Cork’s three changes for Monaghan game

CORK have made three changes from the team that lost to Dublin last Saturday for Sunday’s Allianz Division 1 game against Monaghan.

The selectors have dropped goalkeeper Paddy O’Shea, full-back Jamie O’Sullivan and full-forward Colm O’Neill, replacing them with Ken O’Halloran, Eoin Cadogan and Ciaran Sheehan.

Dual player Cadogan makes a welcome return to the football fold after swapping over to Denis Walsh’s hurlers for the trip to Kilkenny last weekend.

Like Cadogan, O’Halloran comes back into the team after starting in Tralee on February 6.

Sheehan makes his first league start of the year after appearing as a substitute against Kerry and Dublin.

His inclusion means Counihan goes with 11 of the team that started last year’s All-Ireland final.

Noel O’Leary is still serving a four-week suspension. Paul Kerrigan lines out for Nemo Rangers in their All-Ireland club semi-final tomorrow while Graham Canty and Alan Quirke remain sidelined with injury.

Kerry manager Jack O’Connor has given cause for surprise by naming Bryan Sheehan at midfield for tomorrow’s Allianz Division 1 game against Dublin in Croke Park.

In one of three changes to the team that beat Mayo last weekend, the St Mary’s man — known more as a forward — partners Seamus Scanlon with David Moran taking Barry O’Driscoll’s place at right-half forward.

Sheehan came off the bench in Castlebar last week to score a 65th minute goal from the penalty spot, which turned the game in Kerry’s favour.

Elsewhere, Ó Sé’s brother Tomás returns to the Kerry defence in the place of Jonathan Lyne while fit-again Killian Young takes over from Shane Enright at left-corner back.

Undefeated Dublin have named an unchanged side from last Saturday’s win over Cork.

Sean Murray continues at full-back despite featuring in the under-21s’ Leinster opener defeat to Meath on Wednesday.

In Division 2, Mickey Harte has included Ryan McMenamin in the Tyrone team for the trip to Sligo — despite a possible suspension hanging over the defender’s head.

The three-time All-Ireland winner was booked following a clash with Donegal’s Paddy McGrath at Healy Park last weekend.

However, it is understood referee Pat Fox has been asked by the GAA’s Central Competitions Control Committee to review the video footage of the incident.

Coming in for Pascal McConnell, Jonathan Curran in goals is the only change in the team that lost to Donegal.

CORK (SF v Monaghan): K O’Halloran; R Carey, E Cadogan, M Shields; C O’Driscoll, P Kissane, D O’Sullivan; A O’Connor, A Walsh; P O’Neill, P Kelly, F Goold; D Goold, C Sheehan, D O’Connor.

KERRY (SF v Dublin): B Kealy; P Reidy, M Ó Sé, K Young; T Ó Sé, E Brosnan, A O’Mahony; S Scanlon, B Sheehan; D Moran, D O’Sullivan, D Walsh; C Cooper, K Donaghy, D Geaney. Subs: T Mac a t’Saoir; A Maher, J Lyne, G O’Driscoll, P Geaney, K O’Leary, A O’Connell, P Crowley, D Casey.

DUBLIN (v Kerry): S Cluxton; A Hubbard, S Murray, M Fitzsimons; D Lally, J McCarthy, P Casey; D Bastick, B Cahill; P Flynn, K McManamon, D Connolly; T Quinn, E O’Gara, B Brogan.

TYRONE (SF v Sligo): J Curran; A McCrory, C McCarron, D Carlin; D Harte, C Gormley, R McMenamin; K Hughes, N McKenna; P Harte, S Cavanagh; M Penrose, S O’Neill, E McGinley. Subs: P O’Connell; A Cassidy, C Cavanagh, M Donnelly, D McCaul, S McNally, P McNiece, PJ Quinn, M Swift, O Mulligan, Seán O’Neill.

WICKLOW (SF v Fermanagh): J Flynn; P Higgins, S Kelly, C Hyland; P Earls, A Byrne, D Hayden; R Finn, J Stafford; T Hannon, P Dalton, JP Dalton; D Odlum, S Furlong, L Glynn.

More in this section

GaaPlace: KilkennyPlace: TraleePlace: Croke ParkPlace: CastlebarPlace: Healy ParkPerson: Paddy O’SheaPerson: Jamie O’SullivanPerson: Colm O’NeillPerson: Ken O’HalloranPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: Ciarán SheehanPerson: CadoganPerson: Denis WalshPerson: O’HalloranPerson: SheehanPerson: CounihanPerson: Noel O’LearyPerson: Paul KerriganPerson: Graham CantyPerson: Alan QuirkePerson: Jack O’ConnorPerson: Bryan SheehanPerson: Seamus ScanlonPerson: David MoranPerson: Barry O’DriscollPerson: Ó SéPerson: TomásPerson: Jonathan LynePerson: Killian YoungPerson: Shane EnrightPerson: Sean MurrayPerson: Mickey HartePerson: Ryan McMenaminPerson: Paddy McGrathPerson: Pat FoxPerson: Pascal McConnellPerson: Jonathan CurranPerson: CorkPerson: K O’HalloranPerson: R CareyPerson: E CadoganPerson: M ShieldsPerson: C O’DriscollPerson: P KissanePerson: D O’SullivanPerson: A O’ConnorPerson: A WalshPerson: P O’NeillPerson: P KellyPerson: F GooldPerson: D GooldPerson: C SheehanPerson: D O’ConnorPerson: KerryPerson: B KealyPerson: P ReidyPerson: M Ó SéPerson: K YoungPerson: T Ó SéPerson: E BrosnanPerson: A O’MahonyPerson: S ScanlonPerson: B SheehanPerson: D MoranPerson: D WalshPerson: C CooperPerson: K DonaghyPerson: D GeaneyPerson: T Mac a t’SaoirPerson: A MaherPerson: J LynePerson: G O’DriscollPerson: P GeaneyPerson: K O’LearyPerson: A O’ConnellPerson: P CrowleyPerson: D CaseyPerson: DUBLINPerson: S CluxtonPerson: HubbardPerson: S MurrayPerson: M FitzsimonsPerson: D LallyPerson: J McCarthyPerson: P CaseyPerson: D BastickPerson: B CahillPerson: P FlynnPerson: K McManamonPerson: D ConnollyPerson: T QuinnPerson: E O’GaraPerson: B BroganPerson: TyronePerson: J CurranPerson: A McCroryPerson: C McCarronPerson: D CarlinPerson: D HartePerson: C GormleyPerson: R McMenaminPerson: K HughesPerson: N McKennaPerson: P HartePerson: S CavanaghPerson: M PenrosePerson: S O’NeillPerson: E McGinleyPerson: P O’ConnellPerson: A CassidyPerson: C CavanaghPerson: M DonnellyPerson: D McCaulPerson: S McNallyPerson: P McNiecePerson: PJ QuinnPerson: M SwiftPerson: O MulliganPerson: Seán O’NeillPerson: J FlynnPerson: P HigginsPerson: S KellyPerson: C HylandPerson: P EarlsPerson: D HaydenPerson: R FinnPerson: J StaffordPerson: T HannonPerson: P DaltonPerson: JP DaltonPerson: D OdlumPerson: S FurlongPerson: L GlynnEvent: All-IrelandOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: MeathOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: GAA’s Central Competitions Control CommitteeOrganisation: SFOrganisation: Sligo
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.