Wexford call up Sinnott as Tipp ring changes

THE final round of games in the two top divisions of the Allianz Hurling League this weekend and plenty still to play for.

The top five teams in division 1 are all vying for a place in the league final, while Offaly and Wexford are both in the relegation zone.

Meanwhile, in Division 2, Limerick have already secured their place in the final but with a visit to the Glens of Antrim this weekend, they have a say in who their potential opponents might be, the home team still in with a chance of finishing second.

Clare, meanwhile, host Carlow in Ennis, their fate very much in their own hands – a win and they make the final, a loss and Carlow join them on eight points. Could end as a four-way tie here, Laois and Antrim also likely to finish on that total, but Clare currently enjoy the best scoring difference, the tie-breaker.

So much on the line then, and you would expect that most managers would go for their strongest possible line-ups.

Wexford make just one change from the team that surprised Cork in the last round for the game with Tipperary at Semple Stadium, injury victim Willie Doran replaced by big Gary Sinnott, who comes in at full-forward, with Harry Kehoe shifted to the 40.

Tipperary make a raft of changes from the team that mauled Galway in Salthill two weeks ago, which suggests they are experimenting heavily – then you look through those changes. Brendan Cummins, Eddie Connolly, Paddy Stapleton, Conor O’Mahony, James Woodlock, Noel McGrath, Sean Carey and Michael Heffernan come in for Darren Gleeson, Michael Cahill, Padraic Maher, John O’Keeffe, Gearoid Ryan, Patrick Maher, Shane Bourke and Lar Corbett.

Some big guns gone, but some big guns coming in, centre-back Conor O’Mahony back in harness and given the captaincy, James Woodlock renewing an old partnership with Shane McGrath in midfield.

Going to be tough going for Wexford, who need a result to give themselves any chance.

Offaly, meanwhile, head to Kilkenny, knowing that if Wexford were to pull off another shock, then they need at least a similar result here.

They make only a couple of changes from the side that ran Waterford so close last time out, Stephen Wynne replacing Dylan Hayden in midfield, Cathal Parlon replacing Ger Healion, with Brian Carroll going to the wing, so they’re going gung-ho for this one.

Limerick make five changes from the team that started in the win over Kerry, with Stephen Lucey, Damien Reale, Declan Hannon and Graeme Mulcahy coming in for David Moloney, Gavin O’Mahony, Niall Moran and Pat Tobin, though Moloney, Moran and Tobin all make the bench.

WEXFORD (SH v Tipperary): N Breen; P Roche, M O’Hanlon, K Rossiter; L Prendergast, D Stamp (C), C Kenny; D Redmond, E Quigley; PJ Nolan, H Kehoe, S Banville; R Jacob, G Sinnott, J Berry.

TIPPERARY (SH v Wexford): B Cummins; E Connolly, P Curran, P Stapleton; D Young, C O’Mahony (c), J Coghlan; J Woodlock, S McGrath; B Dunne, N McGrath, S Carey; M Heffernan, P Bourke, J O’Brien.

OFFALY (SH v Kilkenny): J Dempsey; D Franks, D Kenny, S Egan; M Verney, R Hanniffy, D Morkan; C Mahon, S Wynne; B Carroll, C Egan, D Molloy; C Parlon, J Bergin, S Dooley (c).

LIMERICK (SH v Antrim): N Quaid; T Condon, S Lucey, D Reale; D Breen, S Hickey, W McNamara; D O’Grady, P Browne; D Hannon, R McCarthy, J Ryan; S Tobin, K Downes, G Mulcahy.

MAYO (SH Division 3B final v Roscommon): D O’Brien; S Connell, D McConn (c), G Henry; B Higgins, S Morley, M Morley; K Feeney, K Higgins; N Murphy, D McDonnell, E Madigan; R Cullinane, S Broderick, D McTighe.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: Glens of AntrimPlace: EnnisPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: SalthillPerson: Willie DoranPerson: Gary SinnottPerson: Harry KehoePerson: Brendan CumminsPerson: Eddie ConnollyPerson: Paddy StapletonPerson: Conor O’MahonyPerson: James WoodlockPerson: Noel McGrathPerson: Seán CareyPerson: Michael HeffernanPerson: Darren GleesonPerson: Michael CahillPerson: Pádraic MaherPerson: John O’KeeffePerson: Gearoid RyanPerson: Patrick MaherPerson: Shane BourkePerson: Lar CorbettPerson: Shane McGrathPerson: Stephen WynnePerson: Dylan HaydenPerson: Cathal ParlonPerson: Ger HealionPerson: Brian CarrollPerson: Stephen LuceyPerson: Damien RealePerson: Declan HannonPerson: Graeme MulcahyPerson: David MoloneyPerson: Gavin O’MahonyPerson: Niall MoranPerson: Pat TobinPerson: MoloneyPerson: MoranPerson: TobinPerson: N BreenPerson: P RochePerson: M O’HanlonPerson: K RossiterPerson: L PrendergastPerson: D StampPerson: C KennyPerson: D RedmondPerson: E QuigleyPerson: PJ NolanPerson: H KehoePerson: S BanvillePerson: R JacobPerson: G SinnottPerson: J BerryPerson: TipperaryPerson: B CumminsPerson: E ConnollyPerson: P CurranPerson: P StapletonPerson: D YoungPerson: C O’MahonyPerson: J CoghlanPerson: J WoodlockPerson: S McGrathPerson: B DunnePerson: N McGrathPerson: S CareyPerson: M HeffernanPerson: P BourkePerson: J O’BrienPerson: J DempseyPerson: D FranksPerson: D KennyPerson: S EganPerson: M VerneyPerson: R HanniffyPerson: D MorkanPerson: C MahonPerson: S WynnePerson: B CarrollPerson: C EganPerson: D MolloyPerson: C ParlonPerson: J BerginPerson: S DooleyPerson: LimerickPerson: N QuaidPerson: T CondonPerson: S LuceyPerson: D RealePerson: D BreenPerson: S HickeyPerson: W McNamaraPerson: D O’GradyPerson: P BrownePerson: D HannonPerson: R McCarthyPerson: J RyanPerson: S TobinPerson: K DownesPerson: G MulcahyPerson: MayoPerson: D O’BrienPerson: S ConnellPerson: D McConnPerson: G HenryPerson: B HigginsPerson: S MorleyPerson: M MorleyPerson: K FeeneyPerson: K HigginsPerson: N MurphyPerson: D McDonnellPerson: E MadiganPerson: R CullinanePerson: S BroderickPerson: D McTigheEvent: Hurling LeagueOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: SinnottOrganisation: TippOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: CarlowOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: SHOrganisation: Roscommon
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.207 s