Tipp make four changes for Cork clash

The Tipperary senior hurling team to play Cork in the Allianz NHL Division 1A clash at Semple Stadium on Sunday shows four changes from the team which started in last weekend’s drawn game with Dublin.

Brendan Cummins, Paul Curran, Conor O’Mahony and John O’Brien are all recalled to the starting line-up in place of Darren Gleeson, Conor O’Brien, John Coghlan and John O’Neill.

The Premier county still have an outside chance of topping the league if they defeat Cork who currently occupy top spot, and Galway get the better of Kilkenny at Nowlan Park.

Following their defeat of the All Ireland champions last weekend, the Cork senior hurling selectors have opted to stick with a winning formula and have named the same team for the trip to Semple Stadium.

Manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy continues with the Darren Sweetnam-Lorcan McLoughlin partnership in midfield, while Jamie Coughlan gets a further chance to stake his claim for a championship start as he retains his berth at right corner forward.

Dohenys' player Sweetnam and Kilbrin's William Egan were on opposing teams last night in the UCC/Carbery clash in the Cork SHC and both came through the game unscathed.

Also, the news of Midleton's Luke O'Farrell and Sarsfields' Cian McCarthy returning to the squad following injury will come as welcome news to the management and they both start on the bench.

Galway have been forced to give Jamie Ryan the daunting task of replacing James Skehill in goal for their Allianz League Division 1A trip to Nowlan Park on Sunday to face Kilkenny.

Skehill suffered a dislocated shoulder in their defeat to Waterford last weekend at Pearse Stadium while in defence, veteran Tony Óg Regan comes in for Niall Donohue at right-wing back. In the other personnel changes, Brian Flaherty comes in for Conor Cooney after impressing off the bench in that win over Waterford and he partners Davy Burke who hit three points last time out.

Manager Anthony Cunningham also recalls Ardrahan’s Iarlaith Tannian at full-forward, with Barry Daly and Damien Hayes in the corners. Wing forward Joe Cooney is the other change, and he replaces Cyril Donnellan in the half-forward line.

Elsewhere, the Wexford team to play Laois in Bellefield (2.30pm) this Sunday sees a significant number of changes from the team beaten by Clare at Cusack Park last weekend. Éanna Martin comes back into goal, Willie Devereux makes his debut at right corner back while Paul Roche returns at full-back for the first time this year.

TIPPERARY (v Cork): B Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange); D Maher (Burgess), P Curran (Mullinahone) Capt, M Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields); T Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons), C O’Mahony (Newport), P Maher (Thurles Sarsfields); B Maher (Borris–Ileigh), J Woodlock (Drom and Inch); G Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), N McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), P Bourke (Thurles Sarsfields); S Bourke (JK Brackens), B O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs), J O’Brien (Toomevara).

CORK [SH v Tipperary]: D Óg Cusack; S O'Neill, S McDonnell, B Murphy; S Óg Ó hAilpín, E Cadogan, W Egan; L McLoughlin, D Sweetnam; C Lehane, P Cronin, C Naughton; J Coughlan, P O'Sullivan, P Horgan.

GALWAY [SH v Kilkenny]: J Ryan; D Connolly, D Collins, G O'Halloran; T Óg Regan, F Moore, J Coen; D Burke, B Flaherty; J Cooney, N Burke, A Smyth; D Hayes, I Tannian, B Daly.

OFFALY [SH v Clare]: J Dempsey; C Mc Donald, D Kenny, D Franks; B Harding, D Morkan, J Rigney; D Horan, B Murphy; J Bergin, C Mahon, D Mooney; S Dooley, G Healion, S Ryan.

WEXFORD [SH v Laois]: E Martin; W Devereux, P Roche, E Moore; R Kehoe, D Stamp, C Kenny; M O’Hanlon, E Quigley; H Kehoe, J Leacy, D Lyng; P Morris, J Guiney, R Jacob.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: Nowlan ParkPlace: Pearse StadiumPlace: BellefieldPlace: Cusack ParkPerson: Brendan CumminsPerson: Paul CurranPerson: Conor O’MahonyPerson: John O’BrienPerson: Darren GleesonPerson: Conor O’BrienPerson: John CoghlanPerson: John O’NeillPerson: Jimmy Barry-MurphyPerson: Darren SweetnamPerson: Lorcan McLoughlinPerson: Jamie CoughlanPerson: Dohenys'Person: SweetnamPerson: William EganPerson: Luke O'FarrellPerson: Cian McCarthyPerson: Jamie RyanPerson: James SkehillPerson: SkehillPerson: Tony Og ReganPerson: Niall DonohuePerson: Brian FlahertyPerson: Conor CooneyPerson: Davy BurkePerson: Anthony CunninghamPerson: ArdrahanPerson: Iarlaith TannianPerson: Barry DalyPerson: Damien HayesPerson: Joe CooneyPerson: Cyril DonnellanPerson: Éanna MartinPerson: Willie DevereuxPerson: Paul RochePerson: CumminsPerson: MaherPerson: MullinahonePerson: M CahillPerson: StapletonPerson: KenyonsPerson: C O’MahonyPerson: P MaherPerson: Thurles SarsfieldsPerson: B MaherPerson: Borris–IleighPerson: J WoodlockPerson: Drom and InchPerson: G RyanPerson: Templederry KenyonsPerson: N McGrathPerson: Loughmore CastleineyPerson: P BourkePerson: S BourkePerson: JK BrackensPerson: B O’MearaPerson: Kilruane MacDonaghsPerson: J O’BrienPerson: ToomevaraPerson: CorkPerson: D Og CusackPerson: S O'NeillPerson: S McDonnellPerson: B MurphyPerson: S Og O hAilpinPerson: E CadoganPerson: W EganPerson: L McLoughlinPerson: D SweetnamPerson: C LehanePerson: P CroninPerson: C NaughtonPerson: J CoughlanPerson: P O'SullivanPerson: P HorganPerson: J RyanPerson: D ConnollyPerson: D CollinsPerson: G O'HalloranPerson: T Og ReganPerson: F MoorePerson: J CoenPerson: D BurkePerson: B FlahertyPerson: J CooneyPerson: N BurkePerson: A SmythPerson: D HayesPerson: I TannianPerson: B DalyPerson: J DempseyPerson: C Mc DonaldPerson: D KennyPerson: D FranksPerson: B HardingPerson: D MorkanPerson: J RigneyPerson: D HoranPerson: J BerginPerson: C MahonPerson: D MooneyPerson: S DooleyPerson: G HealionPerson: S RyanPerson: E MartinPerson: W DevereuxPerson: P RochePerson: E MoorePerson: R KehoePerson: D StampPerson: C KennyPerson: M O’HanlonPerson: E QuigleyPerson: H KehoePerson: J LeacyPerson: D LyngPerson: P MorrisPerson: J GuineyPerson: R JacobOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: All IrelandOrganisation: Sarsfields'Organisation: Allianz LeagueOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: Ballybacon-GrangeOrganisation: Thurles SarsfieldsOrganisation: Newport
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.