Callanan and McGrath shine

TIPPERARY held off a second-half comeback from Dublin to emerge victorious in a high scoring senior hurling challenge at Geraldine Park, Athy, Co Kildare last night to commemorate the replayed All-Ireland final played between the counties at this venue in 1909.

Seamus Callanan and Noel McGrath did most of the damage in the first-half for the All-Ireland champions, shooting nine points between them as they revelled in the space afforded them by Dublin’s half-back line. Shane Bourke was also a lively presence in the right corner and his eighth minute goal sent Declan Ryan’s men on their way to a 1-14 to 0-9 advantage.

Dublin offered little threat in that opening period, even allowing for the fact that they were playing into a strong wind, with Paul Ryan, who finished with 0-10 to his credit at the end, the primary source of hope.

Anthony Daly made significantly more changes than his opposite number throughout the second-half and certainly Dublin were much more competitive after the resumption. Peter Kelly and the excellent Shane Durkin rifled over some good scores but Callanan’s 44th minute goal put Tipp back on the front foot.

Ryan kept chipping away with his accurate free-taking and Darren Gleeson was forced into two top-class saves as Dublin came forward in waves. When Durkin slotted the third of his four points, the margin was down to one with 15 minutes still remaining. Pat Kerwick struck for a crucial goal though within seconds of his introduction and with John O’Brien notching up a couple of points, Tipperary were just able to keep the league winners at bay in what was a worthwhile workout with both sides two weeks away from their championship openers.

Scorers for Tipperary: S Callanan 1-4, N McGrath 0-6 (2 65s, 1f), S Bourke 1-1, J O’Brien, B Dunne 0-3 each, P Kerwick 1-0, C O’Mahony 0-2f, J Woodlock 0-1.

Scorers for Dublin: P Ryan 0-10 (8fs), S Durkin 0-4, D O’Callaghan, C McCormack, M O’Brien 0-2, D Treacy, P Kelly, C Keaney, R O’Dwyer C McBride, D Plunkett 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; J Coughlan, P Curran, M Cahill; D Young, C O’Mahony, S Lillis; S McGrath, J Woodlock; N McGrath, S Callanan, B Dunne; S Bourke, J O’Brien, L Corbett.

Sub: P Maher for Coughlan (56), P Kerwick for Callanan (56).

DUBLIN: G Maguire; P Kelly, N Corcoran, R Walsh; J McCaffrey, R O’Dwyer, S Durkin; M O’Brien, A McCrabbe; D O’Dwyer, C McCormack, C Keaney; D O’Callaghan, D Treacy, P Ryan.

Subs: A Nolan for Maguire (ht), P Schutte for Walsh (ht), M Quilty for McCrabbe (ht), S Ryan for D O’Dwyer (45), D Quirke for O’Brien (47), P Carton for Treacy (48), C McBride for O’Callaghan (60), J Sheanon for McCaffrey (60), D Plunkett for McCormack (65).

Referee: B Gavin (Offaly).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.199 s