Kildare made to sweat before seeing off Lancashire

KILDARE juniors set up an All-Ireland final against Cork but needed a workmanlike performance to see off a gritty Lancashire in Newbridge.

They could never afford to relax and an injury-time penalty from Michael Molloy left just three points between them before Emmet Hyland sent over a fine point at the other end with the last act.

Lancashire began with serious intent and giant full-forward Liam Coyne diverted John O’Neill’s aerial delivery to the net in the fourth minute to give his team a four-point advantage. He continued to cause problems for the Kildare defence but with Eoghan Carew and Paddy Dunne gradually exerting dominance around midfield, the supply began to dry up.

Darroch Mulhall was looking very lively at the other end and contributed four points, although he also wasted a gilt-edged goal opportunity.

Lancashire would not go away and thanks to points from Ciarán Shields, Molloy, Stephen Sands and Coyne, they were level before Carew landed a ‘45 to give the hosts a narrow 0-9 to 1-5 interval advantage.

Ciarán Kelly, Tommy Moolick and Mulhall helped stretch that lead after the resumption, with Carew at midfield and John Browne at half-back driving the Lilywhites forward.

Molloy’s point was their only score of the latter period before the John Mitchell’s clubman expertly sent Robbie Eyres the wrong way from the penalty spot.

It wasn’t enough to deny Kildare but it was more than sufficient for the Exiles to make the return trip across the Irish Sea with their heads held high.

Scorers for Kildare: D Mulhall 0-5 (3fs), E Carew (0-1 ‘45, 0-1f), T Moolick, C Kelly 0-2 each, P Dunne, P Meagher, T Archbold, C Murphy (f), E Hyland 0-1 each.

Scorers for Lanchashire: M Molloy 1-3 (1-0p, 2fs), L Coyne 1-1, S Sands (f), C Shields 0-1 each.

KILDARE: R Eyres; D McEvoy, C Fitzpatrick, R Walsh; M Kelly, J Doyle, J Browne; P Dunne, E Carew; J Lambe, T Moolick, C Kelly; D Mulhall, P Meagher, J Gately.

Subs: T Archbold for Lambe (26), R O’Donoghue for Kane (45), C Murphy for Mulhalll (49), D Campbell for Meagher (57), E Hyland for Carew (59).

LANCHASHIRE: J Sheehan; D Fitzpatrick, J Gibney, M Carey; A Kane, D Glennon, S Gallagher; R Gallagher, P Mulligan; M Molloy, S Sands, R Coss; C Shields, L Coyne, J O’Neill.

Subs: J O’Hagan for Fitzpatrick (34), S Goldrick for Sands (44), R O’Donoghue for Kane (45), D Molloy for Coss (53).

Referee: S Carroll (Westmeath).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.217 s