Walsh works wonders again as Sligo taste glory

A GREAT week for Kevin Walsh and Sligo got even better at Ballyhaunis last evening when he guided the Yeats County to their first Connacht JFC win since 1998.

Walsh’s men, who came from behind to oust champions Mayo in the Connacht senior quarter-final on Saturday, also had to fight a rearguard action last night when they trailed 0-7 to 0-4 after 38 minutes, having been down by a point at the break after playing against the wind.

Galway might have been out of sight had Sligo goalkeeper Jason Farrell not pulled off a string of top-class saves.

The Sligo victory was all the more noteworthy as five of the side who defeated Fermanagh in the semi-final were not eligible for last night’s showdown as they had been promoted to the senior squad in the meantime. But they need not have worried as Sligo hit back for four points without reply in the second-half, with centre-forward Padraig McGoldrick producing a man of the match display with five points, three from placed balls.

Walsh, who will guide Sligo into the Connacht senior semi-final against his native Galway on Sunday fortnight, ensured they had plenty of men behind the ball after Benny McDonagh gave them a one-point lead with seven minutes remaining.

But Galway sub Cathal Coleman levelled with five minutes remaining before, appropriately, McGoldrick struck the winner shortly afterwards with the best point of the game.

Sligo scorers: P McGoldrick (0-5, 2fs, 2 45); D Maye (0-2, 1f); B McDonagh (0-2).

Galway: B Donnellan (0-3, 1f); E Poil (0-2, 1f); B og O Callarain (0-1); C Coleman (0-1); M Murphy (0-1).

SLIGO: J Farrell; A McIntyre, B Cryan, D Rooney; D McLynn, F Quinn, K Gallagher; J Murphy, P McTiernan; S Stenson, P McGoldrick, B McDonagh; C McNamara, K Finan, D Maye.

Subs: L Bree for Maye (29); J Quinn for McNamara (49); N Walsh for Stenson (51).

GALWAY: P O Maolalaoidh; E O’Sullivan, P Gleeson, K Kelly; A Coen, J Burke, C Hands; R Flynn, M Aspell; B Donnellan, D Hogan, M Murphy; B og O Callarain, P Moran, E Poil.

Subs: J Faiur for Moran (50); M Seoighe for Flynn (54); JP Steede for O Callarain (54); C Coleman for Moran (56).

Referee: M Daly (Mayo).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.