Kavanagh fires winning point as Monaleen end Drom’s reign

THE Limerick SFC reign of Dromcollogher-Broadford is over as they crashed out at the semi-final stage at the hands of Monaleen.

Monaleen dethroned the back-to-back champions by just a single point in Kilmallock in the first of a semi-final double-header.

The holders led 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time, Seanie Buckley had them on the scoresheet early and two Derry McCarthy points saw them 0-6 to 0-2 clear as half-time approached.

Cormac Joyce Power kept Monaleen in touch with two points and then just before the interval they reduced the margin when Mike Crowley and Peter Russell pointed.

Three points in five minutes on the resumption had Monaleen ahead with Luke Kavanagh, Jason O’Brien and Muiris Gavin (free) on target.

But the champions responded to lead 0-9 to 0-7 midway through the half and then with 10 minutes to play they were 0-11 to 0-10 in front.

But Monaleen finished stronger, with Gavin (free) levelling and a 56th-minute Kavanagh point securing the win.

Scorers for Monaleen: M Gavin 0-4 (4frees), C Joyce Power, L Kavanagh, J O’Brien 0-2 each, M Crowley, P Russell 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dromcollogher-Broadford: D McCarthy 0-4, M Reidy 0-3 (3frees), S Buckley 0-2, R Lynch, T McLoughlin 0-1 each.

MONALEEN: D O’Sullivan; D Bourke, P King, F Nash; E Keating, B Fitzpatrick, J Hoare; B Geray, P Kinnerk; P Quinn, C Joyce Power, P Russell; J O’Brien, M Gavin, M Crowley. Subs: L Kavanagh for Joyce Power (28), JP Stokes for Quinn (39).

DROMCOLLOGHER-BROADFORD: K Noonan; M Clancy, T Stack, D O’Leary; E Barry, T McLoughlin, G Egan; J Stokes, P Donnelly; G Noonan, M O’Sullivan, D McCarthy; R Lynch, M Reidy, S Buckley. Subs: J Shanahan for Stokes (38), M Brosnan for O’Sullivan (52).

Referee: M. Meade.

Adare 2-8 Ballylanders 0-12

A LATE flourish from Adare saw them snatch a final place from the grasp of Ballylanders.

Ballylanders were 0-12 to 1-3 ahead with 10 minutes to play but then failed to score again as Adare kicked 1-5 without reply.

Ballylanders dominated the opening half but the sides were level at the break, 0-5 to 1-2.

A Conor Fitzgerald free opened the scoring for Limerick but Ballylanders were 0-3 to 0-1 ahead when Eoin Walsh, Thomas Lee and Kieran O’Callaghan (free) found the range.

Mikey Lyons reduced the margin to a point but Jimmy Barry Murphy and O’Callaghan looked to have given Ballylanders an interval lead.

But then, as the half-time whistle approached, a Conor Fitzgerald goal levelled up the game.

On the change of ends it was all Ballylanders and they led 0-12 to 1-3 by the 50th minute.

Then came a Neil Mulvihill goal and points from Lyons, Donnacha Sheehan and Aidan O’Rahilly saw them snatch an unlikely place in the final.

Scorers for Adare: C Fitzgerald 1-2 (0-2frees), M Lyons 0-3, N Mulvihill 1-0, D Sheehan, A O’Rahilly, S Lavin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballylanders: K O’Callaghan 0-5 (3 frees), Jimmy Barry Murphy, D Frewen 0-2 each, E Walsh, T Lee, W Kelly 0-1 each.

ADARE: B Toomey; C Cribben, D Morden, S O’Connell; A O’Rahilly, S Lavin, F Kelleher; P Keane, J Hickey; D Sheehan, C Fitzgerald, W Griffin; N Mulvihill, L Costelloe, M Lyons. Subs: M Clifford for Hickey (36), D Lavin for Griffin (41), P Lavin for Keane (55).

BALLYLANDERS: D O’Connor; S Walsh, P Fox, R Murray; Shane Fox, T Lee, T Fox; L Martin, W Kelly; JB Murphy, J Murphy, Stephen Fox; M Mansell, E Walsh, K O’Callaghan.

Subs: D Frewen for Mansell (h-t), D Murphy for Martin (55).

Referee: E. Phelan.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: KilmallockPerson: KavanaghPerson: DromPerson: Seanie BuckleyPerson: Derry McCarthyPerson: Joyce PowerPerson: Mike CrowleyPerson: Peter RussellPerson: Luke KavanaghPerson: Jason O’BrienPerson: Muiris GavinPerson: GavinPerson: M GavinPerson: L KavanaghPerson: J O’BrienPerson: M CrowleyPerson: P RussellPerson: DromcollogherPerson: D McCarthyPerson: M ReidyPerson: S BuckleyPerson: R LynchPerson: T McLoughlinPerson: MonaleenPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: D BourkePerson: P KingPerson: F NashPerson: E KeatingPerson: J HoarePerson: B GerayPerson: P KinnerkPerson: P QuinnPerson: C Joyce PowerPerson: JP StokesPerson: QuinnPerson: K NoonanPerson: M ClancyPerson: T StackPerson: D O’LearyPerson: E BarryPerson: G EganPerson: J StokesPerson: P DonnellyPerson: G NoonanPerson: M O’SullivanPerson: J ShanahanPerson: StokesPerson: M BrosnanPerson: O’SullivanPerson: M. MeadePerson: AdarePerson: Conor FitzgeraldPerson: Eoin WalshPerson: Thomas LeePerson: Kieran O’CallaghanPerson: Mikey LyonsPerson: Jimmy Barry MurphyPerson: O’CallaghanPerson: Neil MulvihillPerson: LyonsPerson: Donnacha SheehanPerson: Aidan O’RahillyPerson: C FitzgeraldPerson: M LyonsPerson: N MulvihillPerson: D SheehanPerson: A O’RahillyPerson: S LavinPerson: K O’CallaghanPerson: E WalshPerson: T LeePerson: W KellyPerson: B ToomeyPerson: C CribbenPerson: D MordenPerson: S O’ConnellPerson: F KelleherPerson: P KeanePerson: J HickeyPerson: W GriffinPerson: L CostelloePerson: M CliffordPerson: HickeyPerson: D LavinPerson: GriffinPerson: PPerson: KeanePerson: D O’ConnorPerson: S WalshPerson: P FoxPerson: R MurrayPerson: Shane FoxPerson: T FoxPerson: L MartinPerson: JB MurphyPerson: J MurphyPerson: Stephen FoxPerson: M MansellPerson: DPerson: MansellPerson: D MurphyPerson: MartinPerson: E. PhelanOrganisation: MonaleenOrganisation: Limerick SFCOrganisation: BroadfordOrganisation: BallylandersOrganisation: Limerick
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.