Rebels give O’Sullivan the nod

JAMIE O’SULLIVAN of Bishopstown has been named at left half back on the Cork team to play Mayo in the Allianz National Football League final at Croke Park on Sunday.

A member of the Cork U21 team last season, O’Sullivan won a Munster medal, but then disaster struck which deprived him of the honour of being on the successful All-Ireland winning side.

Following Cork’s provincial success, O’Sullivan broke a bone in his hand while playing with his club in a challenge game and his All-Ireland dream lay in tatters.

O’Sullivan made his senior debut in the last game in the preliminary rounds of the League against Mayo at right corner back, but is preferred on this occasion at left half back.

From that game, team manager Conor Counihan and his co-selectors have made a huge number of changes. Paddy O’Shea of St Vincent’s takes over from Alan Quirke in goal. Ray Carey returns at right full back with Michael Shields replacing Derek Kavanagh at full back and Eoin Cotter again holding down the left corner back slot.

In what is a completely new half back line, Noel O’Leary, Paudie Kissane and O’Sullivan take over from Kieran O’Connor, Ger Spillane and Brien O’Regan.

Aidan Walsh of Kanturk is retained at midfield with Alan O’Connor as his partner in place of injured team captain Graham Canty.

Fintan Goold and Donncha O’Connor will again start at right half forward and centre-forward, respectively, with Paddy Kelly coming in on the left flank in place of Kevin McMahon.

Daniel Goulding gets the nod ahead of Colm O’Neill at top of the right. Kieran Sheehan holds on to his place at full-forward, while Paul Kerrigan starts ahead of John Hayes in the left corner forward position.

In contrast Mayo field the same team that defeated Cork at Pairc Ui Chaoimh a fortnight ago.

Waterford have announced an unchanged side for their Division 4 final clash with Limerick at Croke Park tomorrow.

Meanwhile, David Murphy from the St Mary’s Club, Rosslare has been selected to captain the Wexford senior footballers in the upcoming championship.

The 28-year-old, former St Peter’s College and UCD student is employed as a Fund Accountant and has been a regular on the Model County scene since donning the Wexford jersey in 1999.

Last September he played midfield for his own club St Mary’s Rosslare when they were defeated by Glynn-Barntown in the Intermediate football final. In 2002 he was the joint winner of the Wexford Supporters’ Club “Footballer of the Year”.

Wexford have named a full strength team to meet Cork in a senior hurling challenge game at Ballygarvan on Sunday.

Keith Rossiter starts at full back, with Malachy Travers at left half back, Eoin Quigley on the forty and Rory Jacob at top of the right.

CORK (SF v Mayo): P. O’Shea; R. Carey, M. Shields, E. Cotter; N. O’Leary, P. Kissane, J. O’Sullivan; A. O’Connor, A. Walsh; F. Goold, D. O’Connor, P. Kelly; D.Goulding, K. Sheehan, P. Kerrigan.

MAYO (SF v Cork): D. Clarke; C. Barrett, G. Cafferkey, L. O’Malley; D. Vaughan, T. Howley, K. McLoughlin; T. Parsons, S. O’Shea; A. Moran, A. Dillon, T. Mortimer (capt); C. Mortimer, A. O’Shea, M. Ronaldson.

WATERFORD (SF Limerick): T. Wall; M. O’Gorman, T. O’Gorman, K. Connery; N. Hennessy, S. Briggs, T. Grey; T. Prendergast, M. Aherne; B. Walsh, C. McGrath, W. Hennessy; G. Hurney, B. Aherne, L. O Lionain.

WEXFORD (SH v Cork): D. Flynn; P. Roche, K. Rossiter, E. Doyle; R. Kehoe, C. Kenny, M. Travers; M. Molloy, C. Farrell; A. Shore, E. Quigley, D. Lyng; R. Jacob, S. Bannville, P. Atkinson.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: BishopstownPlace: Croke ParkPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: BallygarvanPlace: SF LimerickPerson: O’SullivanPerson: Jamie O’SullivanPerson: Conor CounihanPerson: Paddy O’SheaPerson: Alan QuirkePerson: Ray CareyPerson: Michael ShieldsPerson: Derek KavanaghPerson: Eoin CotterPerson: Noel O’LearyPerson: Paudie KissanePerson: Kieran O’ConnorPerson: Ger SpillanePerson: Brien O’ReganPerson: Aidan WalshPerson: Alan O’ConnorPerson: Graham CantyPerson: Fintan GooldPerson: Donncha O’ConnorPerson: Paddy KellyPerson: Kevin McMahonPerson: Daniel GouldingPerson: Colm O’NeillPerson: Kieran SheehanPerson: Paul KerriganPerson: John HayesPerson: David MurphyPerson: RosslarePerson: Keith RossiterPerson: Malachy TraversPerson: Eoin QuigleyPerson: Rory JacobPerson: P. O’SheaPerson: R. CareyPerson: ShieldsPerson: E. CotterPerson: N. O’LearyPerson: P. KissanePerson: J. O’SullivanPerson: A. O’ConnorPerson: F. GooldPerson: D. O’ConnorPerson: D.GouldingPerson: K. SheehanPerson: P. KerriganPerson: D. ClarkePerson: C. BarrettPerson: CafferkeyPerson: D. VaughanPerson: T. HowleyPerson: K. McLoughlinPerson: T. ParsonsPerson: S. O’SheaPerson: A. MoranPerson: T. MortimerPerson: C. MortimerPerson: O’SheaPerson: T. WallPerson: M. O’GormanPerson: O’GormanPerson: K. ConneryPerson: N. HennessyPerson: T. GreyPerson: T. PrendergastPerson: M. AhernePerson: B. WalshPerson: C. McGrathPerson: W. HennessyPerson: G. HurneyPerson: B. AhernePerson: O LionainPerson: D. FlynnPerson: P. RochePerson: R. KehoePerson: C. KennyPerson: M. MolloyPerson: C. FarrellPerson: A. ShorePerson: QuigleyPerson: D. LyngPerson: R. JacobPerson: S. BannvillePerson: P. AtkinsonEvent: Allianz National Football LeagueOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: Cork U21 teamOrganisation: St VincentOrganisation: KanturkOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: St Mary’s clubOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: St Peter’s CollegeOrganisation: UCDOrganisation: St Mary’s RosslareOrganisation: Glynn-BarntownOrganisation: Wexford Supporters’Organisation: SFOrganisation: SH
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd