Debuts for Rossies pair O’Malley and Daly

Darren O’Malley and Conor Daly are the two Roscommon debutants for Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final clash with Mayo at MacHale Park in Castlebar (4pm).

Debuts for Rossies pair O’Malley and Daly

O’Malley, from the Michael Glaveys club, won a Connacht U21 medal in 2010 and starts in goal after he edged out Geoffrey Claffey and Mark Miley during the league campaign, with the other two netminders leaving the squad.

Daly, of Pádraig Pearses, was on the U21 side which lost to Dublin in last year’s All-Ireland final and he is named at right half-back by manager John Evans, alongside his brother Niall.

Donal Shine, Ian Kilbride, Darragh Donnelly and Donal Keane all miss out through injury.

Cavan, who take on Fermanagh at Brewster Park (2pm), have selected the same side announced before the first-round win over Armagh last month. Centre-forward Jack Brady cried off injured shortly before that match and was replaced by Killian Brady, but Brady is fit to start.

Meanwhile, Galway hurling boss Anthony Cunningham says it is impossible to adhere to new regulations regarding the unveiling of teams on the Wednesday before a championship game.

Last week Wexford’s manager Liam Dunne was criticised for making six changes to his side from the official team named earlier that week, and Cunningham fears he could face a similar quandary this week as he has no clue about the status of a few injured players.

“The fellas making the programme usually come looking for it around Wednesday, but at this point in time I don’t know if some lads are going to be fit or not,” he said.

“This year we are determined to pick our teams based on their current form in training. Whoever is playing well in training the week of the game will start.

“We don’t train until Friday and it’s going to be touch and go for some of them. How can I pick a team before then?”

Elsewhere, ahead of their Munster SHC semi-final with Clare on Sunday week, Cork panellists Adrian Mannix, Peter O’Brien, Bill Cooper, Michael Walsh and Fintan O’Leary have all been released to play for the county intermediate side while two defenders, St Finbarr’s Eoin Keane and Midleton’s Patrick O’Mahony, have been brought into the squad as there are injury worries regarding Killian Murphy (Erins Own) and Colm Spillane (Castlelyons).

CAVAN (SF v Fermanagh): C Gilsenan (Bailieborough Shamrocks); J McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels), R Dunne (Redhills), K Clarke (Shercock); J McEnroe (Ramor United), A Clarke (Kingscourt), R Flanagan (Castlerahan); D O’Reilly (Belturbet), D Givney (Mountnugent); C Mackey (Castlerahan), J Brady (Ramor United), F Flanagan (Butlersbridge); N McDermott (Ballinagh), M Dunne (Cavan Gaels), E Keating (St Sylvester’s).

ROSCOMMON (SF v Mayo): D O’Malley (Michael Glaveys); N Collins (St Kevin’s, Castlerea), N Carty (Pádraig Pearses), S McDermott (Western Gaels); D Keenan (St Barry’s) N Daly (Pádraig Pearses), C Daly (Pádraig Pearses); K Higgins (Western Gaels), M Finneran (St Dominic’s); C Devaney (Kilbride), K Mannion (St Brigid’s), C Cregg (Western Gaels); D Smith (Boyle), S Kilbride (St Brigid’s), D O’Gara (Roscommon Gaels).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: machale parkplace: castlebarplace: fermanaghplace: brewster parkperson: rossiesperson: o’malleyperson: dalyperson: darren o’malleyperson: conor dalyperson: geoffrey claffeyperson: mark mileyperson: padraig pearsesperson: john evansperson: niallperson: donal shineperson: ian kilbrideperson: darragh donnellyperson: donal keaneperson: cavanperson: jack bradyperson: killian bradyperson: bradyperson: anthony cunninghamperson: liam dunneperson: cunninghamperson: adrian mannixperson: peter o’brienperson: bill cooperperson: michael walshperson: fintan o’learyperson: finbarrperson: eoin keaneperson: midletonperson: patrick o’mahonyperson: killian murphyperson: colm spillaneperson: c gilsenanperson: j mcloughlinperson: shannon gaelsperson: r dunneperson: k clarkeperson: j mcenroeperson: a clarkeperson: r flanaganperson: d o’reillyperson: d givneyperson: c mackeyperson: j bradyperson: f flanaganperson: n mcdermottperson: m dunneperson: e keatingperson: d o’malleyperson: michael glaveysperson: n collinsperson: n cartyperson: s mcdermottperson: d keenanperson: n dalyperson: c dalyperson: k higginsperson: m finneranperson: c devaneyperson: k mannionperson: c creggperson: d smithperson: boyleperson: s kilbrideperson: d o’garaevent: all-irelandevent: munster shc semi-finalorganisation: mayoorganisation: michael glaveysorganisation: dublinorganisation: armaghorganisation: galwayorganisation: wexfordorganisation: clareorganisation: corkorganisation: erins ownorganisation: castlelyonsorganisation: sforganisation: fermanaghorganisation: bailieborough shamrocksorganisation: redhillsorganisation: shercockorganisation: ramor unitedorganisation: kingscourtorganisation: castlerahanorganisation: mountnugentorganisation: butlersbridgeorganisation: ballinaghorganisation: cavan gaelsorganisation: st sylvester’sorganisation: roscommonorganisation: st kevin’sorganisation: western gaelsorganisation: st barry’sorganisation: st dominic’sorganisation: kilbrideorganisation: st brigid’sorganisation: roscommon gaels

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.