White delivers for Clonakilty in extra-time

Clonakilty 3-13 Dohenys 2-14 (aet)

White delivers for Clonakilty in extra-time

In the time addition the same player pounced for the goal that finally decided the issue and doomed Dohenys to their third successive final loss in a championship they haven’t won since 1963.

Despite a productive Clon opening half, when Denis Murphy struck for a goal and they held a 1-8 to 0-3 lead at half time, Dohenys had caught up by the 51st minute when a Darren Sweetnam sideline cut put them ahead for the first time. And four minutes later it appeared Dohenys barren spell might be about to end.

Clon refused to give up, however, and with David O’Regan, Jack O’Mahony, Denis Murphy and man of the match James Forristal continuing to excel they deservedly forced extra time when Seán White pointed.

Dohenys battled bravely as Darren Sweetnam, Killian Crowley, the O’Connell twins and Stevie Collins led a charge that had them two points ahead five minutes into the first period of extra-time. Then came the crucial Seán White goal and this time Clon held on to their lead in a nail-biting finish.

Scorers for Clonakilty: J O’Mahony 0-5fs, D Murphy, D Fitzpatrick, S White 1-1 each, D O’Regan 0-2 (1f), S O’Connell, JP Forristal, P O’Regan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dohenys: D Sweetnam 0-6 (4fs, 1s/l), J O’Connell 0-4, S Collins, K O’Connell 1-0 each, N Collins 0-2, D Healy, K Crowley 0-1 each.

CLONAKILTY: B Daly; M Sheehy, J O’Donovan, G Lehane; B O’Sullivan, T Anglin, D O’Regan; S White, JP Forristal; D Murphy, S O’Connell, D Nagle; J Forristal, D Fitzpatrick, J O’Mahony.

Subs: T Clancy for Nagle (inj), P O’Regan for O’Connell, A Murphy for Forristal, JP Forristal for White (inj), White for D O’Regan.

DOHENYS: V Healy; K Crowley, T O’Leary, T Collins; B McCarthy, J McCarthy, D Collins; N Collins, D Sweetnam; B O’Sullivan, S Collins, M Milner; K O’Connell, D Healy, J O’Connell.

Subs: D O’Sullivan for M Milner.

Referee: M O’Mahony, Kilbrittain.

Russell fires up Shannon’s giant-killers

By Brendan McCarthy

Laune Rangers 3-13 Rathmore 2-4

Laune Rangers’ irresistible march through this year’s Kerry SFC continued apace as they secured a semi-final berth by comfortably dealing with the challenge posed by Rathmore in Fitzgerald Stadium on Saturday.

A powerful second-half performance by the Killorglin club, where they outscored their rivals 3-5 to 1-2, saw them progress.

Despite being comprehensively outplayed, two goals kept Rathmore in touch for almost 40 minutes. However, once Laune Rangers put their foot on the gas there was only ever going to be one outcome.

For Laune Rangers’ manager Joe Shannon the dream continues.

“We are the Stevenage of county championship football at this point in time. Every day is a battle and I’m sure when our name goes into the hat, like it did the last time, everybody hopes our name comes out again,” he said. “Fellows rise to that sort of thing and it has worked so far.”

The final scoreline might suggest that Shannon’s side had an easy passage but it betrays the spirited challenge Rathmore posed for two-thirds of the game.

After 40 minutes the scores were level at 2-3 to 0-9, thanks in no small part to a fine John Buckley goal for Rathmore after nine minutes and Eoin Lawlor’s 38th-minute penalty.

But from then on Laune Rangers took over and one could not but be impressed by the manner in which they dispatched Rathmore.

Once again, veteran Mike Frank Russell turned on the style, bagging 1-5 over the hour, while fellow attacker Pa Joy showed why he is a contender for player of the championship.

Joy’s industry in attack was a revelation as he scored 0-2 and had a hand in all three of Rangers’ goals.

Laune Rangers played all the football in the opening 30 minutes but only led by 0-8 to 1-2 at half time.

A second goal four minutes into the second half — a penalty converted by Lawlor after a foul on John Buckley — left Rathmore trailing 2-2 to 0-9. A point from Lawlor levelled matters in the 38th minute, however that was about as good as it got.

Laune Rangers, All-Ireland club champions in 1996, the last time the Bishop Moynihan trophy resided in Killorglin, simply moved through the gears and deservedly carved out a 12-point winning margin.

A 45-minute Kieran Doona goal exquisitely created by Pa Joy set them on the victory trail, while further goals from Russell and Jeremy O’Callaghan in the 51st and 61st minutes underlined their superiority.

For Rathmore manager Denis Desmond, defeat was a bitter pill to swallow.

“I’m very disappointed. Laune Rangers deserved it. We thought we would have put up a better performance than that,” he said.

Scorers for Laune Rangers: M F Russell 1-5 (2f, 2 45), K Doona 1-1, G O’Mahony 1-0, T McGillycuddy, S McSweeney, P Joy 0-2 each, P Crowley 0-1.

Scorers for Rathmore: E Lawlor 1-2, J Buckley 1-0, M O’Riordan 0-2 (1f).

LAUNE RANGERS: T Lyons; K Crowley, J Carey, J O’Callaghan; C Riordan, P Crowley, K Sheehan; J Sheehan, T McGillycuddy; S McSweeney, P Joy, P Sheehan; MF Russell, L Hassett, K Doona.

Subs: G O’Mahony for Hassett (44), J O’Connor for Sheehan (52), A Gamble for O’Callaghan (61), R Keane for Crowley (61).

RATHMORE: P McCarthy; J O’Sullivan, B O’Leary, C Kelly; S Reen, C O’Sullivan, P Murphy; A O’Mahony, J Buckley; D O’Sullivan, G O’Keeffe, B O’Keeffe; M O’Riordan, M Reen, E Lawlor.

Subs: T O’Sullivan for Kelly (11), P Reen for O’Riordan (53).

Referee: T McCarthy (Castleisland Desmonds).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.