Barry-Murphy makes four changes for Tipperary showdown

Cork manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy has made four changes for Sunday’s Allianz Division 1 HL semi-final against Tipperary in Semple Stadium from the starting 15 that drew when the sides met at the Thurles venue recently.

Conor O’Sullivan comes into the side at left corner-back instead of the injured Brian Murphy while John Gardiner replaces Darren Sweetnam in midfield. Jamie Coughlan moves to wing-forward while Niall McCarthy makes his seasonal debut with Cathal Naughton out through injury. Luke O’Farrell also makes his first start of the league campaign in place of Conor Lehane. Daniel Kearney, who has been sidelined with a broken thumb sustained in UCC’s Fitzgibbon Cup opener in January, returns to take a place amongst the substitutes.

Cork U21 football boss John Cleary has named an unchanged side for their All-Ireland U21FC semi-final against Dublin tomorrow in Portlaoise despite having a number of injury concerns. Cleary has kept faith with the team that defeated Kerry last week in the Munster final yet it remains to be seen if injury concerns Damien Cahalane, Tomas Clancy, Jamie Wall, Ruairi Deane and Donal Óg Hodnett are fit to play.

There has been one change made amongst the substitutes with Niall Doherty coming in for Sean Kiely.

Galway manager Anthony Cunningham has altered his team for tomorrow’s NHL Division 1 relegation final replay against Dublin in Tullamore by making three changes from last weekend’s drawn game. Johnny Coen has replaced Gerard O’Halloran at left corner-back, Iarla Tannian comes in at midfield for Barry Daly while Andy Smith is drafted in at right half-forward as Conor Cooney makes way.

* Tommy McGuigan has withdrawn from the Tyrone squad. His decision comes just after his Ardboe clubmate Kyle Coney has been ruled out for the rest of the season by a groin injury.

McGuigan has been forced to opt out by an ongoing knee injury, which has flared up again despite undergoing surgery last year. The attacker had resumed training with the Red Hands, but did not feature this season.

He returned to competitive action with his club in a league match last Sunday, but once again felt the effects of the injury.

Also, Armagh’s long-serving goalkeeper Paul Hearty has announced his retirement from intercounty football.

The Crossmaglen Rangers clubman, who won a sixth AIB All-Ireland club medal recently, revealed his decision last night.

CORK (SH v Tipperary): D Óg Cusack; S O’Neill, S McDonnell, C O’Sullivan; S Óg Ó hAilpín, E Cadogan, W Egan; J Gardiner, L McLoughlin; J Coughlan, P Cronin, N McCarthy; L O’Farrell, P O’Sullivan, P Horgan. Subs: A Nash, C McCarthy, T Kenny, C Lehane, S White, R Cashman, B Corry, C Joyce, D Kearney, D Sweetnam, M Coleman.

TIPPERARY (SH v Cork): B Cummins; C O'Brien, Padraic Maher (Capt), M Cahill; T Stapleton. C O'Mahony, D Young; B Maher, J Woodlock; G Ryan, N McGrath, P Bourke; S Bourke, B O’Meara, J O’Brien.

CORK (U21F v Dublin): S Mellet (Carrigaline); D O’Donovan (Ilen Rovers), D Cahalane (Castlehaven), A Cronin (Nemo Rangers); J Cronin (Lisgoold), T Clancy (Clonakilty), J Wall (Kilbrittain); R Deane (Bantry Blues), E Healy (Aghada); K Hallissey (Éire Óg), D Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa), J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers); B Hurley (Castlehaven), L Connolly (Nemo Rangers), M Sugrue (Bandon).

Subs: A O’Donoghue (Aghada), C O’Sullivan (Clyda Rovers), M O’Shea (Glengarriff), B O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCárthaigh’s), N Doherty (Grenagh), D Nation (Nemo Rangers), A Cadogan (Douglas), D McEoin (Ilen Rovers), D Drake (Carrigaline).

GALWAY (SH v Dublin): F Flannery; K Hynes, D Collins, J Coen; N Donoghue, F Moore, T Óg Regan; D Burke, I Tannian; A Smith, N Burke, C Donnellan; D Hayes, J Canning, D Glennon.

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: TipperaryPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: ThurlesPlace: PortlaoisePlace: TullamorePerson: Barry-MurphyPerson: Jimmy Barry-MurphyPerson: Conor O’SullivanPerson: Brian MurphyPerson: John GardinerPerson: Darren SweetnamPerson: Jamie CoughlanPerson: Niall McCarthyPerson: Cathal NaughtonPerson: Luke O’FarrellPerson: Conor LehanePerson: Daniel KearneyPerson: John ClearyPerson: ClearyPerson: KerryPerson: Damien CahalanePerson: Tomás ClancyPerson: Jamie WallPerson: Ruairi DeanePerson: Donal Og HodnettPerson: Niall DohertyPerson: Seán KielyPerson: Anthony CunninghamPerson: Johnny CoenPerson: Gerard O’HalloranPerson: Iarla TannianPerson: Barry DalyPerson: Andy SmithPerson: Conor CooneyPerson: Tommy McGuiganPerson: Kyle ConeyPerson: McGuiganPerson: Paul HeartyPerson: D Og CusackPerson: S O’NeillPerson: S McDonnellPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: S Og O hAilpinPerson: E CadoganPerson: W EganPerson: J GardinerPerson: L McLoughlinPerson: J CoughlanPerson: P CroninPerson: N McCarthyPerson: L O’FarrellPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: P HorganPerson: A NashPerson: C McCarthyPerson: T KennyPerson: C LehanePerson: S WhitePerson: R CashmanPerson: B CorryPerson: C JoycePerson: D KearneyPerson: D SweetnamPerson: M ColemanPerson: TipperaryPerson: BPerson: CumminsPerson: C O'BrienPerson: Pádraic MaherPerson: M CahillPerson: T StapletonPerson: C O'MahonyPerson: D YoungPerson: B MaherPerson: J WoodlockPerson: G RyanPerson: N McGrathPerson: P BourkePerson: S BourkePerson: B O’MearaPerson: J O’BrienPerson: S MelletPerson: D O’DonovanPerson: D CahalanePerson: A CroninPerson: J CroninPerson: T ClancyPerson: J WallPerson: R DeanePerson: E HealyPerson: K HallisseyPerson: ÓgPerson: D Óg HodnettPerson: O’DonovanPerson: J O’RourkePerson: B HurleyPerson: L ConnollyPerson: M SugruePerson: A O’DonoghuePerson: M O’SheaPerson: B O’DriscollPerson: N DohertyPerson: D NationPerson: A CadoganPerson: D McEoinPerson: D DrakePerson: F FlanneryPerson: K HynesPerson: D CollinsPerson: J CoenPerson: N DonoghuePerson: F MoorePerson: T Og ReganPerson: D BurkePerson: I TannianPerson: A SmithPerson: N BurkePerson: C DonnellanPerson: D HayesPerson: J CanningPerson: D GlennonEvent: Division 1 HLEvent: Fitzgibbon CupEvent: All-Ireland U21FC semiEvent: Munster finalEvent: NHL Division 1Organisation: CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Cork U21Organisation: DublinOrganisation: Red HandsOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: Crossmaglen RangersOrganisation: SHOrganisation: U21FOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: LisgooldOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: KilbrittainOrganisation: Bantry BluesOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: Clyda RoversOrganisation: GlengarriffOrganisation: Tadgh MacCarthaigh’sOrganisation: Grenagh
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd