Murphy at full-forward for Cork

NICHOLAS MURPHY, Tomás Ó Sé and Paul Galvin are all set to start from the off in Sunday’s All-Ireland SFC quarter-final double-header in Croke Park after both Conor Counihan and Jack O’Connor named the experienced figures in their respective Cork and Kerry line-ups last night.

The serious strain that has been put on Cork’s attacking resources by a succession of recent injuries has been reflected in the selection of Murphy at full-forward. A recognised midfielder over the last decade, Murphy has endured his own injury travails in recent seasons and has not started a championship game for Cork since the 2009 All-Ireland final defeat to Kerry. His injury struggles have persisted and fitness problems may yet cause the Cork management to reconsider his selection before throw-in against Mayo on Sunday. In that eventuality, Fiachra Lynch would be in pole position for inclusion from the off.

Murphy has been named instead of the injured Daniel Goulding in the sole alteration from last weekend’s qualifier victory over Down with Donncha O’Connor switched over to corner-forward. Apart from that Conor Counihan has stuck with the side that romped to success over the Mourne men with 10 of the team that faced Mayo in the 2010 National League final included for this rematch.

Kerry boss Jack O’Connor has opted to bring back Tomás Ó Sé and Paul Galvin into his starting 15 for Sunday’s curtain-raiser against Limerick in Croke Park. The duo, who both missed this stage of the championship last year due to suspension, are selected at right half-back and right half-forward respectively with Shane Enright and Kieran O’Leary the two players to make way from the Munster final win over Cork. Galvin will start a championship game for Kerry for the first time since last year’s Munster quarter-final against Tipperary. Ó Sé has missed Kerry’s provincial victories over Limerick and Cork since being sent off against Tipperary in Killarney in May. Opponents Limerick will name their side this evening.

Both Kildare and Donegal are set to announce their teams tonight for tomorrow’s All-Ireland quarter-final battle in Croke Park. Lilywhites have manager Kieran McGeeney stressed this week that he picks “horses for courses” and has shown all summer that he’s not afraid to make changes.

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has named an unchanged team for tomorrow’s All-Ireland SFC round four qualifier clash with Roscommon at Croke Park. Attacker Stephen O’Neill misses out again due to injury and midfielder Aidan Cassidy is sidelined by a hamstring problem. Roscommon name their side today.

CORK (SF v Mayo): A Quirke: E Cotter, M Shields, E Cadogan; N O’Leary, J Miskella, P Kissane; A O’Connor, A Walsh; F Goold, P Kelly, P O’Neill; D O’Connor, N Murphy, P Kerrigan.

KERRY (SF v Cork): B Kealy; K Young, M Ó Sé, T O’Sullivan; T Ó Sé, E Brosnan, A O’Mahony; A Maher, B Sheehan; P Galvin, Declan O’Sullivan, D Walsh; C Cooper, K Donaghy, Darran O’Sullivan.

Subs: T Mac an tSaoir, S Enright, K O’Leary, D Bohane, M Quirke, BJ Keane, B Maguire, S Scanlon, P Reidy, N O’Mahony, J O’Donoghue.

TYRONE (SF v Roscommon): P McConnell; M Swift, Joe McMahon, R McMenamin; Sean O’Neill, C Gormley, P Jordan; K Hughes, S Cavanagh; C Cavanagh, B McGuigan, P Harte; T McGuigan, M Donnelly, K Coney.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: croke parkplace: killarneyperson: murphyperson: nicholas murphyperson: tomás ó séperson: paul galvinperson: conor counihanperson: jack o’connorperson: fiachra lynchperson: daniel gouldingperson: donncha o’connorperson: counihanperson: shane enrightperson: kieran o’learyperson: galvinperson: ó séperson: lilywhitesperson: kieran mcgeeneyperson: mickey harteperson: stephen o’neillperson: aidan cassidyperson: corkperson: a quirkeperson: e cotterperson: m shieldsperson: e cadoganperson: n o’learyperson: j miskellaperson: p kissaneperson: a o’connorperson: a walshperson: f gooldperson: p kellyperson: p o’neillperson: d o’connorperson: n murphyperson: p kerriganperson: kerryperson: b kealyperson: k youngperson: m ó séperson: t o’sullivanperson: t ó séperson: e brosnanperson: a o’mahonyperson: a maherperson: b sheehanperson: p galvinperson: declan o’sullivanperson: d walshperson: c cooperperson: k donaghyperson: darran o’sullivanperson: t mac an tsaoirperson: s enrightperson: k o’learyperson: d bohaneperson: m quirkeperson: bj keaneperson: b maguireperson: s scanlonperson: p reidyperson: n o’mahonyperson: j o’donoghueperson: tyroneperson: m swiftperson: joe mcmahonperson: r mcmenaminperson: seán o’neillperson: c gormleyperson: p jordanperson: k hughesperson: s cavanaghperson: c cavanaghperson: b mcguiganperson: p harteperson: t mcguiganperson: m donnellyperson: k coneyevent: all-ireland sfc quarterevent: 2009 all-ireland finalevent: 2010 national league finalevent: munsterevent: all-ireland quarterevent: all-ireland sfcorganisation: corkorganisation: kerryorganisation: mayoorganisation: downorganisation: limerickorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: kildareorganisation: donegalorganisation: tyroneorganisation: roscommonorganisation: sf

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.