Ryan tickled pink as Tipperary outscore Munster selection

A second string Tipperary side eased to victory against a strong Munster selection in a charity game at Nenagh on Saturday which raised over €7,000 for Breast Cancer Ireland.

The game was hugely beneficial for Tipp boss Declan Ryan, who got to see 32 of his players in action with 10 Premier Co players featuring for the provincial side, managed by former All-Ireland winning boss Liam Sheedy.

Munster, in preparation for the Inter-provincial semi-final against Leinster next month, began the brighter and led 1-6 to 0-3 after 17 minutes, the goal coming from Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher. Tipp responded with five unanswered points to cut the margin to one at half time. The momentum remained with Tipperary on the restart with John O’Brien and Timmy Hammersley impressing. The winner’s goal came in the 47th minute from John O’Neill.

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; C O’Brien, TStapleton, G Walsh; J Coghlan, S Maher, S Lillis; D Young (0-2), J Ryan (0-1); P Kerwick (0-1), P Murphy, D Collins; J O’Brien (0-4), B O’Meara (0-2), T Hammersley (0-9, 3f).

Subs: P Stapleton for Lillis (ht); J Logue for Gleeson; A Ryan for Kerwick; P Bourke for Collins (all 42); J O’Neill (1-0) for O’Meara (44); J O’Keeffe for Maher (47); J Woodlock for Young (56).

MUNSTER: D Óg Cusack (Cork); T Murnane (Kerry), P Curran (Tipperary), M Cahill (Tipperary); J Gardiner (Cork 0-1), C O’Mahony (Tipperary), Padraic Maher (Tipperary); S McGrath (Tipperary), K Moran (Waterford); P Cronin (Cork 0-2), M Walsh (Waterford), Patrick Maher (Tipperary 1-1); P Horgan (Cork 0-2), E Kelly (Tipperary 0-3, 1f), S Nolan (Kerry 0-1).

Subs: L Lawlor (Waterford) for Murnane; P Donnellan (Clare 0-1) for O’Mahony; B Maher (Tipperary) for McGrath; G Ryan (Tipperary 0-1) for Cronin; D Hannon (Limerick 0-1) for Walsh; D O’Grady (Limerick) for Moran (all ht); N Quaid (Limerick) for Cusack; C Dillon (Clare) for Gardiner (44).

Referee: B Gavin (Offaly).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up