Mayo get the better of Sligo in poor contest

With former senior manager Tommy Breheny in charge, significant hope was attached to this particular Sligo team, but Mayo shaded a poor Connacht MFC semi-final.

Though Mayo led 1-4 to 0-1 at the interval, they really should have been further ahead as a string of goalscoring opportunities were spurned.

When Mayo did rattle the Sligo net in the 22nd minute it was from an Adam Gallagher penalty following a foul by goalkeeper Kevin Kelly on Shane Hennelly.

Sligo, with centre-forward Criostóir Davey prominent, improved after the restart and even though Mayo only kicked two second-half points the Green and Red survived.

Scorers for Mayo: A Gallagher 1-2 (1-0 pen, 2fs), E Lavin 0-2fs, M Plunkett, S Regan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Sligo: C Davey 0-3 (2fs), C Egan, K Henry, C Henry 0-1 each.

SLIGO: K Kelly; M Gordon, B Walsh, S Barrett; C Surlis, K McDonnell, D Long; N O’Rourke, C Egan; C Breheny, C Davey, K Henry; C Kerins, C Henry, S Cawley.

Subs: B Smith for C Henry (51), J Quinn for Cawley (51), J O’Hehir for Kerins (57).

MAYO: C O’Malley; D McHale, S Moran, K Lynch; P Durcan, C Burke, M Plunkett; B Mullen, E Lavin; A Gallagher, S Coen, D O’Connor; D Duffy, S Hennelly, S Regan.

Subs: C Byrne for Duffy (50), J Quinn for Lavin (54).

Referee: P Neilan (Roscommon).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd