Cork name eight of last year’s U21 winning team

Champions Cork have named eight of the side which began last year’s Munster U21 final for tomorrow night’s quarter-final meeting with Kerry at Páirc Uí Rinn (7.30pm).

Damien Cahalane, Alan Cronin, Tom Clancy, Jamie Wall, Mark Sugrue, John O’Rourke, Luke Connolly and Brian Hurley all started against the Kingdom in Tralee, while Alan Cadogan, Dan MacEoin and Brian O’Driscoll, also on the team tomorrow, came off the bench.

The Kerry team features five of the team which started last year’s final defeat. Corner-backs Pa Kilkenny and Fearghal McNamara, midfielder James Walsh, full-forward Conor Cox and corner-forward Chris Brady all played in the extra-time defeat, while Mark Reen, Tadhg Morley and Gavin O’Grady all came on in that match.

The side, managed by Darragh Ó Sé, is light on senior experience, however. Cox, of Listowel Emmets, started the county’s opening league game against Mayo this year, while the full-back, Ballylongford’s David Culhane, played in the McGrath Cup semi-final against Limerick and the final against Tipperary.

Tipperary’s team for their quarter-final clash with Waterford at Semple Stadium (7.30pm) features nine of the side which won All-Ireland minor medals two years ago.

Goalkeeper Evan Comerford, Niall O’Sullivan, Conor O’Sullivan, Dylan Fitzell, Séamus Kennedy, Steven O’Brien, Bill Maher, Liam McGrath and Michael Quinlivan all began the minor final win over Dublin in 2011, while Kennedy, John O’Callaghan, O’Brien, McGrath and Maher all featured on the senior side which reached the McGrath Cup final this year, losing to Kerry.

Waterford attacker Paul Whyte is a key member of the county senior side, while midfielder David Hallahan and right half-forward Gavin Nugent have seen league action already this year.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up