Depleted DCU still too strong for Wicklow

DCU took the first step in defence of their O’Byrne Cup title at Baltinglass yesterday.

And it was Dean Rock, a son of former Dublin great Barney, who had the students rolling as he banged over the crucial points.

The Dublin College will be delighted with the win having eight players injured and another two, Anthony McFadden and Jonathan Cooper, receiving their marching orders. But still the students refused to wilt with Wicklow succeeding in taking the lead only once for a brief period before half time.

Scorers for DCU: D Rock (0-9, six fees), J Cooper (0-3), J Brady (0-3), D Kelly, G Sweeney, E O’Gara (all one point).

Scorers for Wicklow: J Kelly (1-2, 1f) T Hannon (0-2), S Furlong (0-5, three frees), A Merriman (0-1), N. Mernagh (0-2), A. O’Malley (0-1), B Cullen (0-1).

DCU: R. Hennelly (Mayo), L. Bree (Sligo), P. McMahon (Dublin), E. Culligan (Dublin), C. Begley (Laois), J. McCarthy (Dublin), J. Cooper (Dublin), F. O’Shea (Cork) , M. McElhinney (Donegal), G. Sweeney (Dublin), D. Rock (Dublin), A. MacFadden (Donegal), J. Brady (Cavan), E. O’Gara (Dublin), D. Kelly (Sligo).

Subs: M. Boyle (Donegal) for R. Hennelly, N. Collins (Roscommon) for P. McMahon, J. McEnaney (Louth) for F. O’Shea.

WICKLOW: J. Flynn, A. Byrne, J. Bolger, C. Rossiter, P. Byrne, R. Finn, N. Gaffney, J. Stafford, A. Merriman, N. Mernagh, A. O’Malley, D. O’Sullivan, J. Kelly, S. Furlong, T. Hannon.

Subs: D. Healy for P. Byrne, P. Burke for D. O’Sullivan, B. Cullen for A. Byrne, H. Mangan for T. Hannon, P. Cronin for J. Kelly.

Referee: F. Barry, Kildare.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.203 s