: g cafferkeyperson: c barrettperson: l keeganperson: k higginsperson: c boyleperson: a o’sheaperson: s o’sheaperson: k mcloughlinperson: dillonperson: r feeneyperson: moranperson: d coenperson: tyroneperson: p mcconnellperson: a mccroryperson: c clarkeperson: c mccarronperson: r mckennaperson: p harteperson: c gormleyperson: c cavanaghperson: s cavanaghperson: matthew donnellyperson: mark donnellyperson: d mccurryperson: s o’neillperson: m penroseperson: kildareperson: s connollyperson: d hylandperson: p kellyperson: h mcgrillenperson: e callaghanperson: m o’flahertyperson: e boltonperson: d flynnperson: p o’neillperson: n kellyperson: e o’flahertyperson: j doyleperson: t o’connorperson: p brophyperson: derryperson: e mcnichollperson: a mcalynnperson: c mckaigueperson: d mcbrideperson: c kieltperson: m lynchperson: sl mcgoldrickperson: p bradleyperson: c mcatamneyperson: b heronperson: j kieltperson: e lynnperson: r bellperson: e bradleyperson: e mcguckinevent: ulsterevent: 2011 all-ireland semi-event: connachtorganisation: monaghanorganisation: kildareorganisation: donegalorganisation: roscommonorganisation: louthorganisation: fermanaghorganisation: derryorganisation: sforganisation: tyroneorganisation: cavan
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up