Cullen’s late heroics edge St Mary’s on the Hill past battling Greenmount

St Mary’s on the Hill 1-3 Greenmount 1-1

A PAIR of late Maggie Cullen points were crucial as St Mary’s on the Hill claimed the GF6 Urban title. With the sides locked at 1-3 apiece in the first half, the Knocknaheeny school seized the initiative after half-time, Caitlin O’Sullivan going close to getting a second goal.

They maintained the pressure, though, and a long free by Cullen put them in front before the same player struck again with four minutes left, Greenmount unable to find a game-winning goal.

In the first half, Katelyn Blake gave St Mary’s the lead with a sixth-minute goal but that was cancelled out by a thunderous drive from Nicole Timmins. After O’Sullivan and Blake had been unlucky with goal efforts, Hayley Cullen pointed to put St Mary’s in front but Timmins set up an interesting second half with the leveller.

Scorers for St Mary’s on the Hill: K Blake 1-0, M Cullen 0-2 (0-1f), H Cullen 0-1.

Scorers for Greenmount: N Timmins 1-1.

ST MARY’S ON THE HILL: M O’Driscoll; J Sheehan, C Walsh Moore; C Madden, A O’Brien; M Cullen, P Power; C O’Sullivan, H Cullen; K Blake, L O’Mahoney.

GREENMOUNT: R Cotter; N Long, K Morrissey; N Buckley, M Lehane; V O’Donovan, N Timmins; A Winning, A Hegarty; G Aherne, J O’Flynn.

Referee: J O’Leary.

Scoil Barra, Monkstown 2-3Scartleight 1-2

A GOOD recovery enabled Scoil Barra, Monkstown take the honours in the DF5 decider. Trailing 1-1 to 0-0 early on, a goal from Will Fielding had them to within a point at half-time before they restricted their Scartleigh opponents to just a point in the second half with some good attacking play.

An early point from Niall Hill, followed by Sean Morrissey’s 11th-minute goal, had Scartleigh in a good position, but Fielding’s goal, after good work from Ryan Hunter, made it 1-1 to 1-0 just before the break.

Hunter then levelled 30 seconds into the second half and while Kyle O’Shea restored Scartleigh’s lead, David Harrington again levelled.

Adam Hallissey, with a good individual effort, gave Monkstown the lead for the first time before Mark McCarthy wrapped things up, converting the rebound after Drew Jacobs hit the post.

Scorers for Scoil Barra, Monkstown: W Fielding, M McCarth 1-0 each, D Harrington, A Hallissey, R Hunter 0-1 each.

Scartleigh: S Morrissey 1-0, N Hill (0-1 25), K O’Shea 0-1 each.

SCOIL BARRA, MONKSTOWN: J Murphy; S Coleman, L Humphreys; M McCarthy, D Harrington; J Clarke, D Hyland; A Hallissey, R Hunter; J Lester, W Fielding. Sub D Jacobs.

SCARTLEIGH: J Maguire; D Murphy, K O’Reilly; C Galligan, K O’Shea; M Leahy, N Hill; C Moloney, V Rohan, S Morrissey, C Bawden. Sub: D O’Sullivan.

Referee: J O’Leary.

Summercove 7-8 Enniskeane 0-1

SADHBH O’LEARY and Georgia Gould were the heroines for Summercove as they outclassed Enniskeane to take the DGF3 title. The midfield pair combined for all but two of their side’s total, O’Leary getting five goals of the highest quality, Gould grabbing 2-6.

From the moment O’Leary goaled a first-minute free, Summercove were on top, their strong running too much for Enniskeane, and by half-time it was 4-7 to 0-0, Enniskeane goalkeeper Alison O’Driscoll a big factor in it not being more.

Gould’s second goal just after half-time, quickly followed by O’Leary’s fourth and fifth, and a point from Faye Ahern, put Summercove well clear, though, after that, Enniskeane created chances, Niamh Aherne getting a late point.

Scorers for Summercove: S O’Leary 5-0 (1-0f), G Gould 2-6 (0-1f), J McCarthy, F Ahern 0-1 each.

Scorer for Enniskeane: N Aherne 0-1.

SUMMERCOVE: A Power; J Murphy, J Connell; M Graef, N Cronin; G Gould, S O’Leary; F Ahern, S Griffin; J McCarthy, S Finn. Subs: D Wall, R Daly, S O’Brien, E Clayton.

ENNISKEANE: A O’Driscoll; R O’Neill, M Comey; L Whelan, N Collins; B Hannigan, J O’Brien; N Aherne, N O’Driscoll; A Crowley, S Hurley. Subs: A O’Mahony, G Murray.

Referee: J Hurley.

Dripsey 4-3 Bishop Ahern NS Leamlara 2-2

DRIPSEY pulled away in the closing stages to take the F9 section.

With the sides level at 1-2 each with nine minutes left, Dripsey found another gear, inspired by excellent captain Daniel Galvin, who scored a hat-trick.

After Brendan O’Connell had put them 1-3 to 1-2 ahead, Galvin scored two excellent goals in the space of a minute before Shane Godsil added another, meaning that Jason Collins’ late goal for Leamlara was a consolation.

Prior to that, they had battled hard, with Liam O’Shea in top form. His points had got them back in contention in the first half after Galvin’s early goal, and with the half-time score 1-1 to 0-2, he answered O’Connell’s point early in the second half with a goal to level. It was not to be, however, as Dripsey had a deserved win.

Scorers for Dripsey: D Galvin 3-0, S Godsil 1-0, B O’Connell 0-2, E Maher 0-1.

Scorers for Bishop Ahern NS, Leamlara: L O’Shea 1-2 (1-1f), J Collins 1-0.

DRIPSEY: A O’Riordan; P Wesolowski, S O’Riordan, S Godsil; D Galvin, B O’Connell; M O’Connell, E Maher, F Horgan. Subs: L Barrett, J Riordan, J Griffin.

BISHOP AHERN NS, LEAMLARA: E Manning; S Whelan, J Collins, J Hegarty; A Savage, L O’Shea; T Howard, N Power, A Browne. Subs: S Walsh, S Murphy.

Referee: J Hurley.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: MonkstownPerson: CullenPerson: Maggie CullenPerson: Caitlin O’SullivanPerson: Katelyn BlakePerson: Nicole TimminsPerson: O’SullivanPerson: BlakePerson: Hayley CullenPerson: TimminsPerson: K BlakePerson: M CullenPerson: H CullenPerson: NPerson: M O’DriscollPerson: J SheehanPerson: C Walsh MoorePerson: C MaddenPerson: A O’BrienPerson: P PowerPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: L O’MahoneyPerson: R CotterPerson: N LongPerson: K MorrisseyPerson: N BuckleyPerson: M LehanePerson: V O’DonovanPerson: N TimminsPerson: A WinningPerson: A HegartyPerson: G AhernePerson: J O’FlynnPerson: J O’LearyPerson: Scoil BarraPerson: Will FieldingPerson: Niall HillPerson: Sean MorrisseyPerson: ScartleighPerson: FieldingPerson: Ryan HunterPerson: HunterPerson: Kyle O’SheaPerson: David HarringtonPerson: Adam HallisseyPerson: Mark McCarthyPerson: Drew JacobsPerson: BarraPerson: W FieldingPerson: M McCarthPerson: D HarringtonPerson: A HallisseyPerson: R HunterPerson: S MorrisseyPerson: N HillPerson: K O’SheaPerson: J MurphyPerson: S ColemanPerson: L HumphreysPerson: M McCarthyPerson: J ClarkePerson: D HylandPerson: J LesterPerson: D JacobsPerson: J MaguirePerson: D MurphyPerson: K O’ReillyPerson: C GalliganPerson: M LeahyPerson: C MoloneyPerson: V RohanPerson: C BawdenPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: SummercovePerson: EnniskeanePerson: Georgia GouldPerson: O’LearyPerson: GouldPerson: Alison O’DriscollPerson: Faye AhernPerson: Niamh AhernePerson: G GouldPerson: J McCarthyPerson: F AhernPerson: N AhernePerson: J ConnellPerson: M GraefPerson: N CroninPerson: S O’LearyPerson: S GriffinPerson: S FinnPerson: D WallPerson: R DalyPerson: S O’BrienPerson: E ClaytonPerson: A O’DriscollPerson: R O’NeillPerson: M ComeyPerson: L WhelanPerson: N CollinsPerson: B HanniganPerson: J O’BrienPerson: N O’DriscollPerson: A CrowleyPerson: S HurleyPerson: A O’MahonyPerson: G MurrayPerson: J HurleyPerson: DripseyPerson: Bishop AhernPerson: Daniel GalvinPerson: Brendan O’ConnellPerson: GalvinPerson: Shane GodsilPerson: Jason Collins’Person: LeamlaraPerson: Liam O’SheaOrganisation: St Mary’sOrganisation: GreenmountOrganisation: KnocknaheenyOrganisation: Scartleigh
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd